Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
141
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£5.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 24 May 2009
Concensus of opinion is that 'Solid Air' is John Martyn's best album and having delivered deluxe editions of 'Grace and Danger' and 'One World' it is a natural move to issue a deluxe edition of 'Solid Air'.

I think that many artists legacy are detrimentally treated by poorly put together releases but John has been very lucky to have John Hillarby to look after his legacy, and he did a particulary good job on 'Ain't No Saint' and with this deluxe edition he has repeated his great achievement by adding a great set of studio outtakes and live performances that provide a great understanding of John's musical ability and his great live performances.

CD 1 is basically the remastered album from 1973 but the goldmine for John's fans is CD 2 which has 12 alternate takes, all unreleased,three live cuts 'Easy Blues',' May You Never' and 'I'd Rather Be The Devil (Devil Got My Woman) and the original vinyl single release of 'May You Never'.

Rather than repeating some of the other deluxe editions in having multiple versions of the same tracks, Hillarby has put together the 'Solid Air' album using alternate versions which could just as easily have been a succesful album on its own, and every track is very different from the originally released version, though John's great musicianship and vocals are evident throughout this alternate version of the album.

In my opinion this deluxe version has been put together with great thought and its a quality product and its well worthwhile buying, even if you have the original album. It is a fitting tribute to the artist who sadly passed away in January 2009 and is probably the best deluxe John Martyn release.
0Comment| 45 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 January 2001
from first hearing this majestic album at an old friends house on a late saturday night i have been truly knocked out by its beauty, the album starts off with solid air, a pure smooth, laid back "smoking" tune and gets you in the mood for whats to come, the chill out feel is defintly in the air, you can even smell the peat roasting in the fire. this album is for those who truly understand and appreciate a fantastic album. this should go down as one of the best albums of all time. this album will truly knock you out, even if you have never heard of john martyn before buy this album and it will change your life!
0Comment| 47 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 12 April 2005
Solid Air is over thirty years old. I've heard a lot of music since, but it still sounds almost perfect. As it is an unlikely fusion of folk and free-form jazz, it must be something special to have been a success in the first place. There are beautifully crafted songs married to exquisite musicianship and Martyn's smoky delivery and ground-breaking guitar work. This experimentation leads to a constant tension that suffuses the album. The mood swings from dark and brooding to loving and hopeful. But more than anything else about the album is the magic of having the right people in the right place at the right time to make something that cannot be beaten. This is very possibly the greatest album ever recorded. Sit down with a glass of wine, switch off the phone and let it all wash over you.
0Comment| 73 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 August 2004
I am a convert to John Martyn as a result of seeing the recent documentary aired on BBC2. This album is simply superb, the music is well produced, the performances are excellent, and the songs are simply beautiful. This is also highly original; its quite unlike anything else in my music collection; highly recommended.
0Comment| 42 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 24 May 2004
No accident that this album and two of the songs on it are up there with the favourites voted for by the great man's fans on his website! His musical appeal remains elusive - impossible to pin down to any genre, but at times quite hypnotic and entrancing in its beauty. The folk roots are evident, but Martyn weaves layers of jazz, blues, country, rock and pop fluently within his music.
The jazzy flavour is exploited superbly in the title track, a dreamy, evocative number and dripping in slinky vibes, sumptuous sax chords and slurred, smoky vocals. That description doesn't do the song justice - it's a masterpiece worthy of comparison with Van Morrison's Moondance, for example.
The quality of Solid Air (the song) runs through Solid Air (the album) like a coal seam. The mood shifts, including amiable numbers like May You Never and an aggressive live rendition of I'd Rather Be The Devil that completes the album with aplomb, but the sound remains subtly eliptical throughout, retaining its freshness 30 years on.
An album worthy of any collection. Magnificent!
0Comment| 37 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 May 2006
I first heard this album at boarding school back in the Seventies and it has stayed in my collection ever since. It is one of the few recordings that I have owned in three formats: vinyl, cassette and CD. A highly evocative collection of music, Solid Air encourages gentle introspection and reflection, and brings back bittersweet memories of days long past. Martyn's amazing voice floats around you like a fat lazy bee on a summer afternoon, his guitar a perfect foil to Danny Thompson's fluid bass that slithers through the mix like a psychedelic snake. I used to think the title track was about heroin, but I understand now that it is a tribute to the late, great Nick Drake. A more fitting one I could not possible imagine. If you do not already own this album, make sure that it is on your list the next time you go record shopping. Unhesitatingly recommended!
0Comment| 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Beloved by fans and constantly rediscovered by the listening public - John Martyn's 7th album for the mighty Island Records in 1972 - the lovely and ethereal "Solid Air" - was always going to be a candidate for the 2CD DELUXE EDITION. But few of us could have hoped that this 2009 2-Disc overhaul would turn out to be 'this' good. I'm blown away - I really am. Let’s go down easy on the details...

