Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 26 April 2017
I'm glad I bought this CD...it has an interesting playlist which I like and would recommend.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 June 2017
Unusual but no mistaking the mans voice
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 June 2017
Excellent example of one of the Kings of Americana
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 April 2003
Cash has never sounded better. His own songs on this album are fantastic, but the covers are the stars. "First Time Ever I Saw Your Face", "In My Life" and (astonishingly) "Personal Jesus".
"In My Life" is one of those exceedingly rare moments on record when you can feel the hairs on the back of your neck standing up. An old man singing a song about a full life, it's beautiful, sad and immensely powerful at the same time.
Minimal production pushes Johnny's fantastically craggy voice to the forefront.
A stunning album. Could it be Johnny's best yet?
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 February 2012
I BOUGHT THIS CD FOR ONE TRACK, "HURT", AND WHAT A SURPRISE IT HAD IN STORE. JOHNNY SINGS SO MANY SONGS AS WELL AS HE EVER COULD. LISTEN TO "BRIDGE OVER TROUBLED WATER", "FIRST TIME I EVER SAW YOUR FACE", "IN MY LIFE", "DANNY BOY", "DESPERADO", "I`M SO LONESOME I COULD CRY" AND THE MOST SURPRISING OF ALL "WE`LL MEET AGAIN" (MOVE OVER VERA, THERE`S A NEW KID ON THE BLOCK). YES, JOHNNY STILL HAD THAT CERTAIN SOMETHING RIGHT UP TO THE END. REST IN PEACE MY FRIEND.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
HALL OF FAMETOP 1000 REVIEWERon 19 August 2011
This was to be the last record Johnny Cash released in his lifetime, and it is a fitting finale to his illustrious career.

In the last few years of life he had enjoyed an artistic, critical and popular renaissance with the American series of albums, recorded with producer Rick Rubin. Each was very different to the others, but all were sympathetic to Cash's style and mood, and drew the best from the great man.

This fourth entry in the series is made all the more moving by the knowledge that it turned out to be Cash's last. There is a feeling that in these songs Cash is either looking back over his life, or peering over the approaching boundary, and telling us of what he could discern of the other side. There is a feeling of spirituality about the powerful opener `The Man Comes Around', almost a joyous looking forward to meeting the big fella himself. The second track, `Hurt', is a blowaway performance that just knocks me sideways. It is a song so laden with regret for the people he had hurt in his tempestuous life. The singing is just so packed with raw emotion it really makes you sit up and listen. The rest of the album has a slower tone, and Cash's poor health starts to show in his failing voice, especially on slower tracks such as `Danny Boy'. There is a grim humour to his reworking of the gallows tale `Sam Hall', and the closer, `We'll Meet Again', presumably sung for his recently deceased wife June Carter Cash, is a slow, heartfelt rendition that will bring a lump to the throat. It's a fine song to end his last album with, and hopefully in the next life we'll hear Johnny Cash again.

Five stars, this is an essential album.
11 Comment| 35 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 June 2017
fanatastic from the man in black a must for every johnny
cash fan
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 August 2017
prompt delivery, usual quality with Cash of sound and lyrics.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 November 2003
This is the latest in the line of American Recordings produced by Rick Rubin and continues the successful formula of Johnny Cash, with a minimum of backing, mostly covering songs which you wouldn't associate with country music.
The real triumph on this album is his cover of "Hurt" a song about drug addiction, which Johnny brings a whole new meaning to, and if listened to in conjunction with the award winning video, in which he looks so vulnerable, in contrast to that strong bass voice, it's extremely moving.
His own song, the title track "When the man comes around" is the strongest song he's written in years.
I always think his voice works best when he sings songs you don't expect and this is demonstrated on "personal Jesus" which is another standout track.
I don't think the covers of "Brige over troubled water","Desperado",I hung my head" or "streets of Laredo" work to the same degree. They are not badly done, they just don't drag you out of your comfort zone in the way covers of artists such as Nine Inch Nails, Depeche Mode and on his previous album U2, Nick Cave and Will Oldham do.
All considered, definitely a good buy, but doesn't quite match the heights achieved by American III, Solitary Man.
0Comment| 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 September 2017
Its Johnny what else do you need to say
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Customers also viewed these items

Hurt
£0.99

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)