Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
41
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£5.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 31 August 2003
I am forever indebted to Maisie for being enthusiastic enough to sufficiently persuade my subconscience to firstly pick this out of a crowded record store rack and secondly buy it. The short review ends here: it's utterly flawless, buy it now.
Shy and flirtatious, the record is most immediately striking in its peculiar mix of the odd and the impenetrable. Give it time though, and like a friend becoming more open the tunes come out to play in all the sunshine of a pop record. From behind the daunting veneer of E's eclecticism (the record encompasses ska, hip hop and tom waits-style odes to the oddball with seamless cohesion) there emerges, with time, a secret garden of some of the most beautiful music put on record in the last ten years.
On the opening and title tracks E manages to chronicle his sister's suicide with the kind of semi-detached intimacy that steers Sylvia Plath's 'The Bell Jar' away from trite self-pity and into something genuinely harrowing and affecting. It's like watching a car crash - terrible and private in its horror, yet somehow seductive in its explicit beauty. Even at its most desperate, Electro-Shock Blues is as addictive as hell.
The events that would inspire much of the album (The suicide of E's sister and his mother's terminal illness) are perfectly balanced in the closing PS You Rock My World. What can you say about this song? From the very abyss of despair comes a hope like the thread of light from beneath a cell door, a hope that moves to tears, shivers and near nausea. If the previous 40 minutes of Electro Shock Blues are spent emptying your soul to the very last drop, its final three are spent pouring back sweet, hair-on-end affirmation of life itself. Sometimes words are just so inadequate, aren't they?
Still, in between the harrowing and the beautiful is some of the most infectious, contagious music I have ever heard. From the strutting ska of Hospital Food (a thinly disguised rewrite of Squeeze's 'Cool For Cats') to the insane stalling mosh of 'Last Stop: This Town' and the slight, low-key humour of 'Baby Genius' 'Electro-Shock Blues' is an embarrassment of riches. Really, there isn't a duff track on here.
The fact that I am already looking forward tomorrow to throwing my hard-earned student rate cash at the remaining Eels albums is testament enough. You really would struggle to find a more worthy purchase on this entire website.
11 comment| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 April 2005
That "Difficult second album" syndrome, with a twist.
For me, the lyrics and sleeve was intense and moving experience. Listening to the album, you are immersed in the pain, loss, and sadness that E was going through at the time. Interspersed with a few sunny episodes, which intensifies the agony.
Is it a great work of art ? Yes.
Is it pleasant listening ? No. By about track 10 it is a contender for the most depressing album ever.
Should you buy it ? Hmmm. I'd advise most folk to start with Daisies of the Galaxy and then try Beautiful Freak. But this album takes you on a difficult journey. I doubt you'll listen to it all that often but perhaps it deserves a place in your collection.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 May 2003
The other day, I was discussing the Eels with a friend and fellow fan. During the conversation, it came out that, whilst owning all the other Eels records, he had never bought Electro-shock blues. When I asked him why, he explained how he thought that with the album being heavily influenced by the death of E's sister, it would be too depressing for his liking. I initially agreed; it does contain two tracks entitled "Going to you're funeral" after all. But after some thought, I came to see that nothing could be further from the truth.
This is infact a hugely uplifting album. Yes, individually tracks such as "Elizabeth on the bathroom floor" are nothing but harrowing. (E's sister was called Elizabeth by the way) But the album is more about how E came to terms with his sister's death than her death itself, and as such makes for a profound listening experience.
The opening half of the album deals mainly with his grief and anger at what's happened, giving some great musical moments on the way. Then the album turns on the line "You're dead, but the world keeps turning" on Last stop: this town and he becomes more acceptant and reflective about what's happened. But, the main reason why it's such an uplifting album is that it can begin with the line "my life is s**t and p**s", and then end with the line "maybe it's time to live".
Musically, it contains some of E's best work. There is a real diversity of styles, yet all the songs have a distinctive Eels feel about them. There's dissonant Jazz with a Tom Waits feel, accousic lead tracks, and more rocky moments with the odd hip-hop style beat thrown in for good measure! All held together by E's soulful vocal.
My personal Eels favourite, the highlights for me are the lush My Descent Into Madness, the bleak Electro-Shock Blues, the rocky Last Stop: This Town, and the simply beautiful P.S You Rock My World. Highly recommended.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 March 2006
Such a bleak and depressing album. Yet I love listening to it.
Somehow it manages to cheer me up everytime.
I think you need to listen to it a couple of times, but once you get it - you cant stop.
highly recommended.
as are all of his albums.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 October 2003
Wow. There isnt one bad word i can write about this album. From the despair of Elizabeth on the Bathroom floor all the way through to P.S You Rock my World, the album is flawless. It takes you on a journey through the psyche of "E" from the pain of his sisters' suicide (elizabeth), his mothers' cancer (cancer for the cure), living in his fathers' shadow (baby genius). The album is life affirming in the sense it teaches you not to look at life so seriously and by the time P.S You Rock My World comes on with the immortal line "and maybe its time to live" you truly have had a brush with genius. Either that or you have no taste in music. You decide.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 January 2002
Eels are like, well .. nobody really!
