Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
44
4.5 out of 5 stars
The Collection
Format: MP3 Download|Change


on 25 June 2017
TOP BARGAIN --- CLASSIC ROCK GROUP --- Great stuff!
Usually I would be recommending the purchase of a full original album, as in this case would be JOHN BARLEYCORN MUST DIE, but given the fact that you can pick up this remarkable compilation for less than 50p at the Amazon Marketplace I have to direct you instead to the purchase of this low-cost beauty!
True, you miss out on one of the three truly classic tracks on JBMD, that is Glad, but here you get a full compilation of 17 hits, so.........
CLASSIC ROCK at its best, with hints of Prog and Folk.
If you want a complete overview of Stevie Winwood you might prefer to buy TRAFFIC GOLD, which includes Glad, and many other classic songs in a double CD, but of course it will cost you more money.
TOP RATED compilation from TRAFFIC, championing Classic Rock of the best quality.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 August 2014
Decent 17 track compilation which covers the period of the band's existence from 1967 to 1974 and includes the likes of 'Coloured Rain', 'Dear Mr. Fantasy', 'Freedom Rider' and the lovely acoustic song 'John Barleycorn (Must Die)'. Good introduction to one of Britain's most interesting British bands; hopefully, the listener will be attracted to the superb back catalogue from the band as a result including their first 3 albums 'Mr. Fantasy', 'Traffic' and 'John Barleycorn Must Die'.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 May 2017
great value, speedy delivery, husband well pleased. Would recommend.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 April 2017
Fine band
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 April 2017
great band
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
#1 HALL OF FAMETOP 100 REVIEWERon 7 April 2005
After Steve Winwood left the Spencer Davis Group, he formed Traffic, a group that recorded several fine albums between 1967 and 1975 There was a brief disbandment, during which period Steve joined Blind Faith. The original Traffic albums generally sound more cohesive than any compilations, but everybody has to begin somewhere. A compilation allows you to identify which of the original albums is likely to appeal most to you.
Traffic had three top ten hits and one minor hit in the UK although they made little impact on the American singles charts. Their music is somewhat different from the Spencer Davis Group, which was a British R+B band. While R+B is one of the ingredients of Traffic's music, there is also some rock, jazz, psychedelia and traditional folk in the mix.
As far as the UK hits are concerned, Paper sun made the top five, Hole in my shoe made number two, Here we go round the mulberry bush (from the similarly-titled movie) made the top ten and their chart history ends with the minor hit, No face no name no number. Of these songs, a cover of Hole in my shoe (recorded for charity) made number two in the eighties, thus matching Traffic's original achievement.
Those hits are all here, together with some interesting album tracks, among them the title tracks to three of their albums (Dear Mr Fantasy, John Barleycorn must die, Low spark of high-heeled boys).
Buy this to get a feel for what Traffic is all about, but if you really enjoy at least some of the tracks, identify the albums which your favorite tracks originally appeared, then buy them. Their original albums were Mr Fantasy (1967), Traffic (1968), Last exit (1969 - recorded just before their temporary disbandment and it shows), John Barleycorn must die (1970), Welcome to the canteen (1971), Low spark of high-heeled boys (1971), Shoot out at the fantasy factory (1972), On the road (1973) and When the eagle flies (1974).
This compilation serves as a great introduction to Traffic's music but can't do them full justice. Only the original albums (except Last exit) can do that.
0Comment| 48 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 June 2004
I sneaked this one out of my dads collection while secretly indulging in a session of musical psychadelia, which I always mocked him for listening to over the years... Snigger. Anyway I am only just discovering the immense talent that these groups really did have back in the 60's and I found this album to be absolutely amazing! Good music like this does not really exist anymore and these grooves pricked up my ears. The minute it graced my speakers I knew I loved this band. I have never heard any of the other albums that make up this compilation but I would definately recommend this disc to anyone with an interest in good old fashioned, well orchestrated rock. Sweet discovery, will have to raid some more of this stuff when my old pa aint around hehe
0Comment| 36 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 March 2012
Although there are better sounding Stereo-Mixes from original-label Island/Universal (Paper Sun, Hole in my shoe) you`ll find only Mono-Mixes on this CD. If you prefer better sounding songs you should buy original-Island/Universal-CD Traffic/Gold (originals digital remastered).
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 September 2011
It is a nice cd. But I could see that I better had bought John Barleycorn and Mr. Fantasy. These 2 albums are outstanding.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 July 2010
i am quite pleased with this product considering the price i paid for this item,the song titles i were looking for are all on this collection and that makes it all the more a bargain,the tracks im not keen on i just skip,the 8 tracks i wanted are worth the price i paid for this,anyone with a serious interest in late 60s rock wont go wrong purchasing this collection.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)