Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
48
4.6 out of 5 stars
Synchronicity (Remastered)
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£6.99


on 6 July 2016
I wanted to buy a Police album and this is (mostly) the one that tops many lists online. Apart from 'Every Breath You Take,' I was oblivious to all of the other tracks, 'King Of Pain' sounded pretty familiar. I was half expecting 'Roxanne' or 'Message In A Bottle' to be here too, but alas no!
This was their last album and it sounds very mature for a band that is often (bafflingly after listening to this album) labelled Punk! Melody is king here, and experimentation a close second. There are guitars, there are synths, there are lots of instrumentation, but they are all mostly in the background and there are also some weird effects that pop up every now and then, see 'Walking In Your Footsteps.'
The highlights are of course 'Every Breath You Take,' 'King of Pain,' and, well, take your pick. There isn't a bad song here really, though 'Mother' is very much a black sheep here and quite a jarringly weird one at that. It's totally at odds with the rest of the tracks and sounds like King Crimson soundtracking a man with Oedipus Complex having a meltdown! Which is pretty close to what it is, so I guess...that makes it a success story!?
'Synchronicity,' has a cool electronic synth riff that leads the song and its sequel is also great and are among the most upbeat songs on the album.'Murder By Numbers' is a cool, laid back, almost bluesy closer with (like most of the songs) deceptively dark, twisted subject matter.
Production is flawless, as are the vocal lines/melodies carrying each song. The lyrics book has all the lyrics and the packaging is very tasteful indeed and iconic to most. The album is also surprisingly short, and there is absolutely no excess fat/filler, nothing drags on longer than it should.
Only loses one star because of my personal taste. I feel it lacks tempo sometimes and all the songs are pretty close to being the same bpm, or at least it feels that way to me. I would've liked them to give their more upbeat past a nod, but that's just my opinion. Fantastic and classic album though, and one I may just give back it's missing star with more listens.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 April 2015
The Police's 5th and final studio album represents, for the most part, a superb valedictory effort. There are a number of really beautifully crafted tracks including the haunting strains of 'King Of Pain', the insistent chug of 'Every Breath You Take' and the utterly brilliant 'Wrapped Around Your Finger' which possibly qualifies as my favourite Police track of all-time. The first half of the album veers between the sublime ('Walking In Your Footsteps' and the thunderously good 'Synchronicity 2') and the ridiculous (the atrocious Summers' dirge 'Mother' and Copeland's rather lightweight 'Miss Gradenko'). Even so, there is so much to appreciate on this album that I'm prepared to overlook its weak points and award it a 5 star rating.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 August 2017
Utterly brilliant...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 November 2013
Most bands peak then slowly released weaker and weaker albums until they decide to call it a day. The Police were the exception. They went out on a high with Synchronicity. It's a album of two half's, I'm not a fan of either Synchronicity song and Summers and Copeland songs are absolutely suicidal. It's like they were trying to sabotage Sting's perfect album.

There second half or side two is incredible all 4 original are masterpieces in my opinion. Choosing between them is like choosing between your kids. They contain some of the most passionate and honest song writing ever recorded.

This album will always have a place in my heart. They don't make 'em like this anymore.
11 Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 December 2007
Although all their albums are perfetly structured and worth a listen nothing ever sounded quite like Synchronicity. From start to finish the album grabs your attention with key songs like the title track, Walking in Your Footsteps and O My God! Side Two however is where the gems are and is worth the buying price alone. King of Pain, Every Breath you Take and my personal favourite Police track ever Wrapped Around Your Finger are beautiful songs with well written melodies and as always fantastic drumming and production. A perfect note for the police to finish on, and album with all but one filler (The for some unlistenable Mother). Apart from this minor glitch a great final album, if you were only going to get one Police album, get this one, even just for side 2!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 May 2007
To hardcore Police fans of yesteryear, this album could have been construed as a disappointment. Who cares? The fact that this album was a monumental best seller that appealed to millions of people is a testament to its finely crafted pop tunes.

Sure, there are a couple of dogs on this album, namely the excrutiating Mother, the less than overwhelming Murder by Numbers, and the pointless Miss Gradenko. However, these tracks are more than made up for by the searing intensity of Synchronicity II, the brilliant Wrapped Around Your Finger, and galactico uber hit Every Breath You Take.

