Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
20
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£5.49


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 17 September 2003
Having followed this band since their first, 4-track-recorded album "Mirror", I have to say I've thoroughly enjoyed their slow and steady evolution and rise through the underground. While their live shows have always been fantastic, their small amount of recorded output (one full length, one EP, and a handful of singles) up until now has only hinted at the breadth, variety, and brilliance of their music. "echoes" is the masterpiece they've had in them all along. Yeah, they're hyped, yeah, they're courted by the press and the fashion mags and whatnot, but these guys are no trendy neophytes. They pretty much started the disco-punk trend anyway, and while their sound owes a lot to the past, (whose doesn't?) they, along with the DFA, have fashioned a slick but stripped-down sound that sounds both utterly current and instantly classic. They aren't afraid to try new things and venture into new territory, and to test the limits of their audience. (chicago house for the indie crowd?) oh, yeah, and they're actually good songwriters! a truly great album by a truly great band.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 January 2011
arrived quickly in perfect condition

bought it on the back of hearing "Echoes" as theme for the brilliant "Misfits"

love dance and punk music - this album combines both & all for just a few quid!

buy it now, you won't be disappointed!!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 October 2003
What really marks "Echoes" out from the all of the other new bands on the scene is the diversity it demonstrates. Although, I still think "Out of the races and onto the tracks" is their best song (found on previous mini album and also on Rough Trade's Post Punk compilation, also excellent!) and a fantastic upbeat punk/dance crossover. Imagine elements of the Cure, Joy Division and the Happy Mondays filtered through New York and your not far away. It is essential that you see them live as they are one of the best acts to see in the flesh. I've already seen them 3 times this year and would go again tomorrow. If you genuinely like good music that's a little different from latest batch of copycat bands you'll find a space for this in your collection.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 March 2012
on first listen i thought oh no a sub-quality cure soundalike a la block party ('praps a bit harsh on both?). the casual listen in the car or around the house does this album no favours at all. however, headphones on and its a completely different beast. wacked out dance or psychedelic mayhem? check. 2 fillers you can live with(its yin and yang, maan)? check. i honestly thought my playlist had skipped onto West about 2/3's of the way through!! brilliant!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 January 2004
All I can say is, buy this album. If your looking for a band that's so different from the current guitar,indierock bands on the scene, The Rapture is the one.What attracted me to buy this album is that the band are absolutely brilliant live. I didnt know any of their stuff when i watched them but it encouraged me to add Echoes to my collection. Highly original and well worth owning, for me, it is a mighty fine album.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 August 2003
I've had this album since last spring and I still love it. It is a departure from their earlier stuff, which was noisier experimental rock and great as well. Echoes is a mix between dance music, hardcore punk, and Sonic Youth type guitars. I'm not even going to bother telling you what tracks are the best, because every single minute of this album is absolutely perfect. Get it as soon as you can, this one's a classic.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 October 2003
You can't go wrong with The Rapture. Of the disco-punk movement, they and Radio 4 are at the top of the heap.
This has been a highly anticipated album. Little leaks of songs have been released here and there for the last several months. DFA had put out a number of fantastic 12" singles that I have been able to snatch up while I was waiting and the Yes New York compilation contains the glorious new vamped-up version of Olio.
Is it any real coincidence that both Blondie and Siouxsie had songs called (The) Rapture? You can hear elements of both that New York disco that Blondie was doing and that spaced out goth that Siouxsie was sculpting back in the day. But, if you can stomach a few more references, what really stands out to me with this album in particular and their two earlier ones is the following scenario: What if Robert Smith stepped up and volunteered his vocals to Joy Division after Ian Curtis ceased to be? Imagine that cusp, where New Order split off and continued with the anxiety Joy Division had but cloaked in a soothing atmosphear of early electronica. I know it's a lot to consider, but I can hear all of that and Robert Smith circa Faith or Pornography.
All that said, it is unfair for me, just a fan, to heap all of this mystique onto a band like The Rapture. If nothing else, Echoes proves that this band is responsible for it's own dynamics.
Now onto the tracks (or, a few of the ones I like best):
Olio has grown tremendously since The Rapture's first album. Listen to both and after a while you will gravitate to this one.
The Coming Of Spring has the familiar "get yourself together" that they used on Out Of The Races And Onto The Tracks. The rest of the song is completely different though.
House Of Jealous Lovers seems to be their hit, though I can't quite say it is better than, say Olio, or Killing. Great cow-bell though.
Killing is the best song on the album and probably one of the best songs ever made. Of the disco-punk movement, I'd say it is the best. If you don't know anything about The Rapture, buy this album just for this song alone. It's that good.
Infatuation is haunting, melancholy and will stay with you in your head for the rest of the day.
Echoes as an album is built up of contrasts, the band seem to be able to do lots of different musical styles but the most interesting thing about it is it blends together so nicely. You hardly notice when one style changes to another.
I buy albums all the time but this one is the best I have picked up in several months.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 January 2004
At last a band to fill the shoes of the likes of "Suicide" and "The Cure" with the same kinda of energy and strange take of their subject matter with lyrics that are both thought provoking and angry, played against "Big " beats and chainsaw guitars. On the strength of this release I think I might invest in their whole recorded output, a band to watch out for not just for today but for the long haul. I hadn't heard any of the hype that all the other reviews are talking about , no I saw a report about the band on "CNN's" music show "The Music Room". A breath of fresh air in a corporate controlled music industry...
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 June 2004
Man, I havent had this much fun since moby, this is really funky, and disco pop, its absolutely genius and crazy, the cowbell in House Of Jealous Lovers, man, good times, not an album youll forget for a while since itll be occupying your stereo for quite some time, it will grip you, believe me.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 November 2003
I feel sorry for the reviewer who can't appreciate this CD. It is a fabulously fresh, original sound--the best of punk (its emotional edge and rawness)combined with the best of dance (makes you want to dance!). Musically complex, a lot going on. You can't miss. This will be a classic.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)