Learn more Shop now Shop now</arg> Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
16
4.4 out of 5 stars
5 star
9
4 star
5
3 star
2
2 star
0
1 star
0
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 1 March 2002
This greatest hits compilation features John belting out the highlights of his career. His husky voice blends and duels with the rhythm guitars and percussion. John blends American folk rock with a raspy world weariness in 'Check It Out', he's rebellious in 'Authority Song', a teenage ditty in 'Jack and Diane', a reflective rural boy in 'Small Town'. If you like depth in lyrics without going into U2 type of imagery, with boppy rockabilly guitar, bang bang percussions and straight from the raspy gut style of passionate-reflective singing, you'll like this album.
If you have AMERICAN FOOL , this is another album to add to your Mellancamp tally! Check out the record sleeve write up. It gives a good story of the John Mellencamp family history and all of John's ancestors with the same name, 'John'.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 February 2013
Listen as John Cougar repeats the same catchy nostalgiac song over and over again with different titles, and different chart placings. I suppose that's a bit unfair and dismissive of me, but think about it, is "R.O.C.K. In The USA", THAT different from "Pink Houses"? Is "Cherry Bomb" not pretty much the same musically and conceptually as "Small Town"? and so on. As far as compilations go, this does in fact deliver most of his greatest hits, and there were no shocking omissions here, but at the same time some of his albums on their own are actually more interesting and varied sounding, so it's all up to you!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 June 2013
Love these songs, that's why i purchased this album on line. I use to own most of his material on LP so this compilation basically covers all his best moments. Buy it!!!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 January 2015
SEEMS SO LONG AGO, BUT THE BEST JOHN MELLENCAMP DID IN THAT DECADE 78-88 IS A NICE SLICE OF AMERICANA FOR THOSE WHO HAVE LONGING FOR PLACES AND FACES THAT LIVE IN THE IMAGINATION.PINK HOUSES IS MY TOP SONG...AND THESE COLD BLEAK DAYS IN A WORLD TO MATCH...NEEDS A LITTLE INJECTION OF ROCK IN THE USA.....14 TRACKS...ALL WORTH A LISTEN..AND DID THE MAN BETTER JACK AND DIANE?...YOU DECIDE. ENJOYED VERY MUCH...THIS GOOD VALUE CD.VIA AMAZON.U.K.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 August 2005
john melloncamp i would've not known him from adam and eve if someone had said his name a couple of months ago, but after hearing jack and diane played on virgin radio i was so impressed by his vocal ablities and humourous lyrics that i went and bought this best of album
and i was shocked too find there are loads of other great songs that are being begged to rock out too, this cd is a driving cd going down the motorway with the windows down and the wind in your hair pure bliss..
john melloncamp i salute you,
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 May 2014
"Hurts so good", "Jack and Diane", "ROCK in the USA" are well known, some of the other songs are less well known and some what weaker than expected. The rest of the album seemed to be a bit pop/rock to be honest.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 December 2016
Unfortunately doesn't contain 'Jack and Diane'.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 May 2013
I think this short compilation is a terrible selection of hits from John Mellencamp's long career. Assuming that one HAD to pick from the years 1978 to 1988 only, as suggested here (why? it was issued in 1997!) and accepting that one would only select songs released as singles, we still only have 13 out of 31 singles here. There is only `I need a Lover' * from the 1979 album John Cougar, which is the single I like the least of the 5 released then. I much prefer `A Little Night Dancin' ***(*) (what a great number to dance to) or even the lovely ballad `Taxi Dancer' **(*). From 1980, we have `Ain't Even Done With the Night' **(*), when `This Time' *** is so much more interesting, because it is unconventional and really hilarious. Thank goodness 1982 `Hurts so Good' **** is included, it does feel pretty good indeed (so cheeky), but I will never understand the fascination for the very bland but popular song `Jack & Diane' ** (each to his own). There were 5 singles from the 1983 Uh-Huh, so a choice had to be made: I would have dropped `Crumblin' Down' * (a tune JM has done better since) to make space for a track from another year. Yes to `Pink Houses' *** because it was significant in his career, and to `Authority Song' *** to show a fair contrast. There are three tracks from the 1985 Scarecrow, but we get `Lonely Ol' Night' ** familiar Mellencamp, `R.O.C.K. in the U.S.A.' ** repetitive rockabilly and `Small Town' **(*); what about the intensely dramatic `Rain on the Scarecrow' *** and the emotional `Minutes to Memories' **** both co-written with George Green?! As for picking from 1987 The Lonesome Jubilee, I would admit it's tough (there were 6 singles!), I love the loud `Paper in Fire' **** and the chilled-out `Cherry Bomb' **** (Mellencamp's take on Springsteen `Glory Days'), `Check It Out' *** is great folk-rock too.
As for the cover `Without Expression' * written by Terry Reid, I did not know the song before and it does nothing for me here. Fans of Mellencamp, like me, would be curious and I would urge them to check the song online before forking out more money on this collection. The JM album of reworked songs `Rough Harvest' is so much more interesting, even `Trouble No More' stuffed with blues, folk, country and jazz covers is better spending if you have the hits already.
Of course, if you hoping to discover the John Cougar Mellencamp in the quoted period, this Best Of may seem like a good idea; but, frankly, it won't give you a fair picture of the man's talent and versatility: there's more than Americana rock to the guy. It's not even an hour long! Save a tenner and invest in a few albums: some are only a fiver brand new! Explore the most successful ones, such as, (maybe) American Fool (82), Uh-Huh (83), (surely) Scarecrow (85), (definitely) The Lonesome Jubilee... and for an all around perspective, the contrasting two following gems: the introspective Big Daddy (89) and the loud rock that is Whenever We Wanted (91). I have posted reviews of some of these albums and will upload the others soon: I also love his albums from 1979, 1998, 2008... so I cannot come to terms with the logic behind the product here.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 August 2014
Brings all is best songs together.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 October 2014
bought as a gift person likes it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)