Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
75
4.7 out of 5 stars
Blue Is The Colour
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£3.99


on 6 May 2014
'The South's' 5th studio album is quite a dark affair but, overall, this is another highly enjoyable audio workout from Heaton and Co. The highlights are, for me, the 'big' singles 'Don't Marry Her', 'Rotterdam' and 'Blackbird On The Wire' with the gorgeous non-single 'Have Fun' being perhaps my favourite track on this collection - gorgeous vocal interplay between Jacqui Abbott and Paul Heaton. The only track that I do find rather grating (especially vocally) is the tortuous and overlong 'Liar's Bar' - a surprise choice for a single and no great surprise that it failed to reach the Top 40. Worth buying this album (at a reasonable price) if you missed it the first time around.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 May 2017
All the songs on this except one I found suited my taste. Would definitely recommend this CD for easy listening.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 April 2017
brilliant
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 July 2017
brill cd
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 June 2017
Ok
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 August 2017
Excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 May 2017
Nice sound
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 October 2017
good album
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 October 2017
Very happy with my purchase.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 21 May 2015
1996's 'Blue is the Colour' was the first album I purchased by indie pop/rock band The Beautiful South, purely on the strength of the two big hits 'Don't Marry Her' (presented here as the expletive version, not the single) and 'Rotterdam (Or Anywhere)', both long term favourites of mine. Although these tracks are the two best known, they most certainly don't represent all of the highlights here.

My two favourite songs are the quirky 'Little Blue' and the wonderfully mellow 'The Sound Of North America', followed by the impressive 'Liars' Bar', reflecting in the lyrics Paul Heaton's fondness for a drink and the time, and the beautiful 'Blackbird On The Wire', which is without doubt one of the band's best ever ballads. The hits are great of course, but the real gems lay hidden.

Hauntingly beautifully, often dark in themes (there are songs here that are about alcoholism, prostitution, and being alone), 'Blue is the Colour' is a first class album of alternative rock music, often with a breezy, folky feel. It represents the excellent singing and song writing talents of Paul Heaton and Dave Hemingway, both former members of The Housemartins, as well as the band's then new female vocalist Jacqui Abbott, who has a very appealing voice. If you only intend to initially by one studio album by these talented musicians, I do think that this is the one to go for. It certainly helped turn me into a big fan.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)