Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
36
4.5 out of 5 stars


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 21 June 2017
Just topping up my CD collection with some timeless classics - they had bags of attitude (and a great songwriter) then and Paul Weller still has those qualities today after so many years... If you like The Jam, just simply buy ALL there albums, simples..........
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 August 2017
Decent album. Sounds of the band still finding their feet, and direction.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 December 2008
The Jam's second album suffers from similar draw-backs to their thrashy debut in that it's songs, while slightly more consistent, sound as if they've been laid down much too soon.
There's exuberant ideas bustling here, which if patiently allowed to find their own way, would've finished up much better appreciated and elevated than they are now.

This what happens when greedy music majors pay huge advances to a young/unready pop-band and try to start recouping immediately.

All that said, 'This Is The Modern World' includes some top drawer Jam songs: 'I Need You (For Some-one)', 'Here Comes the Weekend' and 'Tonight at Noon' are three of Weller's best reflective ballads and his Keith Moon tribute: 'Life From a Window' is possibly his finest 4 minutes as a songwriter.

There's a couple of half-clunkers, but generally 'This Is The Modern World' is a tidy side-step rather than a significant improvement on 'In The City', while still tilling familiar, albeit less stony and undisturbed land.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 November 2012
This is by no means my favourite Jam album. It is however my favourite Jam album sleeve!
Nothing can match the buzz you got from the vinyl days of getting a new record home from the shop and putting it on your record player for the first time, but rebuilding your record collection onto modern style CD is pretty close.
Nowadays with more patience for sitting back and listening to the songs it hit home just how good and original this album was.
It has now been played much more than the vinyl version ever was!
Great stuff.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 June 2016
nice one
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 March 2017
👍🏻
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 October 2012
Opinion is a strange thing...for me, this album is their best. It's been generally dismissed over the years and I don't know why.
(My least favourite Jam LP is The Gift and Absolute Beginners the worst 45.)
Classics are Standards, Here Comes the Weekend, Life from a Window, Tonight at Noon and I Need You.
I've lived with this Lp since it was released and it still grows on me, so I'd say if you are new to the Jam, get this one...it's as valid as any of the others.
22 Comments| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 March 2017
Fairly pretentious and quite dull pop album. Hasn't aged well at all
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 August 2013
I hate it when people slag this album off and most have never listened to it I think its a great album lots better than in the city which I do like too but you can feel the change in the music leading up to there third album and masterpeace all mod cons if its so bad how come it still sells well 36 years on
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 January 2001
When people talk about classic Jam albums, the names "All cod cons, and "Setting sons" are invariably mentioned. however, few people list "This is the modern world" on the top of their pile, and it is an injustice that cannot be overstated. Although people criticised "The modern world" for its lack of progression from "In the City", they must have fell upon deaf ears as there at least half a dozen instant classics on this record, if not the whole album. The title track and "Standards" are powerful, stomping arrogant punk anthems that really hits the spots. "London traffic" is fast and frantic, much unlike the subject matter. If the likes of "Life from a window", were released by Oasis, or Travis would probably be hailed as an all time classic and would almost certainly hit number one. Make no mistake; if you believe what the critics say, and don't buy this album, then you'll be deprived of some of the greatest songs ever written by paul weller, or for that matter, anyone.
0Comment| 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)