Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
8
4.4 out of 5 stars
5 star
4
4 star
3
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 20 April 2016
Don has surrounded himself with excellent musicians on this album and his vocals are really on form. George Lynch no longer features on guitar and, while I love George's playing, I really don't miss him here. Instead we have 2 excellent guitarists - Billy White and John Norum - Billy White is my favourite of the two I think.

Highlights of the album are the truly excellent 'Give it Up' - easily my favourite and this, with my second favourite 'The Hunger' had me rushing out to buy (well actually order online) this album far sooner than I would normally. I normally listen to something quite a while on YouTube before forking out the dosh but these two tracks left me so hyper one nightshift at work I knew I needed to get this album or go mad!

So, why have I awarded the album only 4 stars? Well I found a couple of the tracks quite pedestrian and often feel like skipping them. The tracks in question are: Stay (I find this very plodding and quite boring) and 'Living A Lie' - this isn't pedestrian but I can't really get into it and generally switch off when it's on.

The rest of the album is good throughout. Taking the tracks in order:

Crash 'n' Burn - superbly upbeat with great musicianship, very catchy chorus and interesting lyrics.
1000 Miles Away - another favourite of mine - just really beautiful vocals along with some excellent guitar work.
When Some Nights - a good track but doesn't stand out like many of the others.
Forever - truly beautiful, especially the guitarwork and especially towards the end.
Living A Lie - already mentioned.
When Love Finds a Fool - I'm not normally very emotional but I really felt this one - possibly the most heart-rending ballad ever? Beautifully sung...
Give It Up - just excellent. The lyrics at the start are funny too and whichever guitarist starts off, a superb intro! Best rocker on the album along with The Hunger.
Mirror Mirror - one of the singles released - pretty commercial but nice enough and quite rocky. I prefer to watch the vid for this though!
Stay - to me, boring and the guitars seem to have a slightly Japanese influence which personally turns me off.
Down in Flames - slightly weird intro but the guitar work when the track gets going is superb right from the start.
The Hunger - just superb. Fantastic intro from both guitarists and extremely rocky and upbeat.

Give it a few listens on YouTube first and then go out and buy it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 June 2007
This record does lack some of the raw power of Dokken's earlier work, but that isn't to say that it doesn't rock, and 'The Hunger' is up there with 'Till The Livin End'. It sounds like Dokken, but a more mature Dokken, which is a very good thing. The song writing is far superior to that on earlier Dokken CDs, where exceptional cuts were mixed with average material. Not one dud here. That is what really makes this CD; consistently excellent songs. The production is also very good, the best of all the Dokken CDs, every instrument is clear and well balanced. The guitar work, while in general not as raw, is stunning. Brilliant riffs and solos just keep on coming throughout the record. Billy White and John Norum do a very good job of bringing their own signatures, whilst keeping the Dokken vibe. These two can shred with Lynch, but arguably they both write better constructed solos. My only gripe is that the opening riff to Crash and Burn is one of the best I've ever heard, and it disappears after the intro. Still if that's all I can find to complain about... I have all of Dokken's 80s work, and this is probably the best.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 January 2014
Dokken were one of those big US 80's rock bands that sold mega units in the States but went completely under the radar on these shores (see also Ratt, White Lion). Whilst arguably more musically gifted and certainly a better band than the likes of Motley Crue and Poison, they perhaps weren't deemed as marketable to a UK audience and so went largely unknown. Which is a shame as their back catalogue is strong and their career high Back for the Attack (1987) is one of the best albums in the genre. Anyway, not long after that was released the band imploded (due principally to irresolvable tensions between lead singer Don Dokken and guitarist George Lynch) and Dokken and Lynch both undertook solo projects. Dokken's reputation allowed him to assemble a top notch cast of musicians: John Norum (Europe) as one half of a stellar guitar duo, Accept's Peter Baltes on bass and a drummer (Mikkey Dee) who would go on to enjoy a lengthy career with Motorhead. They were joined by a comparatively unknown `kid' from Texas called Billy White who Dokken had heard some tapes of which had by all accounts `blown him away'. White completed the guitar line up.

There was a lot of competition between Dokken and Lynch back in the day and they would both have been eager to make the better record. Listening to the first two tracks here, you would say Lynch wins hands down (without even having listened to his effort) as they are instantly forgettable: none of the catchy melodies and sculpted production that you'd associate with a `Dokken' album. Then something happens, and that something is the third track When Some Nights. It's as if you're transported to a hot West Coast summer's day, driving along the interstate with the soft top down. It's White's guitar which grabs you, with its rich, melodic, controlled aggression and that nagging threat to take a life of its own. Whatever Lynch might've come up with, it can't match this. Then the album gets going and you have a string of tracks which would not look out of place in a Dokken `best of'. The singles Mirror, Mirror and Stay were canny picks and Forever and Living a Lie are epic album tracks. The sound of hearing the multi-millionaire Don Dokken's selfish, quasi anti-war cries on Give It Up was a little too much to bear but it's excused by the wonderfully overblown (and equally self-indulgent) When Love Finds A Fool. White and Norum produce the kind of guitar work here which you simply don't hear these days. There's a bit of filler at the end but all in all this is an impressive album. A must for any fan of 80s Dokken.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 August 2009
...Don does well, mainly not to stumble without Lynch, Pilson and Brown. The more-than-capable Norum fills Lynch's mammoth gap, if not exactly effortlessly. Whilst slightly lacking in the shredding department, Dokken does on this release what he does best- churns out great melodies. That's not to say this is a Dokken 'The band'-style classic; it is a rehash of the old formula to an extent, and doesn't deviate from the Dokken template (Dysfunctional's reunion of sorts is a more apt progression). However, this grower sure has some fist-pumping belters, notably 1000 Miles, When Some Nights, Mirror Mirror, and the excellent Living A Lie. A great slice of hard-rocking cheese.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 March 2013
Our son is Dokken mad and i must admit there are a few nice ones on there- he loves this CD if you a fan its worth it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 March 2016
don`s album he made with john norum....nothing more to say. awesum voice, guitar to die for & songs that rock!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 October 2005
Don Dokken obviously decided it was time to put out a solo album riding on the bands success. There is nothing really bad on this album but nothing outstanding either. It opens with Crash 'n Burn, a good intro but fails to keep the momentum up. John Norum's guitar work is ok but again it sounds like he's just going through the motions. Most of the songs ( as usual ) are to do with 'love' lost or found or holding on to it. There is nothing here to compare with Kiss of Death or Into the Fire, if he was trying to get away from the Dokken sound, he didn't,it's just an inferior version. Good in it's own right as a solo album but could have been so much better.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 August 2015
A good solo album with excellent guests such as Norum and Hughes
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)