Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now



on 29 November 2016
Took a punt with the purchase of this album having not heard any of their material before. I was not disappointed. Good old fashioned 1970's rock n roll and definitely a hint of the UK punk sound that followed in 76 - 77
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 March 2016
Love em or hate em...jet boy is a brilliant song of its era and stands test of time
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 August 2017
I was quite surprised as to how annoyingly catchy most of these songs are. Brings back some great memories. Punk/new wave/rock at it`s pinnacle
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 August 2017
All ok on this.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 December 2015
great music holds up today even better than some new stuff .
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 January 2016
long live punk
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 September 2000
Picture the scene - ill in bed with an abcess that confined me to a temporary life under the duvet, I put on the stereo out of desparation, eager to find something that could kick me out of my state. Minutes later, I was out of bed, pouting to the mirror, playing air guitar so vigourously that I ripped my arm out of my socket (well, sprained it anyway), and screeching along with the first verse of Personality Crisis.
A miracle? Well, no. Simply put, the New York Dolls' debut album is the most arrogant, glamourous, rude, cheeky, snarling, potent and above all brilliant rock album ever made. This album has everything, in fact, that a perfect rock album should.
Part Rolling Stones, part Stooges, part charity shop chic, the Dolls took image and music and mashed it together so effortlessly that the whole act seemed natural. Magnificent put-downs (Looking For A Kiss, Trash), arrogance par-excellance - God, they even get their covers to sound like their own (Pills). Johansson's snarl is perfect, Thunders' riffs sound more like a finely trained aural assault unit, and Nolan's drumming thuds along giving the Dolls the best guitar-drums axis ever committed to record.
You want attitude? You got it. You want glamour? You got it. You so desparate to prove the validity of rock 'n' roll as rebellion that you want your favourite bands to cuss old women? Hell, that's there too. If rock ever became a subject at school, well, here's your Shakespeare, boys!
No weak tracks. No substitute. No excuse not to buy it. Why I say I'm in love, you best believe I'm in love L-U-V.
0Comment| 59 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 July 2014
If you like the dolls you'll love this, if you don't you won't!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 December 2016
i saw the dolls on the old grey whistle test and but the album the next day apart from the track frankenstein i loved it .the dolls were about image,attitude and a pure rock and roll heart.i just purchased the cd as my vinyl was worn out .still essential today as it ever was
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 February 2015
Nostalgia at its best.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Customers also viewed these items

Rock 'N Roll
£5.99

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)