Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Blind Boys of Alabama Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
50
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£4.99


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 26 April 2017
Great album play it loud
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 August 2017
Arrived on time and s expected
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 August 2017
ok
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 March 2017
Great album from a band I have enjoyed for years.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 June 2014
The Deluxe Edition of Among The Living has been remastered so it'll naturally sound a little louder in your CD player. What is there to say about it that hasn't already been said? A classic thrash album, one of the ten best ever produced. Full of concert staples even now - 'Indians', thrash anthem 'Caught In A Mosh', 'I Am The Law', 'NFL' ... melodic thrash helped considerably by Belladonna's vocal range, ably assisted by powerhouse drummer Benante, bassist Bello and the Dan Spitz/Scott Ian guitar partnership. This special edition has a few more cuts of the tracks ... although they're for completists only. There's a live version of I am the Law (previously released as the b-side on I'm the Man 12 inch) and oddball 'classic', 'Bud E Love Bomb and Satan's Lounge Band'.
The extra disc is a DVD of nicef*ckinvideo although it's picture quality betrays it's video origins. It's a London concert from 1987 heavily featuring ATL material. There are more extended glossy sleeve notes, at least, they're more than the original CD's notes ... there's an introduction by Brian Posehn and there are more band photo's. I'd give the album 5 stars but I've reviewed the package as a whole which is why I gave four stars. I got this for a fiver on Amazon. It's well worth that although I'm not sure I'd pay much more ... if you've already got it, think twice before paying a tenner for it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 January 2002
This album I first heard when I was into Metal at the end of the eighties. It stood out from most metal albums, listening to it now I can see why. It still sounds as great as ever. Full of furious riffs, a dirty bass and great drums. With Joey Belladonna screaming his heart out on top. But above all its got the tunes, the songs are a cut above anything else ive heard from anthrax and hardly any other metal band of that era. 'Indians', 'NFL efilnikufecin', and 'Imitation of life' stand out as the strongest tracks but they're all brilliant. A good starting point for anyone interested in Anthrax or thrash metal in general.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 February 2010
Along with Metallica, Anthrax were one of the first thrash bands I got into back in the early eighties and Among the Living is a bona-fida thrash classic, and easily their best album. Quite simply, along with Metallica's 'Puppets' it is the best thrash album ever released, and should be in every lover of Metal's collection. From the opening chords of the title track the groove grabs hold and doesn't release it's grip until the very end. There are no filler tracks here, each one is a mini masterpiece. The obvious standouts are of course the title track, Caught in a Mosh, I Am the Law and the moshtastic Indians. This re-mastered edition is worth every penny, and sounds so much better than the original cd release. The music really thumps and is much more in line with my old vinyl copy.
The bonus tracks aren't that special, but the bonus live dvd is great. The full live show from the Odeon back on the Among the Living tour. I was fortunate enough to be at the show, and had worn out my old vhs copy of this, so it was a welcome addition to the package. The transfer is not great, but still encapsulates what Anthrax were all about back in the day, and why they were the best and most entertaining live band around back then. Awesome.
Unfortunately, whilst their future releases have all been pretty good, they never again managed to capture this kind of form and consistency. But, with Among the Living, for a while there, they were kings of the thrash world.
Essential purchase.
33 Comments| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 July 2010
Despite what you think or feel about this album, like Metallica's Master of Puppets, Among the Living is always going to be hailed as the pinnacle, the essence of all Anthrax is. And it's kind of true (if a little insulting), despite the fact that their best album lay a few years away. But Among the Living is a truly powerful and essential album.

The title track is an astounding monster that is possibly one of the best tracks they've produced. 'Caught in a Mosh' is a thrash classic, and very punky. 'I Am the Law'. What can I say? Judge Dredd. Chunky riffs. Job done. 'Efilnikufesin' - another thrash classic. 'Skeletons in the Closet' is not quite as good but only by a hair. 'Indians' is one of my personal favourites. Catchy, riffy and heavy. As is 'One World' and 'ADI' - the latter being a huge behemoth of a track that should get more recognition. The closer is just the best closer of a thrash album ever - bar perhaps a couple from Metallica(!).

It's not just great, it's wordlosingly great.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 November 2000
Arguably Anthrax's greatest moment - this album spits and snarls its way into your brain leaving you screaming,chanting and moshing your way from one unforgettable track to the next.Breakneck speeds from both guitar and rhythm sections never waver and the sheer musicianship of the band shines through.'Caught in a mosh' just about says it all.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 July 2007
I remember buying this album along with Slayer's Seasons in the Abyss in the summer last year. I had decided to boost my collection of thrash metal with these two albums and I listend to them almost non-stop on my summer holiday in Italy. I thought that both albums were great but I slightly preferred this one. Even though I have bought scores of cds since then I still hold this one in very high regard.
Among the living contains alot of sharp, forceful riffs from guitarist Scoot Ian and, true to the thrash metal stlye, very fast tempos. There are also lots of killer tempo changes and guitar solos to make the songs even more interesting.
Anthrax also ensured that their music was still fairly original. Joey Belladonna actually sings well on this album whereas so many thrash metal singers just shout. His voice helped Antrax create an original sound. The album also has a hardcore punk influence, noticably in the shout-along choruses, which helps mark it out from many other thrash records. It is also refreshing that the band weren't taking things too seriously here. While it is a heavy album with all those crunching riffs and the typical thrash metal speed, the album never sounds particularly dark and is never falls short of just being extremely enjoyable. The lyrics also help give the band a fairly original sound. A skeleton in the closet (one of my faves) and the title track are both based on Stephen King books, I am the law is a tribute to Judge Dredd and Efilnikufesin (N.F.L) is about the comedian John Belushi and his death. There are also some more political lyrics in One world and Indians, while Imitation of Life is an attack on all the fake glam metal bands of the 80's.
So there you have it, a classic thrash record. It really packs a punch with its ferocious brand of thrash metal, that has Antrax's original style written all over it. It is the most consistent thing they ever realeased too. My favourite songs are I am the law, A skeleton in the closet, Indians and the mosh pit classic Caught in a mosh. The album never gets repetitive and each song has a slightly different feel or structure to it. You really ought to buy this album.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)