Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

  • 2001
  • Customer Reviews

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
210
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 28 November 2005
This ablum has got to be the best album that I own, It has everything an album needs to be a classic. All of the tracks are so different and the production on the album is second to none. I have just attempted to write my favourite track's but decided against it because I would just be writing the whole playlist!!! This album is essential for any Hip-Hop fan. But beware, if you will be offended by VERY bad language and some quite gritty, leaving nothing to the imagination lyrics-this isn't for you!!
11 comment| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 January 2006
this album brilliant, dr dre proving he really is the best producer ever, even though dr dre doesnt write his own lyrics, they are written by everyone on 2001 who is not dr dre, and dr dre only does 2 songs by himself without any guest appearances, the production is what really stands out, every beat is banging, and varied, there are some relaxed beats which u can just listen to, and club beats which get you bouncing, dr dre delivers his trademark g-funk production on this, and even though people think the chronic stands out as dr dres best, i think this is better than the chronic, there are some really good guests on it such as xzibit, eminem, snoop dogg and hitman, and even though the subject matter is noraml rap topics, this is a great album to dance to at any party or club and overall this is a great album any rap fan should get,
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 September 2005
This album is probably one of my favorite rap albums along with doggystyle, the chronic and 2pac greatest hits. The production is top notch and the beats are very catchy. Still dre has a very catchy beat with good lyrics and is to show people that dre is back. if you liked the chronic you will like this. He has also got heaps of great rappers on here such as snoop dogg, nate dogg, eminem, kurupt etc. A+++++++++++++++++++
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 January 2005
After reading some of the reviews of this amazing album, I thought I had to add my 2 cents worth. People seem to be complaining that Dre doesn't appear on the allbum as much as he should, that's because he's a Rap Producer, not Rap Artist. Do these same people ask why Quentin Tarantino desn't appear in more of his movies? Let him do what he does better than most others, from behind the scenes. Other complaints seem to surround Dre not having the same views as he did on Straight Outta Compton or The Chronic, he's moved on since then, The mans a multi millionaire now, how could he still rap about how hard life is for him as a Black American. In my opinion this album is amazing, so many classic tracks, every album has the odd tune that doesn't appeal to all, but in my opinion this is one of the best Rap albums of all time. If you havn't got it yet, what you waiting for.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 August 2005
Dre is back , with one of the best comeback albums ever !After the phenominal success of 'The Chronic ,' Dre must have had a few headaches , pondering over how he could come back with an equally satisfying and great hip hop album and believe me , those headaches were worth it !
This is a classsic album , not quite as classic as the chronic , but any album from Dre featuring the likes of Snoop Dogg , Eminem , Xzibit , Mary J. Blige , Nate Dogg and brilliant , slick and skilled production from Mel Man and Dre himself , with killer rhymes and beats has got to be good right ?
RIGHT !The best , standout songs on this album are the brilliant songs featuring Snoop Dogg which are 'Still D.R.E' , a classic westcoast anthem with a great video to go with it and 'Next Episode' feat a guest appearance from Nate Dogg . This has a very catchy and original beat with tight lyrics from Dre and the Dogg's .
Also , the songs feat Eminem are very good , being 'forgot about Dre' , with its slick , 'G-funk'backing and lyrics fronting haters such as Eezie E .Whats the difference is also good , with a pounding beat sampled by Sean Paul and Blu Cantrells 'breathe.' The most talked about and famous song fromm the album 'xxplosive' certainly lives up to the hype and is a very strong standout song on first listen . Despite its shortness in length , lets get high is brilliant and at times even makes me laugh . The watcher is a very good introductary song as is the 'intro' feat Xzibit which seems oddly 'relevant' and is also funny . 'Bang Bang'is also one of my favourites which fortuneately DOES NOT sample Nancy Sinatras song of the same title . This shows Dre's originality ! The skits are slightly annoying and some unnecessary but are funny and enjoyable on first listen .
Overall this is yet another classic album dropped from Dre and despite the number of guest appearances on EVERY song ,Dredefinly shows his expertise in producing and rhyming which , on the basis of this album alone , show haters like Eezie E ,he is here to stay and is still king of the west coast !
Cant wait for that Detox album !
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 February 2014
I brought this as I was really into hiphop/rap when I was younger. I can honestly say this CD has gotten better with age. I still listen to it in my car with my hood up making gun signs with my hands driving through sussex.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 March 2006
Ok it wasnt as good as the chronic but it was still stunning Still D.R.E. best track!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 March 2013
I bought this for one track in the hope I would like more. I didn't but not too disappointing as the one track I bought the album for is awesome!!!! Would recommend to my Rap loving friends (but they've probably already got it!)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 January 2011
Brilliant beats, lyrics and rappers - this album's got 'em all. Dre's producing is as good as ever, and he proves his worth as a rapper as well. Snoop Dogg and Eminem feature on classics Still D.R.E. and Forgot About Dre. Other good songs are What's The Difference?, Bang Bang and Some L.A. N*****. Overall, well worth the small amount they're chargin for it.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 April 2014
great album
if you like smooth beats and great vocals you will love this cd
this ,like the chronic, is a classic and doesn't fail to impress. some great feature on here
eminem
snoop dogg
xzibit
fast delivery
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)