Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Playlist - Acoustic Christmas Shop now Shop now



on 12 November 2017
Her ‘commercial’ offering, but I really like it. Some great music here. If you quite like P J but find her a bit ‘arty’ this is a good place to start.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 February 2004
First of all, the New York influence and Patti Smith comparison has been much overstated by now; PJ Harvey has repeatedly said that Smith has never musically inspired her and that the vocal likeness is coincidental. That out of the way, I must now heartily endorse Stories From the City, Stories From the Sea – a truly great rock album and one of my personal favourites of all time.
This LP marks a major musical progression for Ms. Harvey. Like her early albums, these songs are built around the three-piece band dynamic of guitar, drums and bass; but this time around she adds lush layers of melody and reverb by bringing subtle shades of keyboard, E-Bow, accordion and harpsichord into the mix. The resulting sound is rich, graceful, tuneful and quite unlike anything she’s done before.
Big Exit kicks off the album in glorious, psychedelic, hard-rocking style. It opens with a wall of bellowing loudspeaker vocals, clattering Led Zeppelin drums and staccato electric guitars before melting into a swooning chorus of “Baby baby ain’t it true/I’m immortal when I’m with you”. The second song Good Fortune is a joyous, romantic, violent Bonnie and Clyde fantasy in which she dreams of going on the run and living a dangerous gypsy existence with her lover. It soon becomes clear that she is celebrating a new type of romantic love and positive energy on this record. Having covered darker territory throughout her career, she enjoys playing with Beatlesque guitar pop and delicate orchestration on songs like A Place Called Home, One Line, This Mess We’re In and the ethereal closer We Float. These are soaring, poignant songs of hurt and hope. Beautiful Feeling and Horses in My Dreams are unplugged ballads of raw, stark beauty. In contrast, at least five songs (Big Exit, The Whores Hustle and the Hustlers Whore, Kamikaze, This Is Love and bonus track This Wicked Tongue) are as tough, fierce and hard-rocking as anything off Dry or Rid of Me.
Stories From the City, Stories From the Sea won the Mercury Music Prize, two Grammy nominations, two BRIT nominations, appeared on numerous album-of-the-year polls and prompted Q magazine to vote PJ Harvey the greatest female rock star of all time. For all the critical praise, it met an unusual reaction from some longtime fans. Grumpy doom-and-gloom miserabilists who favoured her darker early work seemed to cynically begrudge Harvey her new-found happiness on this record, and indie snobs felt put out that their “dirty little secret” was now being enjoyed by a wider audience. This has happened to every great rock act who has dared to edge from underground cult worship to mainstream success, from Pixies and Sonic Youth to White Stripes or Queens of the Stone Age. She certainly hasn’t gone soft by any means. The fiery spirit, emotional intensity and musical passion are all still there; the heart beats stronger than ever before.
This magnificent album demands to be heard by as many people as possible.
0Comment| 44 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 24 October 2000
After the comparatively low-key "Is This Desire?" and "To Bring You My Love" Polly Harvey has returned to the sound of "Rid of Me" and "Dry" with devsatating effect. This is her strongest set of songs for years and she sounds more confident than ever.
The songs were written in New York and Dorset and are consistently strong. This time around there are no dabblings with tape effects such as the slowed-down "Katherine" which appeared on "Is This Desire?", instead the songs are straighter than ever, mainly up-tempo, always good.
