Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
50
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£5.99


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 27 March 2016
Love it
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 May 2002
This album is a superb debute from a truely magnificent band. The album encludes superb chart releases such as Sweet Little Mystery, Angel Eyes and the smash hit Temtation. All Wets fans should have a copy and if you are not a fan you soon will be on hearing this album as it encapsulates the spirit of soul while at the same time emulating the sound of the eighties .This album has a mixture of songs that will have you tapping your feet one minute and remembering your first love the next. A truely stunning piece of work that will pull your soul in every possible direction. And a worthy addition to any record collection.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 March 2017
I had this as a cassette years ago and decided to buy the CD. It is brilliant, and it was great to hear it all again. A classic, with one of the best album titles ever
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 December 2009
If you're 40ish and had long hot summers in the late 80s, this is for you. No-one admits to liking Wet Wet Wet but 'Angel Eyes' and 'Temptation' are far fresher, nuanced and uplifting than anything Take That or Robbie ever cranked out. There's very little angst, no rebellion and the lyrics are off-the-shelf , but this album flies by in the car, or when you need a little reminder of that summer in Magaluf when you were tanned, buff and girls still smiled at you...
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 August 2000
Wet Wet Wet: hated by the critics and men who like The Clash. Yet year after year - for twelve, count 'em, twelve long years, Clydebank's finest continued to sell out arenas around the world with their big-voiced melt of soul, rock and pop. Popped In Souled Out is a great album. There are songs on here which will never date - Angel Eyes, Wishing I was Lucky and Sweet Little Mystery among them, and there are tracks which were never singles, but can trouble the heart still - Sonny's Letter, The Moment You Left Me. The sleevenote inside says 'we are first and foremost a a soul band' and Marti, Tommy, Neil and Greme's biggest sin was not fitting neatly into a music industry box, but those who have seen them in concert know their musicianship is great, and their critics are unfounded. Popped In Souled Out led me to infulences including Van Morrison, John Martyn and Willie Mitchell, and helped to shape my music taste. A classic pop album, no doubt about it.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 June 2010
Had Popped in Souled out on vynl but missed hearing the tracks on this so purchased the CD. It was money well spend. Marti and the guys made one of the most memorable LP's ever. The soulful voice of Marti Pellow together with the amazing orchestration and backing from the band make this a very moving and enjoyable CD to listen to. Turn it up loud and appreciate every vocal and chord from one of the most memorable bands to come out of Scotland.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 October 2000
Never popular with the critics, who first tried to dismiss them as a teen group, then when that didn't fit, as a group for the old an out of touch, this is nevertheless an excellent album. From the classic singles such as Sweet Little Mystery and Angel Eyes, to the unreleased tracks like I Remember, there are in my opinion no bad songs. One of a small number of albums I never tire of.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2004
Excellent! I have always liked this but only had the tape - until now. Much better sound quality.
11 Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 January 2016
Remember getting this as a kid, this was pop music when they could actually write there own material, sing and play instruments 1987 this was released about the time pop started going S##T with manufactured rubbish starting to take over the charts so took me back a bit........I'm not saying it was a classic album by any means but at least it is original and not manufactured
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 May 2013
This was one of my secret pleasures while I was growing up. I was a metalhead (still am). I wasn't 'supposed' to be listening to this, let alone like it. But it's fun and brilliantly performed, and Scottish, and it takes me back to hanging out with good friends on a summer holiday in Glenshee.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£6.99
£7.99

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)