Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Christmas with Elvis Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
103
4.7 out of 5 stars
Communique (Remastered)
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£3.19


on 21 September 2017
thanks
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 March 2017
My personal DS favorite !
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 December 2013
Dire Straits first album and there best, got it from amazon in good time. Delighted with it, highly recommended. Play it in your car with volume, or with headphones.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 July 2014
Class
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 September 2015
Good but not as good as other albums overall.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 April 2017
Quality album
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 August 2017
After sixteen years we still enjoy listening to this CD as transferred to the ear-player as well as on the big speakers and the hifi. It almost has a timeless quality, because the originality of the music when first released means that it still feels fresh now even after so many hearings.

I prefer some tracks over others most of the time, but if my mood changes then sometimes the preferences reverse. I never skip any. Not everyone likes this album, and I admit that it took me a few listenings to fully appreciate it. Now it is definitely in amongst my top forty albums, sometimes creeping into the top ten.

My CD/DVD/TV system always uses a 5.1 surround amp (Logitech Z906) blessed with the ability to find surround info in quite a lot of what might seem to be ordinary stereo, and several bits of this CD sound a lot better with the surround than with simple stereo.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 22 August 2013
Following on from the success of their 1978 London-recorded debut and a busy year touring, Dire Straits' second album was recorded in December of the same year at Compass Point Studios in The Bahamas and released in June 1979.

With the same line-up as the eponymously-titled first album, `Communique' has a similar feel with clean arrangements again dominated by Mark Knopfler's song writing and laconic slice-of-life lyrics, his distinctive vocal delivery alternating with attention-grabbing and note-perfect runs on his Fender Strat.

As with the debut album `Communique' contains nine songs, kicking off with `Once Upon a Time in the West' which has a slow, funky rhythm and Dylanesque storyline themed (for the first time) on an American town, and doubtless targeted at the band's emerging young American audience. `Where do you think you're going?' is (almost uniquely in the Mark Knopfler songbook) a deeply personal minor-key piece about relationship break-up sung in the first person, with poignant lyrics and great musical dynamics. Other highlights are `Lady Writer' which became a successful single, `Angel of Mercy' with some great blues guitar work and the enigmatic `Portobello Belle', a perennial favourite and one of DS' best-ever songs.

This album received minor criticism for being `too much like the first album' and, paradoxically, being `boring with few good songs'. I beg to differ: though similar in theme, this collection is more mature and reflective than the debut, the song writing and arrangements interesting and varied, and its production values are even better. It's a bit `quieter' overall, but not much. `Communique' stands up to the years well, is a classic album in every sense and hasn't aged a day.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 August 2017
Not, in my opinion, the band's best work but as a vinyl the quality is consistent with the other Back To Black reissues which is very good. I do find them to be a overly bright and sibilant in places though, hence why I've knocked off a star. This is very apparent on Sultans, but less so on the later albums like Love Over Gold.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 16 November 2005
Reading through previous reviews on Amazon, Communiqué has received some criticism for sounding too similar to the bands debut release. Personally I believe this criticism to be a little unfair. Let’s face it, Dire Straits were in a lose lose situation with Communiqué. If they had pursued a different musical direction entirely they would be criticized, and if they followed the same musical path they would be criticized for sounding to much like the debut. Dire Straits chose the 2nd option, which personally I am grateful for, as part of the appeal of Communiqué is that whilst it contains musical signatures of the debut, it is a less obviously commercial album than its predecessor. Dire Straits in my view were at their best when they were releasing material that was less commercial. This isn’t because of any musical snobbery but I feel and hear that when the music was less aimed at the mainstream, the feel of the music seems more relaxed and natural to the band. Communiqué is often over looked as a 2nd rate release compared to their fantastic debut, but I think if you take this album within it’s own context it is possibly one of their finest moments. Tracks like News, Once Upon a time in the West, Single Handed Sailor, Portobello Belle (surely a warm up for Romeo and Juliet) and Follow me Home are superb additions to the Dire Straits back catalogue, and it is these songs which provide the necessary link between the debut self titled album and the successor Making Movies. I often find myself listening to this album more than the debut, which says a great deal about Communiqué and its long term appeal. Give this album a few listens and like me you will find yourself returning to it time and time again. Enjoy.
0Comment| 33 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)