Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
67
4.6 out of 5 stars
Baduizm
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£8.99


on 3 July 2017
Amazing sound and quality, Love it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 October 2017
Brilliant forgot how inspiring and meaningful the lyrics are.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 March 2017
Love it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 August 2017
Great album
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 February 2016
One of thee most important neo-soul albums ever from the First Lady Of Neo-Soul. This is what Billie Holiday would sound like had she been living in another era. This album is jazzy, soulful & has elements of electronica, its classy and laid back grooves just make you want more & more.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 August 2008
This album was one of my first tastes of a new genre of music.

I cant recommend this enough, very deep insightful. The tunes kinda flow togther and they are masterfully crafted.

I personaly love to stick this on late at night after a hards days work, get some candles on, turn off the lights and maybe a crafty smoke chill and chat to friends or that special person.

The more you listen the more it grows on you. Its uniqueness is part of its charm and i couldnt imagine anyone not rating this as immense.

Enjoy listneing if you purchase it.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 July 2004
When I bought Baduizm, it was the first time I'd really ventured out of the kind of music that my friends had influenced me into listening to. I read an article about her in Hip-Hop Soul, and thanks to a bit of spare money I impulsively decided to buy her album. I wasn't totally sure what to expect, I'd just heard a lot of positive things about her.
And I was not disappointed. There's something quite magical about Erykah Badu. Her voice alone is enough to soothe the soul, her songs create a feeling of total laid back relaxation. Personal faourites are the blissful, mellow tones of On & On, the strangely uplifting and inspiring Appletree and Certainly, which is a great song to listen to when you've been turned down by a member of the opposite sex and need a little clarity as to why they might have turned you down - you'll see what I mean when your there.
Anyway, Baduizm was enough to turn a regular kid into an open-minded music fan - I'm currently saving up for Who is Jill Scott? and Worldwide Underground so I can explore this music more. Sensational album.
0Comment| 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 November 1999
This is a great, funky cd. Somewhere between jazz and rhythm and blues it has an incredible beat and Erykah's voice is completely unique. It is something between Lauryn Hill, Janet Jackson, and Desiree all rolled into one. Unfortunately, Erykah hasn't come out with anything new for such a long time! If you like the funkier kind of sound, this cd is definitely for you. I particularly like "Next Lifetime" and "4 Leaf Clover". Erykah sings about some real life messages, which is also refreshing to hear. This is certainly a cd worth buying.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 November 2000
Badu's voice is indictive of seeping treacle. It can evoke the most intimate memories while still retaining an unmistakeable individuality. Baduizm holds many gems of vocal expression, such as "four leaf clover" and "other side of the game" and contrasts them with philosophical anecdotes like, "on & on". Badu takes her listeners through a journey rife with ambiguity. The issues of love, money, morals, ambition and loyalty are all expressed with diverging origionality and varying styles of soul and blues. The listener is left soothed, yet awakened by her talents of rhythm and philosophy that are inextricably combined. A beautiful way to deal with the world.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 May 2006
I bought this album some years ago based purely on a short clip of "On & On". I was keen to expand my (admittedly limited) knowledge of modern soul/jazz and felt that Erikah Badu was someone who's music could help to achieve this. Her debut album certainly doesn't disappoint. She manages to combine modern R&B and soul with old school jazz and a hint of blues that is so unique it actually demands attention. Listen to the brief clips on Amazon (a few times if need be) and you'll be hooked too. If you're after a more 'modern' bass sound then check out her second album 'Mama's Gun' - it's just as phenomenal. Her music is also an excellent choice for background music - so much so that guests will almost always break off a conversation to enquire who the artist is.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)