Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
19
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£8.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

TOP 500 REVIEWERon 10 February 2015
Despite it selling more copies and achieving a top ten placing in the charts, Dodgy's third album isn't quite of the same standard as it's outstanding processor Homegrown, but I still have to rate it five stars, because the winning formula doesn't change, it's more of the same. This summer-feel album is a cracking slice of Britpop nostalgia, and my first taste of this underrated band who chalked up an impressive list of singles and albums during their nineties heyday.

'Free Peace Sweet' is loaded with great songs, catchy-hooks and infectious, optimistic and sometimes hilarious lyrics. Few bands could have ever gotten away with such naff lyrics in a song like 'If it's good enough for you, it's good enough for me', but with Dodgy, it works and you love it.

'Good Enough' is the one track on 'Free Peace Sweet' that even casual Britpop listeners will recognise. It became their biggest hit and peaked at no.4 in the singles chart, but the other hits on the album also provide amble enjoyment. The fun, upbeat 'You Gotta Look Up' is a feel-good anthem, and 'In A Room', the song that really first got me into Dodgy has Nineties written all over it. Even the more much serious tracks like the beautiful 'If You're Thinking Of Me' make me smile, but naturally in a different way. The scoring chorus of standout track, the epic, 7 minutes: 43 seconds 'One of Those Rivers', also makes for an instant sing-along anthem.

You really can't go wrong with Dodgy if you like the Britpop sound and contemporary bands such as Shed Seven, Cast and The Bluetones, and this is another cracking album that will stay with you for a life as soon as you hear it. If it's good enough for me, it will be good enough for you (sorry!).
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 October 2001
As Billy Bragg once pointed out, the sun always shone when Dodgy played the festivals and, in many respects they never managed to shake off that novelty tag. This fine album should however convince anyone of their musical value.
It's a filler-free collection which doffs a cap to 'Sell Out' period Who. Upbeat and eager to please, there is a definite Englishness to this album. The lament of 'UK R.I.P' is at odds with the general feeling of optimism here - as though something better is always just around the corner. For Dodgy there wasn't.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 January 2016
Recently bought this for a quid in pound world
I had it in the naughty Nineties when I was heavily into indie bands and I found the excellent.
One of my favourite indie tracks of all time is Good Enough.
Just order the other two classics The Dodgy Album and Homegrown.
Brilliant indie rock!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Free Peace Sweet is one of my top 5 albums, better than the Collection in my view. Missed them on tour in the 90's but had the privelege of seeing them on stage in a room (no pun intended) above a pub with the original line up a few months back, excellent and thank you, will be there if you do it again.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 August 2016
Defiantly one of my favourite albums from the Brit-Pop era, but unlike a lot of the bands from that period there's no arrogant sneering or strutting about like a peacock, just a record jam packed full of near perfect indie pop songs that reminds you how joyful music can be.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 May 2012
Ive owned several copies of this album, as wore out the CD's

it is an essential part of my music collection, and the most listen to album by myself for the last 13-14 years

Every song is strong, and theres a few absolute classics in there
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 April 2010
Wasn't smitten first time round in the 90s, but recently bought it after borrowing a copy from a friend. Perhaps not the finest crafted tunes, but really catchy and great for sticking on in the car. I think it would make a really good summer album.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 March 2008
This album is amazing i love every song, this is the sort of album you can listen to over and over for years and it will still sound amazing, with loads of feel good guitar riffs, fast energetic drumming, good backing vocals, really good keyboads and nigels lead vocals balances everything out nicely,when you combine all this you get a mighty dodgy vibe

All of the songs on this are good not just the ones that got realeased, this album also has the famous "Good Enough" one of the most catchi and feel good song ever! "Long Life" comes on just at the right time and is one of the most beautiful and emotional song ive ever heard and sounds amazing when dodgy play it live

The last song is a really good relaxing summer song. "Free Peace Sweet" has loads of feel good and fast songs, this album is 10/10 im never going to sell my copy
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 September 2016
More psyche than Homegrown. A masterpiece again for this great band.
Of course there is Good enough but don t forget Jack the lad, Homegrown, In a room, If you re thinking of me....
Better than a best of.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 January 2009
One of the few albums I could put on and play in order, all the way through. I swear every song on this album could have been a single.

The linking of Jack the Lad and Long Life is the album's highlight.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)