Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars
43
4.0 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 1 December 2002
Its a dark, cold night. The hard rain hitting the window is distorted by the crackling of coal fire and the curtains are closed so the tele licence van won't see the flickering from the television. Everyone sits, staring, me and my brother especially intrigued by the mysterious black car and the unusual super human standing in its shadow on the video cover. Introducing the film is the sound of the drums from a typical eighties song, similar to those on the likes of Rocky, Over the Top and Heavenly Kid. The picture and sound quality, a reflection of that era in video technology, and the very element which is captured by our imagination and stored there forever. We sit, only eight or nine years old, with very little understanding of what is happening, yet astounded by the powers of destruction, speed and the enforcement of justice. Twelve years later, I unearthed 'The Wraith' after several desperate attempts to find it again. Watching it again, after so long and with a completely different view on society, a whole new view of life and with a wealth of knowledge and experience in the art of Movies, it still astounds, it still amazez and is still the very aspect of my childhood memories, which make them great. Excellent.
11 comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 September 2014
The Wraith to me is a film that is sadly lost in the shadows of film history. Which is a shame cos the film itself is certainly worth watching. You can view it on Amazon Prime or Via the web stream services available from Amazon. Charlie Sheen ah yes. A smile on my face at seeing Charlie in one of his earlier films.( Charlie Sheen, Nick Cassavetes, Sherilyn Fenn Story: Jamie, killed by neighbourhood thugs, returns as a mystical figure named Jake (The Wraith) to gain revenge.) Get a chance GO see it!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 August 2005
This film is definatly the father of american feel good factor. The very foundation that Never been kissed, she's all that and many more were built on. I have to say finding this copy was an absolute prize. The suprising thing for me is that after 17 years of special effects development this film still stands up, if for no other reason than its a great film, with a great story and was well acted, The Cars are absolutly fantastic, the black Turbo is superb its allways stuck in my mind and was great to see it on a big screen. I loved it then and love it still.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 January 2016
This is one of the best relatively unknown films of the 80's. I must have hired it about 6 times on VHS for me and the gang to watch. I've hunted high and low to find it on DVD at a reasonable price. So it was with some trepidation that i ordered the dutch import. Glad to say it didn't disappoint at all. Great story of revenge from from beyond the grave, mixed with high octane car scenes against desert backdrop with a good dose of 80s pop culture.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 November 2013
Classic 80's teen film, just like i remembered from way back. Be aware that this is a Region 1 US only version when buying.
Great film though, well i think so ;)

Turn on, tune in, drop out...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 May 2012
This is certainly a very cool and very unique 80's movies, one of my favourites by miles, Charlie Sheen plays the new kid in town, he pulls up on his bike one day and suddenly after that the local gang of kids who think they can pick on who they like start getting killed off by a mysterious figure in a futuristic black car, how is it all linked? watch and find out, the movie is notably cool because of the many awesome cars, there's plenty of great chases and races all filmed with good style and a great 80's soundtrack too, great effects all round with smart costumes and other various cool 80's style visual effects, the cast is great too, a young Charlie Sheen plays a good lead, a sexy young Sherilyn Fenn as the female lead, there's plenty of great fun and action to be had with this futuristic sci-fi like story, very unique and certainly a cult classic!!

The movie goes by the official title THE WRAITH but the German DVD import is titled INTERCEPTOR
The DVD has a decent enough picture on both versions,
The USA import DVD has more features with a commentary, interviews, history of the turbo interceptor, trailers.
The German DVD has art gallery, photo's and biographies.
Both run uncut, the German version says 89-mins and the USA version says 93-mins, but both are the same just due to frame rate on the discs.
Region 1 only USA DVD, Region 2 pal German DVD.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 10 June 2013
A gang of adolescent thugs coerce drivers into rigged street races so they can steal cars for their chop shop. Despite his relative youth, the gang's leader (Nick Cassavetes) is a figure of fear and hatred and not even the sheriff can arrest him for the murder of another teenager. The arrival of a new guy in town sparks interest from Cassavetes extremely reluctant girl, Sherilyn Fenn, at the same time a mysterious driver is thinning out the gang in a series of fiery encounters. There is action aplenty in this and a young Charlile Sheen does a decent job as the vengeful wraith of the title. This throwaway 80's movie with decent car chases and a pounding soundtrack even manages to capture tones of pale rider, albeit for a less demanding audience.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 November 2000
i love the turbo interceptor and if they were for sell it would be the car for me. i love the whole movie and can watch it over and over again and not get bored of it. i introduce all my friends to this movie
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 August 2013
Found this old classic in a charity shop for £1.99, absolute bargain!!! Loved watching this movie when I was younger and as I'm sat here watching it in my early 40s brings back memories of all these American feel good teen movies, yes it is a bit cheesy and badly acted by some, but that adds to the nostalgia, I love these old 80s movies, Kuffs will be next!! Love the car, love the racing scenes, another classic added to my collection!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 April 2014
The wraith is a dark suspense thriller with fast. Cars and revenge I watched this when I younger and loved it and love it still in my eyes this is one of Charlie sheen best films and he plays the role very well I recommend this movie to any one
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)