Learn more Download now Shop now Pre-order now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
37
Pornography
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£7.92


on 19 January 2018
I really enjoyed this record, I found this album pretty dark and this is one of the cure's goth album in my opinion. I thoroughly enjoyed this long player the tracks were atmospheric, and the record cover is pretty eerie and claustrophobic. 'The Hanging Garden' the only single taken from this album is sinister. This is an essential listening.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 May 2017
Just amazing very dark vibe to it just lovely and on vinyl lovely cheers amazon you really made my day!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 August 2017
Brilliant album for any fan of the Cure!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 December 2017
good album
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 July 2017
This is what I call music
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 November 2017
Great purchase and great service, delivered on time just as promised.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 November 2017
All fine.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 May 2005
Of all their many incarnations, this is truly the Cure at their darkest, most severe and most haunting. Anyone who has ever heard The Cure will appreciate Robert Smith's lyrical genius, but this album is so full of lost and found words of love and death and hopelessness. The cold dead beat of Lol Tolhurst's drum draws us into One Hundred Years, accompanied by Simon Gallup's pulsing base, as Robert Smith sings deathly lullabyes of loss and of parting to his wailing guitar; it is theme that is carried through such classics as The Hanging Garden and Siamese Twins (with Tolhurst's ghastly pagan drum beat and Smith's beckoning voice, always to the rhythm of Gallup's insistent and enduring base), and (a personal favourite) A Strange Day. This album came at the begining of the "Goth" movement and helped pave the road toward the rising darkness; their legend became fact and that fact is now their lecacy. This album is so powerful that its effect is sill felt in later masterworks, such as Disintegration, Bloodflowers and their most recent, self titled, release. Robert Smith's talent as a lyricist/poet is shown at its very best as the Three Imaginary Boys stake their claim on the future of music. As well as being a classic album in it's own right, Pornography was also the death of innocence and their Coming Of Age.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 August 2006
For a long time I have been very curious about The Cure, but listening to there greatest hits I could never really tell what there actual sound was, some songs are fun (lovecats), some songs are dark (charlotte sometimes), so... rather than doing the conventional thing of buying the greatest hits, I decided to buy a random album, and I chose Pornography... on the first listen I was confused, because the album flows with a similar sound all the way through (pounding drums, more bass than actual guitar), One Hundred Years became my favourite cure song ever on the first listen, with the opening lyrics "It doesn't matter if we all die" and for some reason my favourite line ever "waiting for the deathblow".

It's only after about 15 listens when I realised how dark this album actually is, and how great the songs are, and this made me like it even more. I found "The Hanging Garden" a bit of an odd song to pick as a single, but after about 10 listens it becomes addictive, especially with the lyrics "cover my face as the animals die". I definitely think that they should have put "charlotte sometimes" on this album, not only because it's one of my favourite cure songs, but it was released a few before this album and remained albumless until recently (placed at the end of the 2nd disc of Faith).

This album obviously says something about Robert Smiths mentality at the time of this album, possibly suicidal.

I love this album so much, but I'm too scared to check out the rest of The Cures albums because I love this dark, brooding sound, and from what I've heard this is the last album which is in this style (apart from disintergration and the 3rd of the trilogy). Oh well, if every album was the same then they wouldn't be interesting.

I recommend this album to any one who has an open mind, and is willing to give this album a chance, by listening to it a few times, because the more you listen to it the more you like it, and the more meaning it gains.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 February 2004
I can remember clearly going out to buy this on LP when I was 18 (im now 38 !) and it still sounds fantastic. This album has some of the best sureal lyrics and amazing textures. The Figurehead has been in my all time top 10 tracks and Hanging Gargen & Strange Day are nothing short of stunning. The versions of these tracks on the live "Paris" CD are dare I say amost better than here.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse