Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars
8
4.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
3
4 star
2
3 star
3
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£5.99


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 25 April 2017
It's ok but you have to really be into his music. I like the odd track so that's why I can only give 3 stars.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 November 2002
I truly wish this had been released as the original album. The only song not improved by the remixing here is "Gravy Train" which for me was the standout track of "Music of the Spheres." F.E.A.R. is possibly the best thing I've heard UNKLE do since "Be There" and that is saying something. "Northern Lights" actually sounds like song now rather than a disemboweled chanted mantra despite starting worryingly like the appalling 808 State remix of "Made of Stone." But just wait... "Forever and A Day" has a backwards section to rival "Full Fathom Five" and "Don't Stop"... then when things seemed to have peaked your hit with what has to be the best thing any of the ex-Stone Roses have done to date... "Shadow of A Saint" was good on the parent album but here it is insanely good. This is a stormer of track that goes from Brown's trademark electronic sound of now into a classic guitar riff (stolen from "Getting High" off the Golden Greats ablum) that adds the urgency and edge to take the man back up into the stratosphere where he belongs. You hear this and remember why people saying Ian Brown cannot sing can be shurgged off with a glance that says... it's just more important than that.
Okay so the instrumental versions are a bit of a con... but do sound good and I'm sure there are DJ's out there who will make good use of it (it'd be interesting to hear "The Streets" get hold of "F.E.A.R", all lush strings, bongos and reverse loops and deep dub bass).
The live version of "El Mundo Pequeno" is a sweet touch and enjoyable rather than great while new live track "Cokane In My Brain" sounds storming with two-tone ska revivalists getting smacked about by a scratch pervert while the King of Cool gives another anti-hymn to the false God of Columbia. It's only let down by being the only thing as raw on the whole album as it as recorded live in Nuremburg... maybe it coulda been served better as a last hidden track but it makes you think the Coral aren't quite as obscure as the NME would have you beieve which has to be a good thing.
All in all the first record to blow my hair back in ages and Ian Brown's best work to date (especially with the addition of My Star 2002, and Superstar though why, why include the dreary Hear no See No Speak no.?).
Let us all rejoice.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 August 2015
SOME NICE REMIXES HERE! A nice find for me. Heard some lovely tunes from Mr Brown and from Unkle so couldn't go wrong here. In fact some of these remixes surpass the original versions (i think) some others don't. If you know of Ian Brown and are wondering whether to get this, think of a unqiue aged indie voice layered with trippy beats. I would say just get it as It is always nice to have alternate versions of his music, also you may digg Unkle. I liked their first album most and you will find that type of sound here but a little more chilled at times. Alongside the likes of DJ Shadow and Nightmares on Wax you have yourself a similar kind of sound. Touches of anarchy and twistedness here that will serve you perfectly in your hazed post-night-out states. It's amazing to me that this was made in 2002 as it sounds fresh now and, I was properly naive back then with Ian Brown releases so it's nice to have this now.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 November 2002
Wasn't sure what to expect from this remix album, but as 'Music
OTS' was my fave Ian Brown solo album so far, I decided to give it a try. It starts with 5 fantastics remixes of some of the best tracks from 'Music OTS'. Then a 'new song', which was a previous B-side and is great. My Star 2002 gives new life to probably Brown's best song. 'Hear No' is the 'full' version, and it finally makes sense (unlike the Music OTS' version...)
Then the quality slips a bit, 3 instrumentals in the final 5 tracks... a version of El Mundo which is very similar to the original version, and a scratch track lasting less than 2 mins.
Overall, its a great CD if you liked 'Music OTS', and worth buying, but it could have been better, two of the best tracks
(Whispers, Bubbles) from Music OTS are missing, while other tracks (FEAR, Gravy Train) get two showings.
But, if Brown were to remix his other solo albums, I think I would buy them as well.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 September 2003
Ian Browns latest effort is a remix of his previous album "Music of the Spheres", at first look, it seems little more than a kind of mid way break/ time killer i.e. killing more time until the release of his next album, to keep the punters happy. But the album dose have some high points, its best probably being the Unkle remix of F.E.A.R, which is an up tempo/rehash of the original, but sorry James Levelle, its not a patch on the original! However, unlike many of Ian Browns previous albums, the remix CD actually flows along really nicely, and you may find yourself playing it more than the original, as it seems to offer greater depth and musical scope. But essentially it’s really only for the hard nose Ian Brown fan. If this is going to be your first Brown experience I would go for anyone of his other albums, as this is his weakest album to date, although, as I say, it’s still pretty good. Bring on the next album though Mr. Brown! What would be a good idea though would be a complete album/collaboration between Ian Brown and Unkle, weather it be remixes or originals!!!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 August 2013
Really good remixes here. Worth having it even if you have listened to Music of the Spheres a hundred times. It's a reinvention with additional tracks. Love it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 January 2016
Brilliant album
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 July 2004
Better than the original. It is remixed for people with new ideas and new hopes. It is justified in this changing world to have a variety in the music style.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)