Thom Yorke appears on three tracks (backing vocals on two, and lead vocals on the stunning "This Mess We're In") which is rather appropriate as this has just replaced Radiohead's "Kid A" as my current favourite album of the year. Excellent stuff from start to finish. If you're already a fan you'll love this; if you're not it might just convert you.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 October 2017
This is in my top 10 favourite albums. I love PJ.... always have always will. She is one of the greatest artists ever, this album in particular is an all time classic, it also has NO filler, it's one of the few albums where every track is superb. Turn up kamikaze, sit back and revel in one of the finest songs ever......
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 August 2010
If you're new to PJ Harvey then this is the perfect albumn to start off with. Its the most accessable by far of all her albumns, which is not meant either as a praise nor as a negative.
This albumn is often described as more pop then her others, which is somewhat true but should not be a put off for any of the more heavy fans. And anyway it's Polly Jean Harvey, you cant exactly get further away from pop!
For any Thom Yorke fans 'This mess we're in' has Thom singing lead whilst Polly sings and voices over in perfect biting harmony. And thom is also featured both with back up vocals and piano peices in both 'One Line' and 'Beautiful Feeling.'
'This is Love' will probably be one of the ones you've heard before as one of Harvey's more famous works, but this is no means the only standout of the albumn. If im being truly honest i would say that not a single song on this album is redundant.
Polly jean shows she hasnt lost that raw, animalistic edge in such songs like 'this wicked tongue' 'big exit' 'kamikaze' 'this is love' these prove just how perfect polly and a guitar is together. and with peircing lyrics expressed with polly's insane range of chilling highs and just pure awesome lows.
For those who like it softer, but no less great, listen to 'One Line' 'We Float' 'Good furtune'
This is a perfect start point to journey into the depths of polly jean. I say to Rolling Stone who said "the best album of her career" hell no PJ Harvey has a load more to offer, so check out her other albumns; 'Is This Desire?' and 'White Chalk' Trust me you will not be dissapointed. As PJ Harvey says herself she wanted something of 'absolute beauty. I want this album to sing and fly and be full of reverb and lush layers of melody.' -She got it right.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 June 2016
For me, PJ's best album. A bit more commercial perhaps than the rest of her output, but also a bit more expansive sound and, for me, so much the better for it
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 August 2004
I bought this album about two years after i had heard "Good Fortune". I put off buying the whole album because for some i reason i had it in my head that i wouldn't like it. Im usually a fan of more electronic music, and i thought this might be a bit to rocky for me...however i was very wrong.
It is rocky, but it is one of my most favourite CDS. There is a song for every mood in here from "This is love" which will make you want to jump around and scream your head off in true rock style, to "We Float" an absolutely beauticul track, very uplifting...
I reckon if you like music you should buy this, i doubt it will let you down.
I'm actually going to put it on right now...
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 6 September 2007
Before listening to this album, I had heard her other album, TO BRING YOU MY LOVE. That album was intensely dark, really quite disturbing in places. STORIES FROM THE CITY, STORIES FROM THE SEA is quite a change to this dark side of Harvey. Although she is still able to pack a few punches, STORIES is defintiely more accessible than TO BRING YOU MY LOVE.

