Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
56
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£3.99


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 23 August 2015
This is classic rough and ready PJ at her best. You are either gonna love this or hate it. If you have had a bad day/week or year then bung this on and kick a chair over. If everything is cool and rosey in your life then your wasting your time with this, go and buy some Justin Bieber.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 May 2001
Even though I've had this album for over six years, I had to take this opportunity to try to express how amazing it is. It would be easy to dismiss this album as 'angry chick rock,' but what a mistake that would be! Yes, this album is about relationships with men... about passion and longing and desire and pain and obsession, in almost every context, expressed in so many different ways, from the sublime to the down-and-dirty. The genius of the album lies in its cohesiveness. It is one of those rare works that must be listened to from beginning to end. Rather than a collection of songs, it is an experience that must be heard to be believed.
0Comment| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 May 2017
Very good, a recommendation that was correct!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 April 2017
My daughter loved this album .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 April 2017
Dark and bluesy. Great stuff
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 March 2017
Excellent. ... my dirty little secret
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 May 2017
Very fast service and fantastic music!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 March 2017
Good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 April 2017
Everything arrived, great packaging
thank you.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 23 April 2004
I can count on the fingers of one hand the albums I own (some 2000) where I like every single track. This is one of them. Polly Harvey's finest hour as a musician / performer and a deeply intense and disturbing listen, shot through with a wonderfully black humour.

The sheer sonic rush of the three-piece Dry and Rid of Me is banished in favour of a much more eclectic mixture of styles, blending some meanacing organs with flamenco and acoustic blues guitars, upon which Polly could weave her vocal magic. And how. She growls, howls, hisses, moans, shrieks, thunders and begs her way through this collection, alternating from lost, crushed girl to potential killer to seductive predator to banshee, frequently within the same song. Like most of Polly's work, it borders on being a concept album, and is all the better for it.

High quality musicianship is evidenced throughout. The greatest compliment you can provide is to say there is nothing to complain about; you don't notice anything wrong, ero, it's excellent. Doesn't happen often that. Production is generally good, though there's some compression. Nothing too bad though, and it's clearly been mixed for a slightly 'dark' sound. There are no stand out tracks, given that they all belong in place, but it contains some of her most famous pieces; Down by the Water, Send His Love to Me, Long Snake Moan and C'mon Billy are all there and ready to suck you in. You can practically see Polly's wry smile in many places; she's a gifted wordsmith, and deliberately ambivalent with her stories.

Enjoy.
0Comment| 27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£7.99

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)