Whatis more, this is a very different album from the previous Beautiful Freak. So it's nothing like they have done either. So that makes it "New" in my book.
E's well documented family history is in evidence right from the beginning of what, on first listen appears to be a rather melancholy album. But their are a lot of positives to be found amongst the angst.
"Going to your funeral" may seem a rather depressing title, but what a great track. "Cancer for the Cure" follows it up with a song like no other you have ever heard. But then there is "Last stop this town", "climbing to the moon", "ps you rock my world". This album just gets better and better with each listen.
If you are looking for something bizarre then "Baby Genius" is waiting for you.
It can be a challenging listen but well worth the effort.
The whole albulm can be summed up in the lyrics of the last track
" I was at a funeral when I realised I wanted to spend my life with you"
The juxtaposition of the melancholy and the uplifting is a recurring theme of a great albulm.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 November 2002
Electro-Shock Blues is a pleasant surprise..I was expecting an entire albums worth of bleak, whiny confessional acoustically strummed pieces with the invention and sprightlyness of their debut album all but gone. The beats and rockier moments are still there, but the adversion to the quiet/loud post grunge style has pretty much disappeared...Eels have moved on in this album, which in alot of ways is a good thing as gives the album it's own indivuality without sounding like they are trying too hard to be a different band.There is also a lot more emphasis as expected on more simplistic, reflective pieces..though as I said I was expecting the album to be somewhat even more based in that style.
The harrowing confessional of Elizabeth On The Bathroom Floor sets the bleak tone for the album, but it's a relief to hear that the albums darkness can be put across in different ways such as the throbbing bass of the almost country like structured Going To Your Funeral Part I. Whilst the swirling chaos of Cancer For the Cure and the infectious yet poignant Last Stop: This Town are songs every bit as catchy as the most immediate songs on Beautiful Freak. Explorative songwriting is still shown through the jazz like Hospital Food, the backwards recording tecniques in Efils God and the atmospheric the Medication Is Wearing off, whilst My Descent Into Madness succesfully combines a hip hop beat and a sampled string section without descending into sounding like a tired over produced R&B song.
There are of course plenty of more simplistic moments throughout the album such as the heart-breaking title track, that is so simple and sparse but yet so poignant. Going To Your Funeral Part II is a suitably down-beat instrumental interlude and Climbing to the Moon is one of those songs that does not grab you at first but takes a hold of you with its soulful emotion the more it goes on. And there are more simple confessional types such as 3 Speed and Dead of Winter splattered across the albums 16 tracks.Even though some of these lesser tracks are not exactly classics, they do help solidify what the album is about as Electro-Shock Blues is almost like a concept album, without really pandering to be a concept album.
Beautiful Freak remains Eels best album in terms of an enjoyable set of songs but Electro-Shock Blues is the bands and more to the point E's most important work..it's a window into his mind, and a closure on a dark period of his life. Thankfully E has managed to make this album also an enjoyable but heart-warming/
heart-breaking experience for the listener. Yes the album is down beat both musically and more to the point lyrically, but it rarely descends into being a whiny down paced affair, as the likes of Last Stop: This Town all but prove. (8)
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 January 2015
Seems fitting that 'E' is the son of a quantum physicist- many worlds exist within and without this incredible, heartbreaking record....like being allowed to read the teenage diary of a troubled friend...it's certainly autumnal in it's tone; all faded colours and time for the jacket...."3 Speed" is a suburban American half-dream, and "PS You Rock My World" gives goosebumps...the nightmarish grey walled hospital songs are chilling, but there's hope and a warm humour behind the cold tears....absolutely essential for anyone who has experienced deep loss
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 August 2001
Well where do I start. The eels are my favorite band and this is for one main reason - electro shock blues. Everything about the album is amazing. I love each of the eels's albums but electro shock blues seems to stand out from the other two. The lyrics in particular are amazing and I think frontman "E" deserves a huge amount of respect for writing such amazing songs about what he has been through. My favorite track on the album is "The medication is wearing off" and songs such as "Last stop" and "Elizabeth on the bathroom floor" are also amazing. Many described electro shock blues as being depressing. I strongly disagree and feel in ways it is one of the most positive and uplifting albums ever. I'd recomend this album to anyone who apretiates good music and especially good song writing.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 May 2015
perhaps my least favourite eels album I have brought so far. I do love this band though so although its not my favourite its still pretty great. Obviously due to the nature of the album its much more depressing and a bit more eclectic
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse