Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 11 April 2017
A good listen, golden oldies that bring back times with fond memories. Timeless quality harmonies.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 June 2017
Excellent.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 July 2012
everyone remembers and loves ''unchained melody'' due to the fim ''ghost'' but this song was a hit many years previous to that. Jimmy Young recorded this, and was a hit for him too, and i do believe, someone one even before Jimmy had a hit, if the hit parade was around in those years! Unchained melody is only one of the songs on here. An easy listening to CD and good for the memories.
review image
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 July 2009
Well worth the money and it was cheap too!!! not all of the best on there but the songs on the cd are great with some old time classics.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 January 2014
These recordings cannot be covered. They are classics that simply can't be sung by anyone else. The songs will be played and played by future generations.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
They weren't related at all, but Bill Medley and Bobby Hatfield made a great combination with their contrasting voices. With Phil Spector as producer, they recorded some classic songs.

You've lost that loving feeling went to number one in both Britain and America. The achievement was particularly creditable in Britain, where Cilla Black's cover version was first to chart and had climbed to number two before the original version overtook it. It is clearly very popular as it made the UK top ten when re-issued in 1969 - and that wasn't the end of its UK chart success.

Unchained melody was a cover of a fifties movie song. It was somewhat less successful at the time. Even without a rival cover, it stalled at 14 in the UK charts - however, its use in Ghost (a 1990 movie) prompted its re-issue as a UK single and this time it made number one. As a follow-up, You've lost that loving feeling was re-issued for the second time, this time making the top three.

Of the other Phil Spector tracks, Just once in my life missed the UK charts but made the American top ten, while Ebb tide was a sizeable American hit but only a minor UK hit.

The professional relationship between the Righteous Brothers and Phil Spector was difficult so they didn't stay with Phil Spector very long. As things turned out, they provided Phil with his last major success in America, although he had one more big hit in Britain when River deep mountain high in 1966, performed by Ike and Tina Turner, made the UK top three. After the split, the Righteous Brothers had an American number one hit (it also made the UK top twenty) with You're my soul and inspiration, but soon ran out of hits.

This compilation is rather short but it contains all the essentials.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 January 2014
heard a track on Radio 2 last year as a result I researched their music as they did bring out a lot of tracks from the late 60's onwards I chose this as it seemed to have the best of their collection.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 September 2013
All their best Known tracks plus a few lesser known songs in a good value for money CD outing. Particularly like "You're My Soul And Inspiration".
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 December 2013
Perfect Album!

I fully recommend it!

The buyer is also perfect! I have bought from him many thngs without any problem.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 September 2013
Purchased this for my father in law who said it is the best compilation he has heard of these artists. Would recommend as good price too.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£0.99
£8.39
£9.99

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)