Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars
11
5.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
11
4 star
0
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£8.99

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 3 March 2005
Jon Lord has obviously taken a lot of care over this album not just with the beautifully crafted pieces that tug at the emotional heart strings, but also in the sleeve notes that paint a picture to listen by. The choice of solo vocals is also impressive with Sam Brown(e), Frida and Miller Anderton and each adds a uniqueness that makes this an album worthy of listening to over and over again. The range of styles appeals as well, with some eastern influences mingling with a little jazz, some characteristic organ and off course, the sumptuous arrangements for strings. Simply wonderful!!
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 October 2004
This is just stunning. In his post Purple days Jon Lord has produced two wonderful albums - Pictured Within - and now Beyond the Notes. The music demands the listener pays attention but the reward for that effort is well worth it.
Lord's music makes heavy demands on piano and violin / viola and is delicate and melodious.
If you were to buy one classical music album written and performed by a Rock star, make it this one.
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 July 2015
Frida from Abba, sings The Sun will shine again. Amazing song, and still a beautiful woman.
Wish Abba would get back together...
This album is brilliant, I can`t believe I never found it until now.
Jon Lord RIP
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 April 2005
I have and always will be a very big Deep Purple fan. I am 25 Years old and it was this man and his vision with the Birth of Deep Purple and his solo work up to this album, this is the guy that gave me a very big opener into music and a very big influence.
Through to his Classical working's to his Big band sound with Ian Paice and R'N'B .There's nothing this guy that he can not do. And at an age of about 63 now I think this guy is going strong. This is dying breed of musicians so enjoy this guy while it lasts. Not long Live Rock N Roll its Long Live Lordy Rock N Roll.......... Hit that Hammond Organ .........
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 September 2013
Another gem of an album from the much missed Jon Lord, Full of lovely tunes, with guest vocals by Frida (ABBA), and Sam Brown who had also provided vocals on the Pictured Within album,(my personal favourite), There is a track in memory of George Harrison which is very good, plus a good mixture of sounds and tempos. abn album worth getting.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 10 March 2009
Never been a true afficiando of Deep Purple so I came to this album and Lord's music with no preconcieved ideas. I was rocked (no pun intended) back on my heels by how stunningly good this is.
Only once in a while do you come upon something that is as crystal, complete and as melodic as this beautiful collection. Each piece is remarkable in its own right and the music ranges from bouncy jazz to pastorale. In fact I would say that in Jon Lord the English pastorale music of Vaughn Williams,Elgar, Delius et al has found its true successor. That is not to say all the music on this very strong album is pastorale but the overall feeling is one of peace and tranquility without becoming stilted or oversweet. A real surprise of an album and a very lovely collection. Buy it and be gently amazed.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 August 2013
I bought this because I loved Jon Lords contribution to Deep Purple and some of his side ventures earlier .Since receiving this my wife and I would have listened to this many many times.It is one of the most beautiful soulful melancholic pieces of music I have ever heard .Absolutely fantastic
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 November 2004
A beautifully crafted album. Perhaps not as emotional as Pictured Within but fully it's equal in a sense of musical craftsmanship and pure talent. Mr. Lord has really found a musical niche. Not many composers, if any, combines classical structured songs with the elements of rock music in the way Mr. Lord does. Listen e.g. to the Bolero no. 4 and many other of the songs. This is a record which will perhaps not sell in shiploads but it will be a great long term success and a pleasure to listen to for years to come.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 August 2015
This is a must see if you are a Jon Lord fan. Beautiful music from a talented composer.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 May 2016
My hero. Jon Lord was such a talented man, this music is so inspirational.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)