Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
38
4.6 out of 5 stars
New Forms
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£3.39


on 26 April 2017
this is very good, and by far the best of his work
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 April 2017
Tunes for those in the know
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 October 2017
Classic 1997 album which was the epitome of the start of Drum n Bass, a stand out must have album from this era. You didn't have to like Drum n Bass to like this, the album is excellent and in a class of it's own.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 June 2017
Still great after 20 years.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 December 2013
Soulful edgy and purposeful. This has all the marks of great Bristol production. Up tempo and direct drum and bass with deep basslines and soulful lyrics. It has a fresh confident feel of Top D&B and deserves to be in every collection. Only Roni Size could knock out this baby like a wack from Tyson it delivers full thrust. It will be a badass cd for any party of intelligent d&b fans.

Well produced, effective and uniquely Bristol
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 December 2014
I bought this recently used n it arrived very quickly & in brand new condition. Thanks zoverstocks. As for the cd... firstly I should mention that I am an avid basshead having dropped hiphop as quickly as I picked it up in 95 when I first head congonatty's junglistic man...from there I fell in love with jungle until the metal drums & bpm's increased to create drum & bass... recently having something of a look back & trying to fill a few gaps in the collection led me to get this for the track brown paper bag alone.. so I get it put it on & the first track railing comes hurtling out of the blocks & blows me away...promises of funky warps, slick lyrics & creative breaks really had me all excited thinking the rest would be more of the same...I know roni won critical acclaim topped off with a mercury music for this album but it honestly doesnt fit the bill for me... brown paper bag isnt the version I know n love (has no lyrics) which is wierd & the rest are an assortment of overthought tracks... too much percussion & not enough weight in either the vocals or basslines leave me a little disappointed still, cracking first track though
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 July 2000
I got this album at the age of 11 (three years ago), and ever since I've been recommending it to people. It totally deserved the mercury award 97 and roni has lved up to the standard of music which flows from his (and my) hometown, Bristol BUY IT NOW to experience the amazing sounds and breakbeats of Roni and Reprazent.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 March 2007
As the first track declares: 'Yes, something of a different pace!' I can't say I enjoy all the songs on the album. The chord structure and vocals on 'Share the Fall' and 'Watching Windows' could be stronger, and 'Mad Cat' is two songs: one that is horrible and difficult to listen to overlaid onto a wonderful drum beat. But forget all that, the other songs are inventive and fantastic and 'Destination' is probably one of the greatest songs in any genre. I listen to the Hospital Records podcast and unfortunately modern drum and bass has not been able to surpass this tour de force, moving too far away from the original instruments. Again, as the second line of 'Railing' says: 'Fresh, into 97 make haste'. 1997 was a good year for music.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 April 2001
There are certain albums that, whether you like the genre or not, you have to have in your collection. Colours, by Adam F in one such album...New Forms, is another. Unmistakably Roni Size, this album has something for everybody, and I've yet to meet someone who doesn't like at least 1 track on the album, such is the diversity of the production. Stop reading this and click the Buy it now button. UNLESS that is, you can track down, and affod, the Americain Import version. A double CD version that is, quite simply, beyond comparisson.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 August 2002
Roni Size took off in a big way after the release of this album. I remmeber hearing "Brown Paper Bag" for the first time and thinking drum and bass shouldn't sound this good. People have over played the jazz element on this album. It is very jazzy, in places and when it needs to be, but it is also soulfull and funky.
To often drum and bass albums go off in one direction. Even other classic records such as Bukem's logical progression have similar a sound to them and as good as the tracks are, they lack variety. What Represents managed to do so well was develope a proper album and not a compilation. The opening onslaught of Railing energetically flows into Brown Paper Bag, Hero's is more soulfull and chilled and tracks like Morse Code follow, Adam F's style, a fuller bassy route. The real stand out track is "Share The fall" it fuzes jazz funk into drum and bass in away no other producer has ever managed, it rumbles and drips out of the speakers. If you ever get a chance to see the live set Roni and co did on Latter with Jules Holland, check the version of Share The Fall. Like many other of the legendary drum and bass producers Roni's recent stuff has been a little disappointing but fear not this album is good enough to last a life time.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

Brown Paper Bag
£0.99
In The Mode
£6.99

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)