Released May 2009 – "Solid Air: Deluxe Edition" by JOHN MARTYN is on Universal/Island 531 793-3 (Barcode 6007531799338) and melts into the following…

Disc 1 (34:49 minutes):
1. Solid Air
2. Over The Hill
3. Don’t Want To Know
4. I'd Rather Be The Devil
5. Go Down Easy [Side 2]
6. Dreams By The Sea
7. May You Never
8. The Man In The Station
9. The Easy Blues/Gentle Blues
Tracks 1 to 9 are the LP "Solid Air" issued 1 February 1973 on Island ILPS 9226 in the UK and Island SW-9325 in the USA (it didn't chart in either country). It was recorded in November and December of 1972 and engineered by JOHN WOOD. The original album had a gatefold sleeve and a famously designed 'hand through air' shot on the front cover by FABIO NICOLI. The gatefold digipak here recreates this artwork inside and out, has 'palm-tree' label CDs to reflect the original LP design and a 20-page booklet with passionate, informative and detailed liner notes by noted experts and friends JOHN HILLARBY and DARYL EASLEA. The booklet also features trade adverts, the master tapes box, lyrics to the songs, session details - it's superbly done. But the real fireworks lie in the beautiful audio transfer of the album on Disc 1 - and I'm thrilled to say - the staggering quality of the ‘Extras’ on Disc 2...

Disc 2 (80:22 minutes):
Tracks 1 to 9 are fully formed 'alternate' takes of all 9 of the album tracks
Tracks 10 to 12 are 3 brand-new out-takes from the album sessions - "Keep On", "When It's Dark" and "In The Evening"
Track 13 is the 1st version of "May You Never" issued as 7" single in the UK on Island WIP 6116 in November 1971 - it's an entirely different version to the 'acoustic take' released on the "Solid Air" album (the song was famously covered by Eric Clapton on his "Slowhand" album of 1977). The 1971 single mix contains a full band with keyboards by John "Rabbit" Bundrick and guitar work by Paul Kossoff of Free
Tracks 14 to 16 are Live Versions of "The Easy Blues", "May You Never" and "I'd Rather Be The Devil" (no venue details are supplied)

PASCHAL BYRNE at Audio Archiving in London has handled the 24-bit digital remaster and he's done a stunning job. Every track sounds alive, warm and in your face - but in a good way. Highlights include the truly gorgeous "Over The Hill" which has Richard Thompson and Simon Nicol of Fairport Convention playing an absolute blinder on Mandolin and Autoharp (respectively) - and every time - and I mean every time - it wells up a tear in my eye. Now it suddenly sounds huge with Byrne's remaster having brought its beauty out - a genuine wow if ever there was one.

While others love it - I've never liked his echo-plexed version of Skip James blues tune "Devil Got My Woman" which he renamed "I'd Rather Be The Devil". But if you do like it - you're in for a treat, because it sounds absolutely enormous here - I just always felt is was kind of out of place in a largely folky setting. There is hiss at the beginning of Side 2's lovely opener "Go Down Easy", but Byrne's smartly not tried to process it out of the transfer - the result is that Danny Thompson's double-bass sounds like he is standing in the corner of your room. Tony Cox's fantastic sax work on the funky "Dreams By The Sea" is complimented by John "Rabbit" Bundrick's fabulous keyboard work - again astonishingly clear. The final three tracks still sound years ahead of their ambient time - and the remaster is beautiful too...

