Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.1 out of 5 stars
20
3.1 out of 5 stars
Price:£0.95+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 21 September 2009
This is one of those 'old' 80's sci-fi movies with great sets and models.. The story is a bit thin but it is a fun movie..

This dvd of the movie has a anamorphic widescreen (2.35:1) image, and the sound is also good, BUT during the movie there is a few minutes of sound missing (which ofcourse is annoying, and even more annoying since there are no subtitles available, so no idea really what is said during that time)..
But I think when it comes to image and (the rest of the) sound it is the best release available at this time... hopefully someday they will release a bluray version of this wonderfull sci-fi movie...
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 February 2010
I first saw this movie when I was a university student back in 1992. I remember buying it on vhs off Tottenham Court Road. I loved every minute of the movie then....... and 17 years later I still loved every minute. Adventure packed, no costly special effects, but they were done so well by playing with the lighting that the movie doesn't look out of dat at all!!! Difficult to compare with Aliens, but if you leave the hype to one side, they are both in the same league.

Awesome move for a great price!
11 comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 August 2011
Don't be fooled by the Roland Emmerich accreditation, You'll see better special-effects in Gerry Anderson's original `Thunderbirds'. And don't be fooled by Malcolm McDowell's desperation in accepting a lead role, either. This movie is an absolute stinker.

I didn't buy mine from Amazon, but instead the local supermarket bran-tub for just £1. Yet even that was over-priced. The local charity shop got it next day.

Somebody is hijacking valuable shipments of ore from various moons. A trap is set at Moon 44, which is expected to be next in line. Criminals serving lengthy sentences, but who have amazing flying skills, are bailed to ambush the culprits. They hide and wait. McDowell's character knows more than he's saying.

Directing is laughable. Script is sphincter-puckering. The plot has more holes than a block of Emmental. It's filmed almost exclusively in darkness so you can't see the joins. This movie has no other merit than that it comes to an end. Though it really should never have started.

I kid you not; the very worst 1950's/60's SF offerings hold up favourably against this. Decent ones like `When Worlds Collide' could knock it into a cocked hat.

Don't be fooled. Save your money. This dreck sets a new standard in naffness.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 February 2011
I loved this film, low budget 80's sci-fi at its best. Its the dark dirty style of sci-fi like Outland, Alien and Blade Runner, (but cheaper). My copy too had the same audio drop out for a few mins, but it didn't make much difference, as the plot is pretty thin. A very enjoyable film - if you like that sort of thing.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 November 2014
Brilliant intelligent old skool style SciFi, so pleased so see they still make em like this, when there is so much tripe about now.
I can see lots of low scores, perhaps the reviewers in question like guns, flesh eating aliens, stories told a million times, silly plots etc.. This is a great story if you immerse yourself in it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 December 2011
I owned this one for a long time on VHS cassette. And was suprised when it became available on DVD. Not forgetting when it was first screened, not a bad story line and with some good acting and special effects. It is not up to par with Transformers Avitar or the likes, but then dont forget with the later two etc you are watching 70-80% CG's. (computer graphics), green and blue screen background takes etc. For SiFi (science fiction) fans it will be good honest entertainment in the pioneer days of making a movie with absolute minimal use of computers.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 April 2011
Saw this movie for $1 and thought I would give it a go. Should have saved the money! Seriously, the movie sounds like it should be great but the action is lacking, the budget absent, and plot full of holes. I would love to see someone remake this...
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 April 2011
As a science fiction die-hard. I nearly died-hard watching this. I waited by the postbox waiting for this and prayed for the family to go to bed to pop it in the DVD player. I've never watched a film only half-way through (and that's even having got my money's worth at the cinema with 'Joe versus the Volcano').... The stage set is a hybrid of 'Outlander' and 'Aliens' and so is the dialogue, only with b-movie actors and generally made me cringe. I know that this was a low-budget production but maybe with limited money someone could have thought of a semi-original script. All the lighting elements were taken from 'Bladerunner' (the backlit wall fans etc) and I hoped that reading the reviews for this film that I'd be seeing a film equal to the former. So....I'd really just stick with the SF classics in this case.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 August 2012
However cheaply you can buy this, it's not worth it. I thought I might get something a little different to the mainstream SciFi rubbish of today (all CGI and no acting skills) but unfortunately this is exactly that - bad CGI, poor miniatures, a cast where only a couple of people can slightly act (many of the rest don't speak, fortunately). A generic orchestral pompous soundtrack completes the package.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 July 2011
As Amazon have not yet figured out yet that reviews should be product Specific and lump all reviews together regardless of format or issue, this review is for the DVD product with "From the Producer of 10,000BC, Godzilla and Independance Day" in red across the top and "In the Outer Zone you need a friend" in White under the title, released though "boulevard-Entertainment" in 2008 Cat No. BVAR0011.

Firstly this release is NOT anamorphic. It is "Matted" 1.85(ish). Viewing this on a widescreen TV will give you a black bar down each side bringing the picture into 4:3 aspect and *another* black bar across the top and bottom of the picture. This movie was filmed in 35mm Panavision 2.35 What we get here is a 1.85 Transfer cropped into a 4:3 frame.

It is Region 0 PAL and reeks of cheap chinese knock off. The menu is the type you get when you use DVD authoring software on your PC and leave it at default settings. The DVD is blank white, with MOON 44 printed in arial text across the top, and a 15 cert in grey to one side.

This is one of Roland Emmerich ealier films before he went on to film Intependance Day and the Day After Tomorrow, it is a little less accessable to anyone who is not a serious sci-fi fan, but a good movie none the less. Its just a shame that we can't get a proper transfer done that would do justice to the source material.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.