Here we have a three piece band at the very height of their song writing and musical powers - the perfect time to call it a day.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 6 January 2017
The fifth and final album by The Police, Synchronicity also presages the band's demise, as it becomes ever more a situation of Summers and Copeland acting as backing musicians for Sting's songs.

A case in point is Every Breath You Take, the band's (and Sting's) biggest hit. Undeniably a great song, nevertheless, Copeland and Sting actually came to blows over the recording. I'm guessing from what I've read that this is because Sting more or less forced Copeland to play in a style he wasn't comfortable with. Copeland, who has frequently streesed the impoartnace of playing for the song, has said he feels his drum part doesn't groove. I know what he means, but I also beg to differ!

Anyway, it illustrates where things had got to: the band recorded both backing parts and overdubs in separate rooms, for 'social reasons', the frequent fights between Copeland and Sting almost causing producer Hugh Padham to quit. The honeymoon was long since over. Divorce was in the offing.

Still, there's plenty to be enjoyed. And the band do retain their unique if somewhat evolved chemistry. It's the most downbeat Police album by far, and a far cry from their near ballistic punk-tinged debut. Traces of the old 'classic' Police sound remain, from the spooky minimalism of Tea In The Sahara, to the rambunctious energy of Synchronicity II. There are even the token sidekick numbers, Copeland's Miss Gradenko, which is really rather good, and Summers' Mother, which is really rather awful.

As with Copeland, the brash Yank, Summers, the quiet Brit, had his own difficulties with Sting. But, intriguingly, where Sting sought to rein Copeland in on Every Breath You Take, he gave Summers a completely free hand with his guitar part. Summers used a riff he'd developed in his work with King Crimson guitar maestro Robert Fripp, influenced by Bartok! In the end, despite the tortured process of its gestation and birth, both this song and the album, are remarkably cohesive.

So, the Police reached the end of their rocky road, leaving us five excellent albums to enjoy for many more years to come.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 December 2016
If possible I'd give this 4.5 stars - dropping 1 star (20%!) from "I love this" to "I like this" is too harsh for me to do so although I don't love the entire album all tracks except Mother are enjoyable. I'm not sure why or how Mother made the final cut of Synchronicity - it stands out like a sore thumb. The songs I absolutely love are (no surprise really!) Every Breath You Take and Wrapped Around Your Finger, the latter of which has a similar sound to Dire Straits' Ride Across The River.

The album opens explosively with the title track (part 1) them immediately slows down for the 'tribal' sounding Walking in Your Footsteps. The next 3 tracks are the low point of the album with Mother being the lowest point in my opinion. Synchronicity II brings us back on par - it's a stonking good track that pumps its slick guitar lick down your throat and makes you want to dance and sing. The other three singles from the album follow and these 4 tracks are the highlight before the album closes off with the pleasant but not wonderful Tea in the Sahara and Murder by Numbers. I have a 1987 CD not the remastered version, and having heard the remaster I'll happily stay with my old 'original' CD.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 February 2010
Bearing in mind that the band broke up a year or so after recording this album, its not difficult to think that this sounds almost like a sting solo album in places. It's certainly unlike anything The Police had recorded previously, much of the reggae influence is absent here(but not totally), and in its place a more straight ahead rock sound (check "Synchronicity II"). There isn't a single dud track on here, it's also probably their most diverse album to date as well. There is so much more on this to enjoy than "Every Breath You Take". Fave tracks include "Synchronicity I", "Mother", "Wrapped around your finger" and the brooding "Tea in the sahara". If you don't own any Police records, get this and "Regatta de Blanc" first.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 September 2016
Recently replaced my vinyl of this with CD, along with other Police albums.

I remembered this as my least favourite of their albums, and it certainly has some (for me) forgettable tracks - I could certainly live without the title track, and Mother is just a mess. But "Walking In Your Footsteps" is wonderful, as is "King of Pain". Add to that the hits "Every Breath You Take" and "Wrapped Around Your Finger", there is far more to enjoy here than not.

A nice surprise was the old B-Side "Murder By Numbers", which my vinyl copy did not have. This actually sounds far more like contemporary Sting than the rest of the album, although I know it was recorded around the same time as the rest of the album.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)