Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Blind Boys of Alabama Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
89
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£6.79


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

TOP 500 REVIEWERon 25 September 2016
First Rush gig i saw was at the Glasgow Apollo 1980,the night they recorded,sadly never released in full and like this release it was a stunning gig with a superb set list.

Up until the other day ,i didnt even know this was available,so it was a real pleasure to see and read the other reviews and i must admit Janice set me a personal challenge... 'better than 'All The Worlds A Stage'..., now thats my favourite live disc so no it cant be so i thought..

Well how wrong was I ? this 2 disc set might just be the best live disc the band havent officially released (ha ha... i'm still hoping for Glasgow 1980!!!).

Sound quality excellent,set list damn near flawless a truly superb set,just wish bands would realise this is what the 'die hards ' want...

A thoroughly easily recommended purchase to any Rush fan particularly if the '70's is your favourite era.. Nice one...
44 Comments| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 August 2016
This is a soundboard recording of the best tour I saw Rush do. The quality is excellent easily as good as any official album/cd.
It is the Hemispheres set in full, so lasts just about 2 hrs I would recommend it if you are a fan like me of Rush up until Hemispheres.
The best live album Rush never made probably.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 August 2016
This show is perfect, it's better than all the worlds a stage and that's brilliant. I'm not absolutely sure but I think it's the same set list from the hemispheres show at Coventry theatre on May 9th 1979. That was the rush gig I have ever witnessed with max Webster as support. If you like me enjoyed the 70s era most of all buy this cd, the set is full of classic rush.
22 Comments| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 June 2017
A first rate reproduction, of the original vinyl release A++***
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 July 2017
Great cd
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 October 2016
Great album. Super quick delivery.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 May 2017
Great item
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 April 2017
Rush at their Prog- est Sure Johnny Atkins would agree.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 September 2000
Unrated, unknown to most - loved by those who got in on the act and knew then before the prog-rock concept became a dirty word, Rush have stood the test of time. Originally influenced by Led Zep - indeed they stared out doing covers of the band - Rush quickly forged their own style, and mightily expanded it with every release. Rush fans meet somewhere near the dividing line of those who swear the releases of the 1990s are more refined than their huge volume of earlier prog work. I have every release - but I would place myself in the latter of those two camps. Hemispheres did the impossible by even rising above the barely comparable 2112 epic and Farewell to Kings and proved that the concept album isn't an endless track but a story with chapters, which here have a magical quality. Side One continues where Farewell to Kings left off with Cygnus X-1, mixing sci-fi with ancient (Greek) legend. Putting aside the group's technical brilliance with key and time changes aplenty as well as Lifeson's fantastic arpeggios the lyrics provide food for thought dealing with such issues as the 'battle for heart and mind' as tribal conflict muscles in on human existence. A review in the USA unfairly denounced the "lofty lyrics" which "sometimes bordered on the ridiculous". But compare this with the output of your local radio station. The end of the first side, Sphere, contains wonderful if idealistic sentiment. Side two opens with Circumstances, containing an instrumental interlude which conjures for me a warm image of standing enjoying the atmosphere of a pre-Christmas market, a cup of hot gluhwein in hand. Trees is Orwell's Animal Farm set to music - lovely percussion from Peart - while La Villa Strangiato really is 'an exercise in self-indulgence' - a nine-minute instrumental. But Lifeson can play classical guitar for nine hours when I'm around. Rush are to be admired for trying a new direction post-Signals - but with Hemispheres they took the listener to a higher level.
0Comment| 50 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 January 2017
This is a soundboard recording but for any dedicated rush fan this is essential.
Any album with Cygnus x-1, the entirety of hemispheres and 2112 only minus 'the Oracle's is a must especially if you were too young to be there in 1978. 'Anthem', and 'by-tor' are abbreviated but the majesty of 'hemispheres' shines through. There are some dropouts and channel muting on occasion but the sound is clear and quite raw. Can come with a hefty price tag but it's a shame there aren't more of these recordings. Imagine if they had recorded all of their shows like king crimson!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)