Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle New Album - Foo Fighters Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
81
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£7.99


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 28 April 2017
I received my second copy of the vinyl today and unfortunately there is bad surface noise throughout on both copies. The plates for pressing must have been dirty so I would avoid this run of vinyl.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 June 2017
A first rate reproduction of a top class recording
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 March 2017
very good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 June 2017
a
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 March 2017
Shame about the cut on the corner. But plays nice.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 September 2016
I owned a vinyl copy of Farewell to Kings in the 70s and enjoyed it as a teenager, so decided to reacquaint myself with it via CD.

I still listen to the likes of Queen and Pink Floyd from this era and enjoy them but to be honest this Rush album has not worn well in comparison.

The production just sounds "thin" and I know this is rich for a semi prog rock album but it is over indulgent with more filler than content within the tracks. Some memorable moments in Xanadu, Farewell to Kings and Closer to the Heart but overall it just sounds dated and frankly irritating.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 April 2015
Arrived very quickly, as described, good price - very pleased
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Bought this for my husband as a gift. He says it's good.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 October 2010
Jeeez ... most of the Rush back catalogue is available on Amazon for less than £5 an album ...... why the heck wouldn't you buy it, even if only out of idle curiosity? At times you wonder how they produce a sound like this with just 3 guys and you become convinced this is hyper-produced and multi-layered recording ... and then you see them play it live, faultlessly, seamlessly and without any of the layers missing. Quite simply Rush are that awesome. Geddy Lee appears to be the front man of the band, but Neil Peart is a massive driving force behind what they produce and I doubt they would have had this level of global success if John Rutsey had stayed as their stickman. However, do not under-estimate the contribution of Alex Lifeson .... his excellent solo album Victor shows his creative abilities.

Farewell To Kings contains a couple of Rush classics ... the epic 11 minute Xanadu and also the gig favourite Closer To The Heart ... one of the few lighter Rush tracks that you genuinely feel disappointed if they don't perform it live. This isn't their best album by any stretch of the imagination but its still fantastic. Great album artwork, diverse songs and some superb guitar work by Alex Lifeson. Farewell To Kings, 2112 and Hemispheres are the three albums where Alex has been allowed completely off the leash and yet incredibly he never features in any of the TV polls about great guitarists ... he is not even one of those they quickly skip through in the high 70's and low 80's. Kinda makes you wonder who puts these polls together. Great album, get your fiver out and do something wise with it ... buy this album, you wont regret it and you will enjoy for much longer than the two pints of lager or the beef madras your £5 would normally get you.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 June 2006
Being a little teenager person right now, I wasn't around to see Rush in their heyday and had to content myself with gleaning snippets of information out of my dad. He told me to get this album because it was the best one ever in the whole wide world ever, and I see no reason to diasgree with him.

The entire album is marvellous. Closer to the Heart remains my complete favourite, hence much naffed-offness when they didn't play it on the R30 tour. People might say that it's tedious and prog - prog it is, tedious it ain't. The soundscapes created vary hugely and the melodies and harmonies are beyond contestation.

Rush are the bedrock on which all modern prog - and a whole heaping load of other weird genres - are founded, and this album proves why. Essential.
0Comment| 25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)