Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
24
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£7.99


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 30 April 2011
I have to give Yngwie credit for writing this album during the same year he smashed his car into a tree and went into a coma with damages to his limbs and nerves. This is one of those albums that you can play through from start to finish without skipping a track. From the mental opener of Rising Force to the soft and relaxing acoustic outro Memories, Malmsteen and co showcase a whole new way to play heavy metal. 2 ballads are featured on this album including Hold On and the very popular Dreaming (Tell Me). Also included is the hit single Heaven Tonight which is awesome!. The album does have its fair share of catchy tunes including the insane Riot In The Dungeons, the fast drum beats of Deja Vu, the highway blaster Faster Then The Speed Of Light, the supercool Crystal Ball and the catchy Now Is The Time. And we get not one but four instrumentals including Bite The Bullet, Krakatau, Memories and a 60 second intro to Riot In The Dungeons.

Yngwie Malmsteen and his Rising Force are showing us that although it may be the 80's, you can still have fun with heavy metal and enjoy it 20 years later.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2017
The classic metal album which is majestic, emotional yet still can make your hair curl. Joel Lynn Turner soars with edge and emotion, complimenting the master shredder's highly impressive playing. More commercial, but that's not a bad thing in my book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 January 2013
Great record, Yngwie is great, Turner's vocals are great, great tracks. Love the 80's.
Top tracks are: 'Faster than the Speed of Light', 'Krakatau', 'Riot in the Dungeons' and 'Rising Force'.
This album should be at any neo-classical and power metal fan, and this is one of his best albums, so if you don't know him you can start with this.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 March 2002
I first listened to this in the Golden era of 80s metal, around when I was 14. Despite the obvious leanings toward saccharine sentimentality, Odyssey is a tour de force of everything that is good about Mr Malmsteen. The solos are great, the riffs are fantastic and the songs rush along at such a pace as to drag the listener inside the album and go until the very end. That was the great thing about that era of metal and rock music - albums were made to be listened to from beginning to end and they all made sense as individual pieces and as a more powerful whole. They were personal records for dreaming to. The only bands that attempt to do that sort of thing now are the relics from that same era (eg.Iron Maiden), their mimics (eg. Iced Earth) and possibly extreme music vendors (eg. Emperor).
Rising Force is a crunching blockbuster of a song that rises to almost unimaginable heights. Dreaming is a whiny ballad but that's no bad thing. Riot in the Dungeon is much the same as Rising Force and equally as good. The longer tracks on side 2 are of merit as well. Faster Than the Speed of Light is a sizzling tune, Now is the Time is a dirgey thinker complete with rusty guitar sounds, Deja Vu and Crystal Ball hark back to Malmsteen's Trilogy and Marching Out opuses. The final 2 instrumentals are both beautiful and lingering.
Malmsteen slipped up somewhere after this, Eclipse being barely mediocre and I lost interest, especially with the fall of metal and hard rock during the latter half of the 80s. Now, as nu-metal invades our airwaves (basically it's Britney Spears with different packaging), we can see where it all came from. The 80's may have the reputation for the worst decade, musically, but I happen to believe that some of the great albums of all time were cut around that time. This may not rank up there with the genius of Slayer's Reign in Blood, Metallica's Master of Puppets or the majority of Iron Maiden's earlier albums but it certainly makes a perfect accompaniment to an era as dead as punk and as remembered with as much fondness.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 April 2001
From the opening track "Rising Force" any listener will know that this album is all about heavy metal power. The combination of Malmsteen's guitar wizardry and Joe Lynn Turner's massive vocal talent make for some truly unforgettable late Eighties rock. From the dynamic, thumping energy of "Deja Vu" and "Crystal Ball" through to the emotional tranquility of "Dreaming" this is by far Mr Malmsteen's most impressive album. A true classic.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 March 2017
Perfect
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 March 2017
Excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 April 2017
This is Yngwie Malmsteen's fourth solo effort, and as well as being the most mainstream and commercially successful, this may display some of his most intense lead work since his days cutting his teeth with Steeler or Alcatrazz. Not to cast a shadow on previous efforts, but seriously some of the solos on this record are insane.

Some might say this album is full of 80's clichés, but to be fair that really is it's most endearing charm: crazy 80's metal, with no room for Debbie Downers. Joe Lynn Turner is the frontman on this album. He is to this day my favourite frontman Yngwie has ever chosen. Joe has a really nice voice, as well as a very wide vocal range. I was quite young when I first heard this, so I did not realize it was the same Joe Lynn Turner who had been a member in Rainbow, who as it happens, had a big hit in the UK charts called "I surrender" while he was in the line up. Joe left for Deep Purple after this, then released a slew of solo albums. I'm going to show my ignorance here, I don't know what Joe Lynn Turner has been up to in the last fifteen years or more.

But this album is commercial heavy metal bliss. Well structured songs, technical leads with direction, and excellent riffs from start to end. You have the more commercial numbers like "Heaven tonight" or "Crystal ball" which I guarantee you'll be humming afterwards. "Dreaming" is a beautiful ballad with an epic vocal performance by Joe. Yngwie displays menacing riffing in "De Je Vu" and "Riot in the dungeons", and the latter two songs have extremely interesting guitar work for any budding guitar player to drool over. "Krakatoa" is an amazing guitar instrumental, this goes into crazy exotic shredding ala Marty Friedman style. The keyboard work on this album is almost on par with the guitar work, it really does put an excellent slant on proceedings, thank Jens Johansson for that.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 25 October 2002
This is Yngwie's most successful release stateside, just falling short of gold status. Joe Lynn Turner on vocals brought a commercial edge never experienced before or since, and also wrote most of the lyrics - maybe also the melodies depending on who you ask - adding to the "Rainbow" feel. He doesn't quite have the vocal range of previous vocalists, but his smooth, bluesy-edged delivery is unique, and personally I am a big fan of JLT anyway.
In addition, Yngwie was recovering from a bad car crash, which left him unable to hold a plectrum. This makes the quality of the guitar playing even more astounding.
There are still songs that are classic Yngwie, Rising Force, Faster..., Riot in the Dungeon for example. But Dreaming is one of the best rock ballads ever (the solo is outstanding), Heaven Tonight and Now Is The Time are pure pop, and Crystal Ball starts like a Toto song.
This is not meant to be a criticism, however, the melodies are excellent and the choruses memorable; considerably more so that some of his more recent stuff.
Should have made Yngwie a superstar.
11 Comment| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 September 2000
This is the most impressive album I have ever herd. Every track is outstanding in its own right. Yngwie Malmsteen has produced some very good matirial, but this is his finest album to date. I am a guitarist and have herd some incredible guitar solos, but nothing compairs to the content of this cd. From the heavy metal of tracks like "Rising Force", "Hold On", and "Deja Vu", to the haunting acoustic chorus of "Dreaming" and "Memories", This album is wall to wall brilliance.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£5.49
£7.99
£8.99
£7.99

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)