Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now

Customer reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
13
4.2 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£8.19


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 26 July 2017
A good album with great songs.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 March 2017
Really nice music
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 30 September 2014
Popularly regarded as not one of the Carpenters' best albums (their first) is ironically for me a good one - not least because it includes one of my favourite songs. Though Richard does not have the best voice, for some reason I really like `Your Wonderful Parade'. (it was the B side to `Ticket To Ride') This may have a little to do with the fact it was one of the first songs I heard played shortly after Karen had died, and the fact that when I heard it she's only doing the backing vocals seems she was about to fade away and a bit poignant... However; there are some nice songs on this album - and a few oddities it must be said, but if you're a staunch Carpenters fan like myself, then you'll still need to add this one to your collection. (if you can find it!!)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 30 September 2014
Popularly regarded as not one of the Carpenters' best albums (their first) is ironically for me a good one - not least because it includes one of my favourite songs. Though Richard does not have the best voice, for some reason I really like `Your Wonderful Parade'. (it was the B side to `Ticket To Ride') This may have a little to do with the fact it was one of the first songs I heard played shortly after Karen had died, and the fact that when I heard it she's only doing the backing vocals seems she was about to fade away and a bit poignant... However; there are some nice songs on this album - and a few oddities it must be said, but if you're a staunch Carpenters fan like myself, then you'll still need to add this one to your collection. (if you can find it!!)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 30 September 2014
Popularly regarded as not one of the Carpenters' best albums (their first) is ironically for me a good one - not least because it includes one of my favourite songs. Though Richard does not have the best voice, for some reason I really like `Your Wonderful Parade'. (it was the B side to `Ticket To Ride') This may have a little to do with the fact it was one of the first songs I heard played shortly after Karen had died, and the fact that when I heard it she's only doing the backing vocals seems she was about to fade away and a bit poignant... However; there are some nice songs on this album - and a few oddities it must be said, but if you're a staunch Carpenters fan like myself, then you'll still need to add this one to your collection. (if you can find it!!)
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 February 2001
After the first listen of the album you might be inclined to think that this, the Carpenters first album, is perhaps inferior to the others that followed it. However, bearing in mind that most of the tracks were written by Richard and his great songwriting partner John Bettis while they were still at High School, perhaps shows the talent the duo had at such an early age. Unusually Richard provides lead vocals on a number of tracks, which are enjoyable, however it is Karens subliminal voice that shines through, even at such an early age of 19. Her immaculate phrasing and expressiveness of the mood of the song and the lyrics are, in my opinion, unmatched by any other artist. Take 'Eve' (my favourite track), there are moments of firm strong vocals along with moments of her well known heavenly silkiness. To be able to produce a listening experience of that caliber which appears effortless and flows perfectly is extremely rare. Other highlights are 'All of my life' which expresses the yearning we all must of felt at some point about relationships!, karen has a way of really seeming to put her finger right on how you may of felt, at some point or another. 'Ticket to ride' is the original version and differs slightly to the one heard on the Singles 69-73 album, but is no less enjoyable. 'Don't be afraid' is Karen singing in an upbeat style similar perhaps to 'postman', it shows another side to her immense range. A very appealing if slightly rose tinted song. Karens vocals have a slighlty more gutsy feel to them than on other albums, for example 'Horizon' and 'Kind of Hush', however both styles have certain aspects that make then just as appealing. It may not have been nearly as popular as the following 'Close to you' but Ticket to Ride showcases the 'Offering', (the albums original title), that the carpenters were nurturing. I would only buy this album if you are a major fan, the selections might not appeal quite so much if you are used to the tracks on the various greatest hits albums available, but it does provide more of the uniqueness of the legacy of THAT voice, which was gone all too soon.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Ticket to Ride was originally released in 1969 under the title "Offering" and met with little success due to the fact that the brother and sister duo were little known at the time and probably also the fact that the world and the world of music was going through a period of change.

It came as something of a reverse shock therefore that in the middle of the "underground" movement in music, the struggle for identity, the violence of world events, came a pure pop sound - a fusion of the beautiful voice of Karen Carpenter and the lush arrangements of the very under-rated Richard. This was an embryo Carpenters album - fusing together original compositions by Richard Carpenter and John Bettis along with songs from Chet Powers "Get Together", Lennon and McCartney "Ticket to Ride" and Neil Young "Nowadays Clancy Can't Even Sing.

There are undeniably moments of great beauty, particularly in "Someday" one of the most romantic songs written by Carpenter/Bettis and "Eve". Both will have you singing along. By and large I don't like covers of Beatles' songs when the originals are usually so much better. So it is with Ticket To Ride which has never been my favourite Fab Four song anyway. Richard and Karen do manage to stamp their own identity on the song, however, by turning it into a slow baroque ballad. Overall there is a kind of timelessness about this album and the efforts of the duo to produce harmony at a time of mayhem.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Originally titled Offering, this was the Carpenters' debut album. It yielded a minor American hit, a distinctive cover of Ticket to ride, the Beatles classic. That was the only single released from the album, but while the album didn't sell particularly well at the time, the single nevertheless impressed Herb Alpert, who was just setting up his own record label. He signed the Carpenters to his new label, advised them to record a hitherto-obscure Bacharach-David so0ng titled Close to you, and the rest is history. But was the public right to ignore this debut album, or did it deserve a better fate?

With the exception of Get together (written by Chet Powers), Nowadays Clancy can't even sing (written by Neil Young) and Ticket to ride, Richard Carpenter co-wrote all the songs with John Bettis. Apart from Ticket to ride, I don't think any of the songs were strong enough to be released as singles and obviously neither did the record label, but there are some nice ballads including Someday and All of my life. Richard sings solo on Turn away, showing that he's got a pleasant voice without being particularly distinctive.

While few would pretend that this album is as good as those that followed, it's still worth a listen if you're a committed Carpenters fan.
22 Comments| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 March 2017
VERY POOR CASSETTE, in fact could not hear a thing on it! Sent it back!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 December 2015
Why is this CD so difficult to buy and so expensive? On all the other reasonably priced remastered Carpenters CDs this one appears but in fact is not generally available. I bought an old CD which is dreadful. Help me kill the curiosity, please.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£3.99

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)