Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
20
4.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
18
4 star
2
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£5.99

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 19 March 2017
very pleased with c d.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 December 2014
Bought as a wedding present and I'm told it 'did the job' on the night!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 9 December 2013
Well, I'm not ashamed to say that at the opening track (after the Intro,) I was moved to tears - partly due to the time in my life that now seems so many years ago... Forty years since Barry White shot to number one with the classic `You're The First, The Last, My Everything' - featured here on this now classic of albums!

Barry's albums were always `epics' and he came back suddenly after many years absence from the charts in 1987 - just as if he'd never been away with the superb hit `Sho' You Right' and the album from which it was taken (see my Review for that title), but this `Can't Get Enough' has to rank at probably one of his very best moments! He remains a legend (as he was also in his own lifetime) with a distinctive and immediately recognisable voice. (caused by what he always claimed was having been blessed with the common Cold!!) He must have been amazing to see `Live'; emanating love and atmosphere from a dimly lit stage. His tunes were so `melodic' and orchestral-based (unlike anything you will ever hear today...), and it was a great loss to the music industry when we lost this unique and great talent... BUT: he left us a tremendous legacy - his whole back catalogue re-issued in their original formats without any of those annoying and irritating bonus extras which only spoil the authenticity of any great album in my opinion - and all at such wickedly low prices - no-one can be forgiven for not indulging!

Absolute MAGIC!!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 January 2011
Yet again, i am surprised there is no review of this. Let's correct that anomaly, as Barry White's "Can't Get Enough" is a truly tremendous release. (Believe it or not.) Bookended by parts one and two of the instrumental "Mellow Mood", and never really putting a foot wrong. In between are the very familiar "You're The First, The Last, My Everything" and full-length "Can't Get Enough Of Your Love, Babe". (Although i prefer the "air conga" opportunity of the single mix.) But this album has so much more to offer than those two hits.

Purchasers may be a little disappointed that the running time is so short, and there is definitely better value to be had elsewhere. However, "CGE" features a few great moments which simply are not available on the plethora of Barry White compilations. There is the extended crooning of "I Can't Believe (That You Love Me"), whose ten plus minutes are too much for any standard compilation. "Oh Love, Well We Finally Made It" is possibly a bit more disposable, but definitely not at all bad. And there is also the lesser-known but lovely "I Love You More Than Anything, (In This World, Girl)", which does not feature on any of the regular compilations either.

All in all, "CGE" possibly represents Barry White's greatest album. His "What's Going On", dare i say it, even though many will find that statement to be sacrilegious. However, this is a very much better album than one might imagine, and definitely not worthy of anybody's contempt.
22 Comments| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 December 2013
Enjoyed all of Barry White's music and brings back many memories of the 80s, 90s and 2000s. A great shame when he died but at least his beautiful music lives on.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 February 2014
I've always been a fan of Barry White. I could listen to his music any time of day or night.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 March 2016
Never get tired of Barry white music to make love to this album has never dated stills sounds the same when it first came out
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 February 2016
I have this album on vinyl bought when it was new. On Cd it means I can enjoy this fabulous music in the car too.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 September 2015
Easy on the ear listening in my opinion and the product is value for money.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 December 2012
Brilliant album bought the original on vinyl so thought this would be a good buy and easier to play! Wasn't wrong just as I remember.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse



Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)