Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
135
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£7.99


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 25 November 2016
a backwards in time review of classic genesis from the staggeringly chart successful to the early brilliant years of prog genesis
a very good balance of music
give your ears and your happy self a treat
buy this and actually listen to them
clever tunes and words
sheer enjoyment
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 August 2017
Great
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 August 2017
awsome
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 May 2017
....great mix of all the best stuff. Nice package too. Arrived on time.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 March 2017
Love it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 July 2017
arrived on time. great cd. thanks
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 May 2017
Brings back memory's of long ago just as if it was yesterday some sad times but mostly happy times very good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 April 2017
Very pleased will shop again.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 September 2006
I was never really a fan of Genesis until I bought this album for my Dad, and then stole it from him one night because I was bored. He highly recommended that I particularly listen to disc 3 because he thought that I would get on with that Genesis style best - and did I ever! This platinum collection must be one of the best around. The carefully chosen combination of songs work so well and in a way different to nearly every other band's "greatest hits" this travels backwards. Disc 1 being the most recent, and 3 being the earlier work featuring Peter Gabriel. This is a stunning collection of songs for any fan of Genesis and I'd highly recommend it to anyone looking to find out more about the band, as it converted me!
0Comment| 43 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 23 December 2004
A 3 CD best of compilation, it must be Christmas!! Yes it's that time of year again, when artists put together, or in some cases throw together their "best" bits to cash in on the Christmas market. So how does this 3 CD retrospective by Genesis fare. It's interesting that the tracks are ordered in reverse chronology. I assume the logic here is that best to showcase the more commercially successful material up-front and put the more "difficult" progressive stuff at the end. I will be honest and say that I left Genesis after "Duke" and didn't take to the "pop" approach of later works. However, over the years I have warmed a bit more to what the trio were doing in the latter part of the bands existence. They did do some good stuff on the later albums.
Any compilation like this is going to be aimed at the mildly curious. Those who don't want to fork out for the whole back catalogue but wouldn't mind having something that acts as a taster. This is not for the die hard fan looking for unreleased, hard to find material. The material here is a good mixture of single releases and key album tracks. Nice to have the whole of "Suppers Ready" here for instance. For me CD1 is mostly unfamiliar apart from the hit singles. But listening to this now, the essence of what made Genesis great during their whole career is still present. That is good, individual songwriting. What is missing is the distinctive instrumental sound. Listening to the drums on these latter tracks, it could be anyone playing. There is none of Phil Collins inventive drumming here. The same with Tony Banks digital keyboards. Quite formulaic in places. But they did what they did well and you cannot take that away from them.
Genesis fans will be interested to know that a large percentage of the tracks here, mostly the earlier stuff have been newly mixed by in-house engineer Nick Davis and this is where this set scores huge points. The sound is fantastic. Listening to those tracks is a revelation. Older material sounds as if it was recorded yesterday. The amount of detail and depth brought out of these mixes is like listening to them for the first time. I thought Nick did a great job on the Definitive Remasters of the back catalogue back in the early 90's, but the sound offered here is nothing short of a revelation, especially in the vocal department. For instance I always found "And Then There Were Three ..." sounded brittle and harsh. But the tracks from that showcased here sound full and lively. Collins voice on "Follow You, Follow Me" sounds much more earthy and really makes this a different sounding song to the more throwaway pop feel of the original.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)