Love finally seems to be something that can be celebrated, as well as being the bringer of intense pain. In "One Line", Harvey describes such a hopeful love relationship, describing how a connection between two loving hearts may be able to keep the two people safe in todays warring world.
"This is Love" is an incredibly catchy song that also sings about the joys of love (with just a bit of lust thrown in for good measure). It reminds me of a honeymoon period for relationships, where you can't get enough of the other person, and all you want to do is have physical contact with them.

As another reviewer has suggetsed, if you are new to PJ's work, this may be the best place to start. It is a fantastic rock album, providing a different side to PJ. Even when she seems to be celebrating the good points of love and relationships, there is an undoubtable amount of emotion and rawness to make sure that PJ's ture essence of herself remains withing her music.
A great album - recommended.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 September 2001
Despite lukewarm critical reviews, I warmed to this album. I have not stopped playing it since getting it last December. I had forgotten how great PJ Harvey is...
This is one of those albums that you just end up playing all the time. It is also a return to form, after the slightly patchy 'Is This Desire?'(which is hard work to listen to. Tho' any record that features 'The Sky Lit Up' can't be anywhere close to average).
The early sound of 'Dry' & 'Rid of Me' is recalled on tracks such as 'Big Exit', 'Kamikaze' & 'This Wicked Tongue'. Though sonically this is much better- with the return of Rob Ellis & Birthday Party/Bad Seed/ awesome musician, Mick Harvey.
'Horses in My Dreams' evokes Patti Smith, imagine a blend of 'Birdland' & early tracks like 'Hair'& the demo of 'Legs'. 'The Whores Hustle...' is closer to the sound of 'To Bring You My Love'; while 'You Said Something' sounds like that album's 'The Dancer' backed by REM (not far from the 3rd Liz Phair album).
'Good Fortune' is the catchy signature tune of the album: "talking about time travel & the meaning of it all". The follow-up singles, 'A Place Called Home' & 'This is Love' both possess moments where they just turn into something transcendent. Polly Harvey is one of those fantastic vocalists- her blues are worlds...
Thom Yorke pops up on a few tracks, he is in the background for the morose ballads 'One Line' & 'Beautiful Feeling' (the latter close to 'Is This Desire?' & 'Hardly Wait'). Yorke's duet with Polly is great- better than her duets with Bjork, Nick Cave & Tricky (tho' possibly not Mark Linkous). The key track- & best song of this century so far- is 'We Float'. This song takes Polly's water-obssession to previously uncharted Jungian depths (see 'Water', 'Ectasy','Down By The Water', 'Angelene'). It is notable 'Dry' collaborater Head returns to work on this track. It sounds like an excerpt from a soundtrack- with Polly encapsulating existence as she knows it over the top. She sounds great with just a guitar; she sounds greater with the massive background to 'We Float'. The lyrics are fantastic, definite & unsure- capturing the philosphy of the future in a manner close to Samuel Beckett: "I can't go on. Go on": "This is kind of about you/This is Kind of about me...But one day we'll float/Take Life as it Comes"...
This is true soul music. Great also to see the continued presence of photographer Maria Mochnacz. The only question now is where for PJ Harvey next? (she was rather splendid in Hal Hartley's 'The Book of Life'). Until then, we'll float..................................
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 May 2006
The Mercury music prize winning album "Stories From The City,Stories From The Sea" is one of the best progressive rock albums since i can remember now i have to say my rock knowledge isn't the greatest but i know enough to know that this is a classic.PJ Harvey in the early 90's followed the footsteps of Marianne Faithfull & Patti Smith and brought the feminist image and told the world that women can do rock too!
It starts off with the rather up-beat jingley "Big Exit" probably about paranoia on some level it's one of my favourite PJ songs so far and she sings it with such raw passion.
"Good Fortune" which was one of the singles lifted from the album is one of the most commercial sounding songs of her career it's a good song although not as good as the rest "A Place Called Home" which is my favourite on the album it's such an enchanting song in a dark sorta way, her voice is very raspy on this one and thats one reason why i love it so, again a more commercial sound from her usual underground style.
"One Line" & Beautiful Feeling" are more mellower tracks the latter a nice chilled out love song which keeps at the same tempo all the way through as opposed to "One Line" where it picks up and gets quite hard but still keeping a still mellow vibe.
One of the highlights is the duet with Thom Yorke of Radiohead on "The Mess We're In" a utter masterpiece they both sound fantastic together i think PJ sounds really beautiful on this one.
"This Is Love" is a cool jumpy rock song reminds me of the Yeah Yeah Yeahs (PJ is probably one of Karen O's inspirations)
and enjoyable song the only song that dosnt grab me and i that i never really listen to is "Kamikaze" is has a rhythm and blues undertone which i was surprised at but even still a song i can't seem to like.
The 6 minute closer is a true highlight "We Float" could be well a truly be a masterpiece in it's own right a throughly enjoyed every minute of this one

Top 5
1.A Place Called Home
2.Big Exit
3.The Mess We're In
4.We Float
5.Beautiful Feeling

PJ is just like all of the great women of rock throughout the world shes an utter legend in her own right bringing back female rock that sorta disappeared for a while in the 80's (although some kept it alive Tina Turner,KD Lang...etc)and revived come 1992
"Stories From The City,Stories From The Sea" is in my top 25 rock albums where it damn well should be
11 Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)