Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
31
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£7.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 30 May 2001
While their later albums concentrated more on the folk/rock/jazz elements of their music, this grand first effort can be seen as Traffic's 'Sgt Pepper'. A masterpiece of atmosphere, songwriting and psychedelia (without succumbing to the excesses of bands such as Pink Floyd), every track strikes true. 'Heaven Is In Your Mind' and 'Dear Mr Fantasy' are expansive rock showcases for Steve Winwood's many talents, Dave Mason's 'House For Everyone' and 'Stupidly Simple' are Beatle-style toytown psych at its best (check out the inventive "music box" opening of the former) - not to mention Cockney Singalong 'Berkshire Poppies', featuring The Small Faces' Steve Marriott; soulful ballad 'No Face No Name No Number'; and cheery jazz instrumental 'Giving To You'.
Along with 'Sgt Pepper', 'Ogdens Nutgone Flake' and 'Village Green Preservation Society', this is one of the seminal albums of psychedelic England.
0Comment| 33 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 February 2015
This is the Island Masters version and I prefer the sound on it to the later remastered version that I also own (that has more bass, but sounds less natural IMO. Though I keep it for the bonus tracks.) If you want a great version of this criminally underrated album at a steal, then go for this. 1967 was (I'm sure many would agree) a remarkable year for albums and why this doesn't get talked about, I really can't understand. Most people say this and John Barleycorn Must Die are the best Traffic albums and I totally agree; very addictive stuff from my favourite band of the moment.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 7 September 2003
'Dear Mr Fantasy' was a product of Steve Winwood's desire to distance himself from the hype of the pop scene and make a serious 'ROCK' record instead of the hip singles that he had been churning out with Spencer Davis and the angst of Dave Mason's desire for hit records ( only Mason wanted 'Hole in My Shoe' released as the groups second single the others opting for the more solid rock feel of 'Coloured Rain' ) .
With three hit singles under their belt, 'Paper Sun', 'Hole In My Shoe' & 'Here we go round the Mulberry Bush', the tensions within the band over direction and control proved too much and Manson left before the LP's release in December 1967.
'Dear Mr Fantasy' is a sucsess in spite of the waring factions as the varied material makes for interesting listening.
'Heaven Is In Your Mind', the beautiful 'No Face, No Name, No Number', 'Dear Mr Fantasy' (much loved by the Grateful Dead & Stephen Stills) and 'Coloured Rain' show the promise of a great rock band while the whimsy and pychedelic trappings of 'Berkshire Poppies'(with a little help from Steve Marriott), 'House For Everyone', the caustic mesage of 'Utterly Simple', fairground grind of 'Hope I Never Find Me There' and the multi layered pop march of 'Giving To You' showed a perfect grasp of the pop ethic.
Its such a shame that they couldn't see it that way at the time.
22 comments| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 March 2011
As an impressionable 14 year old in 1967 I was simply blown away by this album. To this day No Face, No Name and No Number and Dear Mr Fantasy remain two of the tracks I would have on my desert island disc. To understand that Steve Winwood was just 19 years old when this was recorded is extraordinary when you hear the depth and clarity of his voice.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 August 2014
Superb debut album from Traffic featuring the original 4 piece line-up of Stevie Winwood, Jim Capaldi, Chris Wood and Dave Mason. Strong running order with the likes of 'Heaven Is In My Mind', Dear Mr. Fantasy, 'Desire', 'Coloured Rain' and the lovely 'No Face, No Name, No Number' all worthy of mention here. Buy this and follow-up releases 'Traffic' and 'John Barleycorn Must Die' and treat yourself to the sound of one of Britain's best bands of the period 1967-1970.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 July 2009
In a few short words... a cracking debut album, and mono is the only way to hear this album. I originally owned the mono vinyl and that was getting a little battle-worn through decades of playing. I recently sold it to a collector and used part of the proceeds to replace it with this marvellous Japanese mono CD issue. Go and find one (it is also housed in a replica cover to the original vinyl, real nice).
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 September 2013
This Album was after all at the time a bit of fun but I think by default it turned into a work of art.

"No Face ,No Name ,No Number" is an excellent track IMHO.

"Dear Mr Fantasy" is another gem, nothing not to like about this, get it and dive into yesterday in the room of percussion.

Actually that's from the group Kaleidoscope which is much in the same vein of Psychedelia, a chef that likes music!.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 April 2006
One of the greatest albums ever made for sure. Beware! The remastering here is a travesty. Look for the original UK vinyl, beautifully produced by Jimmy Miller which sounds so much better and has a beautiful sleeve. This great band were so full of colour, promise, finesse and inspiration in the sixties!
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 January 2010
Superb album from a great 60's Super Group. I liked Stevie Winwood when he was in the Spencer Dabies Group. Then I went to see Here we go Round the Mulberry Bush and heard the title song and I was hooked on Traffic.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 February 2016
This first album from Traffic displays the group's many-faceted brilliance, resulting from the creative tension between the airily psychedelic Dave Mason and the earthily bluesy Steve Winwood, with whom the rest of the band tended to side. All the same, Mason's contributions, while they dated sooner, rode the Sixties wave with commercial astuteness: his sitar embellishments on 'Paper Sun' caught the Indian zeitgeist to ensure a Top Ten hit for their first single; while his 'Hole In My Shoe', despite being disliked by his band-mates, provided their biggest hit, narrowly missing No. 1 in the UK. This expanded edition contains both tracks - and a lot more, much of it down to the soulful Winwood, who sounds much wiser than his nineteen years. What really comes over with Traffic, though, is that they were a GROUP: whether Capaldi's drums, Wood's flute, Winwood's organ or Mason's guitar, their musical economy is hard to beat, and should have been the envy of their rivals. Sophisticated jazz-tinged psych-rock that doesn't sell out, and for me this album is as charming and fresh as I'm sure I would have found it in 1967, had I been old enough to listen back then. (The only demurral is that I prefer the sung intro to 'Giving To You' on the American mono album to the spoken one on the British stereo one - but luckily, here we have both.)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse