Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Shop now Learn more



on 7 June 2015
THE WHO SELL OUT, The Who's third album, is one of those records which just gets better with age. Many albums from the 1960s and '70s seemed to have emerged as instant classics while others, like this one, have grown in stature with the passing years. Somewhat overlooked during the Christmas rush of 1967, today THE WHO SELL OUT stands as one of The Who's most enjoyable collections, an album which represented a tribute to the recently outlawed pirate radio ships (specifically Radio London) and the band's own last salute to the world of pop before The Who's graduation to the podium of rock royalty with TOMMY (1969). Above all, from the amusing pop art-inspired sleeve to the band's "Track Records" chant cut into the run-out groove, more than any of their other albums, THE WHO SELL OUT captures Shepherd's Bush's finest having fun.

This is a fine vinyl reissue of THE WHO SELL OUT from Universal Music - the company that was responsible for a sumptuous Deluxe Edition CD version of the album a few years back. As expected with vinyl reissues these days, the record itself is nice and weighty and comes with relatively faithful reproductions of the Track Records' labels on both sides (the major difference being a new catalogue number). Audio purists will possibly take issue with the fact that the stereo mix has been used over the mono version; however, at the time of the album's original release, stereo was beginning to overtake mono in popularity and so deciding which is the "true" version of THE WHO SELL OUT is arguably an irrelevance (whereas many believe that the mono version of The Beatles' SGT. PEPPER - released just six months earlier - is the genuine format for that LP). Sound-wise, everything is fine, with the original Radio London jingle track-links and gentler songs like 'Tattoo' and 'Sunrise' sounding particularly nice. The hit single 'I Can See For Miles' also manages to cut through with power and presence. Finally, that iconic sleeve is all present and correct as is, thankfully, the Osiris-designed psychedelic poster that came with original copies of the LP. However, the sleeve does have a matt finish rather than the glossy, laminated look that was commonplace on British album covers from the 1960s and which the recent Beatles vinyl reissues have preserved.

All in all, though, this is a great reissue of THE WHO SELL OUT and, at less than twenty-five quid (at the time of purchase), it comes considerably cheaper than trying to find a mint-condition original copy, complete with that poster!
11 Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 September 2017
wow- totally blown away by this.
though i am of their generation [yes, i know what you were expecting m-m-me to do there], i was more into british blues, and the stones.
i never really listened to the who.
i mean listened.
my god they get a lot of words [and notes] into their songs. and meanings.
i only bought it cos it was cheap, and i was vaguely curious- i was researching jingles of pirate stations like radio london, and of course dear old caroline when i saw this.
mortified by what i have missed, i am now listening to as much who stuff as i can.
i`m only 50 years too late, sigh...
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 January 2014
I always felt it was a shame that the adverts ran out after side one of the vinyl album. I bought an early backtrack version, plain sleeve, budget price, but loved it. There are several early Who classics here including some ideas which later resurfaced as Tommy.

The highlights for me are the opening track, Armenia, City in the Sky,I can See For Miles and the closer, Real 1. An unexpected delight is Sunrise, amazing lyrics, stark arrangement, one of my favourite Who tracks and probably not know by that many. "You take away the breath I was keeping for Sunrise...", a gem.

The extended version I am reviewing includes a comprehensive booklet of notes and photos but I personally feel the bonus tracks are far from essential. They do make the album arguably better value for money but after Real 1 I tend to lose interest. Highly recommended early classic form one of my favourite bands.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 17 June 2014
The Who's 3rd studio album is, quite simply, a thing of beauty. The idea to intersperse the songs with snazzy advertising jingles is inspired; the material itself does not disappoint with Pete Townshend in excellent songwriting form. 'I Can See For Miles' (the only hit single from this collection) is a superbly crafted pop song and there is much more besides in the shape of tracks such as 'Mary Anne with the Shaky Hand, the amusing 'Odorono', 'Tattoo', 'Relax', 'Sunrise' and the interesting closing piece 'Rael (1 and 2)'. Special mention must also go to the photographer who provided the iconic images of the 4 band members on the album cover - step forward David Montgomery. This is an album that all lovers of classic 1960s pop music should have in their collection and so I say "Buy it and reminisce!!".
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 5 September 2007
Having read through a lot of reviews/comments about this album, I find the accepted view to be, that it is a great album, comparable to their best and that this 'version' comes with some good, but not necessarily essential, bonus material.
Oh, and there are even some people who don't like it.

Well I actually count myself lucky that I came to this album only recently because it means my view of it wasn't skewed by familiarity with its much shorter former incarnation. I actually played it as is, unaware that the additional tracks had not been part of the original release.

My impression was one astonishment. Why was this album not widely trumpeted as one of the greatest works of the sixties? Why was "Tommy" considered a better album? I was mystified. A double album(as it must have been judging by its length)of this quality would surely be included in all those 'Best Album...' lists.
The truly amazing thing is the way that, although it is not a 'concept album' the music fits together to create an incredible barrage of striking imagery that all coalesces perfectly to create a 'whole' that really is greater than the sum of its parts. One of the strengths of the album is the lack(!) of well known tracks(the only one I knew beforehand was 'I Can See For Miles') this gives the record a lovely 'balanced feel'.

I find it very strange, now that I am aware of the original track listing, to think that the album was ever released without 'Early Morning Cold Taxi', the stunning instrumental showcase 'Hall of the Mountain King' and perhaps the gem of the whole album 'Girl's Eyes'(a perfect and sympathetic depiction of the fixated fan/band relationship).

It isn't the easiest "Who" album to like(it took me a few plays before it started to 'click'), and in this form there is so much more to digest than before, but I would suggest it has the potential to be the most rewarding long term listen of all their albums.
11 Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 October 2014
Classic Who, and this rendition of the original and complementing material is a brilliant collection of their studio output over the summer and into the autumn of '67. This album is unique among everything released from that period, and a great listen for the current generation exploring the roots of some modern music. Still sounding really fresh, 'Sell Out' sounds so much clearer on my CD player than the poor reproduction rendered from my Dansette portable back in the day.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 October 2016
Had this on vying years ago, and now finally on cd. It's a classic, and for me, part of my musical journey through life. It's corny, catchy, with some good rock anthems within it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 February 2013
In my opinion, This is the who in all their creative brilliance, before there was a Tommy. If it wasn't for Sell Out,Tommy would have been a very different piece of work. We can hear pieces of the Underture in Rael, and the Overture from Glow Girl, which was the bands first effort post Sell Out in 1968. Whats great about this piece of work is that it is so much more fun than anything that came afterward, and so much less self indulgent. This came at a time when The Who were a great, young, rowdy, and VERY LOUD rock and roll band. Bands don't make albums like this anymore.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 July 2017
Amazing album. Very good double cd deluxe edition, with both stereo & mono versions on separate cds with bonus tracks on each.

Recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 June 2016
Although critics and fans still think The Who sold out to commercy, it is undoubtedly one of their finest
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)