Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
17
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£3.99


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 5 June 2017
A little disappointed,sounds more like the band having a jam than a proper album
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 August 2017
As good as our worn out original.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 July 2017
more of winwoods great vocals
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 October 2015
This album arrived on time and well packaged it is a great all round album but not as good as the Spark of the High Heeled Boys but all the same a great album.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 July 2017
Traffic's final album is not their best. True, they never made a bad album, but on this one you can feel the inspiration waning, and the final 3 tracks are bloody dull. Earlier, there is a reasonable variant on the sound they'd been essaying since 1970, best track perhaps being the jazzy 'Graveyard people'. 'Dream Gerrard is also sort of good, but at 11 minutes it is a rare - unique, maybe - example of Traffic over-extending a particular riff. Of their albums, I'd pick any other to play as opposed to this if I was in the mood for some Traffic.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 September 2017
Gotta break ranks with a few folk here, as I have loved this album for 40 years. For me, it's easily their best.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 February 2005
I feel bad writing this review only after hearing of the tragic death of Jim Capaldi last Friday. He wrote the lyrics and played the drums on this final album of Traffic's of course. Rolling Stone at the time said that this album was fine musically but marred by some over ambitious Capaldi lyrics. What absolute bollocks. This has been my favourite Traffic album for a very long time and Jim's contributions are not an insignificant part of that.
The opening song 'Something New' is a great release, and sets the tone for this album. A great uplifting album as thought-provoking as anything Traffic ever produced and when combined with Winwood's effortless melodies on this set, it is truly a rewarding experience for any listener interested in this band. Or decent music for that matter.
'Dream Gerrard' with its spooky lyric courtesy of Viv Stanshall is a haunting piece if ever there was one. 'Graveyard People' is similarly inspired. If a little depressing! But musically the band is on song here. Big time. Only Winwood can convey as much spirit and moodiness with the keyboards!
Side 2 (of the original vinyl album) begins with 'Walking In The Wind' which is most noteable for its haunting melody (Winwood), lyrics (Capaldi) and bass line (Rosko Gee!). Goes on a tad too long but hey! didn't most songs of this era?
'Memories Of A Rock 'n Rolla' contains a great Capaldi lyric about the pitfalls of a rock 'n roll lifesyle and contains a great tempo change from the beautiful opening verses to the raucous last chorus. Musicianship at some kind of Zenith here. And then there is 'Love' which has to be among the top three Traffic ballads ever, alongside 'No Face No Name No Number' (1967) and 'Evening Blue' (1973). Jim Capaldi's lyric is highly affecting and when combined with a gorgeous Winwood melody, the result is breathtaking.
The final title track is weird and captivating, and these lyrics are not over ambitious, they are wonderful. Can you hear me....Mother Nature?? Now she hears you Jim...and has you in her bosom.
The final title track is weird and captivating, and these lyrics are not over ambitious, they are wonderful. Can you hear me....Mother Nature?? Now she hears you Jim...and has you in her bosom.
22 Comments| 49 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 June 2013
Originally have this on viny(,back in the 70,s,) heard my favorite track on the radio, "Dream Gerrard", so deceided to purchase it on CD for use outside of the home. Love playing it on those long motorway journeys. Musically superb & vocally with Mr Winwood outstanding.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 March 2011
I now have all Traffic releases. This was the final LP (when they were called LP's) and there is a clear sign that the muse is waining. But, If you like Traffic, there is enough here for you. Still lots of nice jazz rhythms and soulful singing from Stevie. Runs out of steam near the end. But at Amazon's price it is a bargain, you wont find it in many record shops, to pick up off the shelf. So, if you are interested and can't make up your mind, it is worth it for track two alone, "Dream Gerrard", think no more, just buy it.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 August 2014
loved this album years ago and still love it, rolls back the years.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)