Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
115
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£3.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 27 March 2001
I must admit that I am a huge taxas fan so this review is a little bit biased. All the tracks on this album are songs you just want to hear over and over again, there is nothing that isn't good. If you listen to the lyrics (and since Sharleen sings so clearly, it's easy to do so) you will have to agree that they are outstanding and original and not a single one is mushy. There are songs on this album for everyone, wether you are a motown fan, a pop lover or more into rocky songs. The three new tracks on the album, In Demand, Inner Smile and Guitar Song are a great promise for the future and prove that Texas still know how to make cutting edge and great songs. My only massge to all you out there is buy this record, enjoy it and if you get a chance to go to a concert of their's, do so cos it's an experience you'll never forget. I would also like to add that the limited edition includes some fab remixes and clips.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 February 2001
It's hard to believe that Texas have been around for ten years, but this album contains ten years of music from the most successful Scottish band of the nineties. This no.1 album, accompanied by, to date, two singles and a sold-out UK tour, was one of the best and most underrated album of 2000.
It's hard to pick out one track for special praise, but Halo is Texas at their bestand I Don't Want A Lover still sounds as good now as it did twelve years ago. The album also contains current singles In Demand and Inner Smile, as well as the anthemic Say What You Want, the Blondie-esque Summer Son and the gorgeous So In Love With You.
The Greatest Hits is a seriously classy record which probably deserved more recognition than it got.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 30 September 2006
Fronted by Sharleen Spiteri, Texas were formed in Glasgow in 1986 by Johnny McElhone. McElhone was no stranger to the UK charts, having previously played bass with Hipsway and Altered Images.

Texas' Greatest Hits collection contains 18 tracks and looks back over the band's releases between 1989 and 2000. The album's first track, "I Don't Want A Lover", was the band's first hit. It features a distinctively catchy slide guitar riff and is still one of my favourite songs by the band. The second track, however, was one of the songs recorded especially for this album; "In Demand" is a mellow affair that charted well on its release in the UK and is one that I just can't help liking. However, it's another of the 'new' recordings - the lazily titled "Guitar Song" - that makes it as my favourite song on the album. Featuring a sample of Serge Gainsbourg and Jane Birkin's hit "Je T'aime...Moi Non Plus", it's catchy, laid back and relaxing. (It also has me reaching for the repeat button quite a bit).

The hits from "White on Blonde" are obviously included - "Black Eyed Boy", "Insane", "Halo" and "Say What You Want" were the songs that saw the band return to the charts after a long absence. ("Black Eyed Boy" - which, I am reliably informed, had distinct Motown influences - was my favourite of the four). The CD also finishes off with a remixed version of "Say What You Want", which features Method Man from the Wu-Tang Clan. For me, it's the album's only real weakness - the original version is much better and the remix wouldn't be a reliable introduction to the band.

Three songs from "The Hush" - the album that followed "White on Blonde" - are also included. They also charted well, though I prefer the chime-tastic "Summer Son" and "When We Are Together" to "In Our Lifetime". Three songs from their third album, "Rick's Road", have also been included. However, for some reason, the excellent "So Called Friend", "So In Love With You" and the Al Green cover "Tired of Being Alone" have all been re-recorded for this release. I was a little disappointed that nothing at all from their second album, "Mother's Heaven", made the cut.

