Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
9
4.4 out of 5 stars
5 star
6
4 star
1
3 star
2
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 11 July 2006
I first got into Ed when I saw him support KT Tunstall on her tour. But the two couldn't be more different, Ed has deeper lyrics and a much more sophisticated sound.

I loved this album immediately but I agree that it may take some people who are more unfamilar with Ed, a few more listens to really appreciate him. This and 'Here Be Monsters' are proably the best for new fans to purchase.

I'd get this solely for 'Rain On The Pretty Ones' and 'Whirlwind in D Minor'. Great tracks!
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 October 2006
Another beautiful album from one of the most consistent musicians this country has to offer.

Every time a new Ed Harcourt album comes along, I find myself excited but quietly resigned to the fact that it will be difficult to live up to the expectation of his last. Thankfully, this is yet to happen, far from it in fact, and long may it continue!

'The Last Cigarette' is a beautifully haunting acoustic number that grabbed my attention immediately, leaving me in a state of silence until the very last note. 'Rain on The Pretty Ones' is simply as good as anything he's written previously and 'Good Friends are Hard To Find' is a perfect album closer. A strange song that despite it's sad melody and lyrics, left me smiling throughout.

Another stunning album to rival 'Here Be Monsters' and 'Strangers' (my two personal favourites).

Buy this album, wait till dark, turn out the lights and enjoy.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 June 2006
Another magical piece of work from this British genius. This guy constantly produces album after album and deserves recognition.

Don't buy what NME and Radio One tell you too and maybe your discover something a little different and that you can listen too in 10 years time.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 June 2006
What a gem... I discovered Ed two years ago - his album Strangers (2004) floored me, and I'm forever grateful to the friend that introduced me to his music. His songs are melodic, the lyrics thoughtful, and his raw vocals are a joy to listen to.

For me, one of the most rewarding aspects of being a music fan is developing an intimate understanding of another human being through the music that he or she makes. Listen to "The Beautiful Lie" and you will feel that you are getting to know Ed Harcourt - his passion, his humour, his arrogance, his self-loathing... and after a few listens you may feel as though you've made a friend.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 June 2006
The Beautiful Lie is, in my humble opinion, Harcourt's best work to date. The lukewarm reception it got from review writers is unfair. The lyrics and orchestration on the album are of a very high quality. If you are a fan Here Be Monsters then you will also like this album. Particular highlights include The Last Cigarette, Late Night Partner, Rain on the Pretty Ones and Good Friends Are Hard To Find. Buy this album and you shouldn't be disappointed.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 April 2012
Mr Harcourt has made some darn fine music over the last decade or so, but this has to be his masterpiece. 14 songs, no duffers, unflagging inspiration from start to finish, too many highlights to mention, and only 'Strangers' before it could even come close to boasting this much great melody all crammed into one set. It just feels like a classic.
If you are about to 'discover' Ed Harcourt, this is the way.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 February 2007
When a new Ed Harcourt album comes along, the word "predictable" can never be used to describe it. Each collection of beautifully-crafted songs fluctuates between light-hearted joyousness, cracked heartbreakers and epic soundscapes that take the listener's breath away.

The Beautiful Lie is as glorious as Harcourt's small army of devoted fans hoped it would be. Standout tracks include the jawdroppingly beautiful "Rain on the Pretty Ones" and "Braille", a charmingly shambolic "I Am the Drug" and the sumptuous "Revolution in the Heart".

Harcourt's talent positively pours from this album, which captures the energy and atmosphere of his wonderful live show better than any of its predecessors. Buy this album. Dim the lights, sit back, and enjoy.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 January 2016
Perfectly decent record just doesn't particularly stick in the memory
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 May 2013
If you read my previous Mr Harcourts "Best Of" album, I have little else to add to this for this album.
33 comments|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£7.99
£7.99

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)