After the joy of Disc 1, I'd expected Disc 2 to be a let down - it isn't. The 'Alternate' takes are all lovely and something you'll play again rather that treat them as a curio you hear once – and never touch again. And as if that’s not enough - then you're hit with a genuine sensation - 3 Session out-takes never heard before - one of which is a showstopper - the eight and a half minute acoustic bliss of "When It's Dark". I played it in the shop the other day and two Euro customers came to the counter within minutes asking after the new "Nick Drake" recording! Fans will wonder how this peach has remained in the vaults all these years.

So there you have it - a great album beautifully transferred and extra tracks that actually deserve the word 'bonus'. I've enjoyed some superb issues in the Deluxe Edition series in the last few years (Whiskeytown's "Strangers Almanac", "Tighten Up" Volumes 1 and 2 and Free's "Fire And Water" - see reviews) - but this is something really special.

Buy it with confidence - and Rest in Peace you great big gorgeous Scottish beauty...
44 comments| 29 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 21 September 2006
I can honestly say that this is my all time number one album (probably). I saw John a few times in the 70's and occasionally through the 80's and 90's. I own all his official albums and a few more besides (beware the number of weird small label re-issues which turn out to be a repackage of earlier releases).

I have treasured his records as LPs and CDs (when the LPs were worn out or out-moded). There are some albums I have played over and over again - especially one world and sundays child, but it is solid air that I always come back to.

This is a unique album, by a huge talent. He has some very loyal fans (like me I guess) and his pretty constant touring has brought new generations to his music. Overall though I think that John's rather mercurial nature and idiosyncratic approach to the music business have kept him out of the main spot light - and his art has probably been the better for it. I have never met him in person but his music is part of me. If you only buy one JM album probably make it the island anthology 'Sweet Little Mysteries'- which covers great chucks of his best early albums. If you then get a taste, get solid air next - experience it as a whole. Turn it up loud to get you moving, or soft and low for that late night John experience. Absolutely recommended.

PS make sure you have got some decent speakers to experience the awesome Danny Thompson bass on the title track- worth the price of this re-master alone!
0Comment| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 December 2000
I first heard John Martyn when "Sweet Little Mystery" came out in the early eighties (no relation to the awful stuff by Wet Wet Wet thank God) but at the time I was two young to appreciate it. Now that I've reached man's estate it's time to re-evaluate my tastes and I have to say that Solid Air is a aural treat from start to finish.
Recorded in 1973 Solid Air is like very few records you've heard before. The style is jazzy and folky - Martyn has a bass player who supplies some sublime licks to the whole proceedings, but it is a songwriter that Martyn's talents are seen to be outstanding. Songs like "Don't Want to Know" and "Over the Hill" are superb, the Nick Drake inspired title track sublime and "May You Never" positively anthemic.
Go out and buy this record. The re-release has additional liner notes and lyrics, and a bonus track of a live version of "I'd Rather be the Devil." All for less than eight quid - a bargain at any price.
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 June 2009
Solid Air, Deluxe Edition. My God! I've been buying through Amazon for many years, but this is the first time I've ever been motivated to write a review. The standard of aural craftsmanship on this remastered recording is, not to put too fine a point on it, on par with the musical craftsmanship of the artist who's work is being re-presented here - The Master would certainly have been very happy with what I've just heard. It sounds absolutely fantastic. Suffice to say, if I believed that any CD being sold in a version billed as "remastered" meant improvement to this degree (though it never has, even remotely, prior to this one), then I would have to get a bank loan and replace my entire CD collection. There! Enthusiastic rant over! Buy this absolute gem!
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£7.99

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)