Still, if you've liked anything at all the band has released, this is an album you should pick up. Recommended.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 July 2013
I gave this the full five stars because the album came in pristine condition and had all the songs on it that I wanted, which included 'inner smile,' 'black eyed boy' and many other really good tracks. I think this is probably the best of the albums and a must have if you like the band Texas.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 June 2001
Texas have been around for quite some time and this album covers the wide range of both musical and vocal talents encompassed in the band. A must have for your collection. From the soulful 'Put your arms around me'through the recent 'Inner smile' to the old favorite 'I don't want a lover' there is something for everyone. Every body has a favorite Texas song. BUY IT>
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 October 2000
I suspect this is "too early" a greatest hits release (look at The Pretenders for example - they recently released a second greatest hits with nearly the same songs again !) because Texas still have 2 or 3 more albums in them at least. Unlike some Texas fans, I've been following them since 1989 and their Southside album (which *is* their best album to date, though "White on Blonde" is a close second). Amazon.co.uk's own review is way, way wide of the mark about claiming that older tracks haven't worn well - the ones quoted are actually amongst the strongest in the entire Texas catalogue (I've auto-repeated "Everyday Now" to death and "So In Love With You" from "Rick's Road" is a fantastic ballad). "So Called Friend" was so good that Ellen DeGeneres featured it as the theme tune for her "Ellen" series ! I'll tell you what's missing from the greatest hits CD - "You Gave Me Love" (the best studio non-album track Texas have ever recorded - from the "In My Heart" UK CD single) and the live version of "Why Believe In You" (from CD single 2 of "So In Love With You") which is arguably the best Texas track available anywhere. It's disappointing that amazon.co.uk don't have a listing for the limited edition (2-CD) version of this because that's the one any self-respecting Texas fan will want to buy of course. One final note - if the Eurythmics took the crown of the best UK pop band of the 1980's, then Texas succeeded them for the 1990's equivalent. Texas haven't been touched in the UK pop arena for a decade now for sheer consistently good songs and albums - you cannot name another UK band that comes remotely close to them.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 April 2015
Great classics at a great price! I personally go for the MP3 or digital versions nowadays and sometimes I include the CD version with it if the price is right! Most importantly, unlimited MP3 storage on Amazon Cloud if one buys the MP3s directly from Amazon's website! It is absolutely fantastic if one never wants to lose one's music library ever again! Go to one's Amazon Cloud to listen to one's music directly or download it anywhere anytime on any device! That beats ripping one's CDs collection on one's computer as it is a lot faster and only takes a few clicks of the mouse instead of inserting each CD in one's drive! I do the same for my photos as I also have unlimited storage on Amazon Cloud! I upload some important documents too as Amazon gives an extra 5 GB free to do as one wishes! Of course one should make a backup of one's PC on a separate hard drive!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 April 2001
This is just a fantastic album. I was impressed with "The Hush" album, but this has really hit the nail on the head with their greatest hits. This album also cleverly combines some new material which is not normally seen on a hits compilation to the extent at which Texas dared to go. Each and everyone of the new songs I feel is worthy of being included. The album contains lots of the old favorites as well. There is one word that comes off the top of my head - Masterful. Well worth a listen or 1000!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 October 2000
Although already exsisting since 1986 the massive success of the Glaswegian band Texas just started in 1997, with the release of the hit single Say What You Want and the album White On Blonde. So people - for they only know the band's more recent hits - might be surprised seeing the band already releasing a Greatest Hits album. However the songs from the early years, such as their debut hit I Don't Want A lover or the songs Everyday Now and So Called Friend which can be found on the album are in no way inferior to hits like Black Eyed Boy, Halo or Summer Son. Thus by getting the Greatest Hits album you will be able to follow Texas's musical development from a country- and blues-based guitar rock to a fine and catchy pop with partly soul influences, and at the same time you get a fine selection of musical pearls which is accomplished by three new songs such as In Demand, the current single, Inner Smile, a more up-beat song which will become the next single, and a song simply called Guitar Song. Texas's Greatest Hits is a must for Texas fans and for demanding lovers of fine and best quality pop!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 March 2005
In spite of Sharleen Spiteri's gamine sex appeal and an impressive back catalogue of instantly recognisable tunes, true pop greatness eludes Texas. Maybe it's because every track sounds vaguely like you've heard it before, but sung by somebody else. TLC echoes in In Our Lifetime, and isn't that the chorus from a Grease song sneaking into When We Are Together?
Opening with the bluesy I Don't Want A Lover, this best-of CD underlines the fact that Texas never really did deliver the down-and-dirty stuff they promised on their first two albums. In later years, they have left the dingy Glasgow cellar bars behind in favour of a distinctly radio-friendly sound. Still, Spiteri's voice is tangy and sweet like brown sugar, and works a treat on lush tracks like Summer's Son and Inner Smile. Most of the album offers the sort of sunshiney music you want to play in a car on your way to the coast, punctuated by a couple of slower and altogether drowsier tracks. If you're looking for a musical pick-me-up, these Scottish cowboys could be just what you need.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)