Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
66
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£8.99


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 6 September 2017
Wonderful CD, soft, smooth and relaxing latin music - just beautiful. If music can be described as elegant, then elegant this music is.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 December 2015
One of my all time favourites. I have this on vinyl and recently purchased the Sacd version, which is very good indeed - 2 chan stereo.
My Sacd version arrived and it contains 2 Sacd cd's, both exactly the same recordings. Odd. Anyone else had 2 discs?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 August 2017
Great cd, good price, quick delivery.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 September 2017
good album received with thanks
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 April 2017
Boy, how much do I love this album. The very best of bossa nova jazz, transporting you to sunny shores.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 September 2017
Great sound - great mood!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 March 2011
Recently got into Jazz and researched a lot of the albums I bought. Getz/Gilberto kept cropping up and I was not sure, even when I started buying Stan Getz albums. I purchased Jazz Samba by Charlie Byrd and Stan Getz which I loved so progressed to Getz/Gilberto and was delighted with the purchase.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 25 October 2008
Antonio Carlos Jobim goes down with Lennon/McCartney, Gershwin, Amstrong as one of the most influential songwriter/stylists of the 20th century.

To judge the album on its own merits is one thing. Getz turns in small but perfectly formed solos. Astrid Gilberto's voice is ravishing, complementing husband Joao's voice with that incredibly restrained vulnerability that is the essence of Bossa. It is an album of incredible tenderness and instrospection. The studio atmosphere is very intimate with an almost homespun quality. For me its a five star album in its own right.

However, this album has a far larger significance, in the way that Sargeant Pepper did. It changed everything and set off ripples that are still reverberating today.

Each of these songs have been covered thousands of times by thousands of artists and continue to be a top staple for jazz as its played all over the world. They have spilled over from jazz into other mediums. They introduced the wider world to the music of Brazil. Arguably the earlier Getz/Byrd, album put Brazil on the wider musical map but it was this album that exposed it in all its exotic glory.

Brazil is a land in which there are as many genres of music as there are in the rest of the world put together. The influence of Jobim and Bossa and their quintessence as captured in these songs, on this album, continues to be a point of departure and return for any number of musical offshoots in their home country, and beyond, to this very day.

From a musicological point of view the impact of this album is unprecedented. There is no other album which has so vividly alerted such a huge proportion of the world to what was going on in a previously little known lesser part of the world, the repercussions of which are still playing out, with vivacity and freshness, almost fifty years later.
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 October 2000
This is simply one of the best musical works of the sixties and years ahead. The poetry is unique, a blend of portuguese, african and american life. Deserves an huge constellation, not only five stars.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 September 2010
What a story, and what an album. Dragged into the studio to record her first vocals/song, Astrid, wife of the Gilberto in the title, produces one of jazz...no, music's...all time great performances. THE Bossa Nova song & album. Fantastic recording & beautiful, sensitive remastering.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)