Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Fire Tablet Shop Kindle Blind Boys of Alabama Learn more Fitbit

Customer reviews

3.4 out of 5 stars
9
3.4 out of 5 stars
Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:£4.25+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 4 September 2008
Guard Post is pretty weird. It's encompasses drama, mystery and horror, and does a pretty good job doing so. Be fore-warned that this film is not solely horror. It's more so a mystery/drama than anything else, though horror elements are clearly present. Anyways, the story revolves around a G.P. aka Guard Post, that has fallen silent. An investigator and new team go in to investigate and what they find is horrific and completely puzzling.

With a theme of infection, the movie eventually becomes a survival-type flick with lots of second-guessing. Which is most definitely a fresh take on this type of genre.

Overall a very good ride. The film delivers good acting, nice direction and solid atmosphere and was entertaining. Definitely worth a watch.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 January 2011
I bought Guard Post expecting it to be mostly some sort of slasher horror, with a lot of action and gore; but it turned out to be so much more!

It is actually more of a thriller/mystery/horror, and one of the best I have seen at that. Throughout the movie there are clever twists and turns which completely change your impressions of what has happened and why, keeping you on the edge of your seat. This film is almost 2 hours long and I didn't feel like it was dragged out at all!

While it is not a film that will leave you scared by its horror elements, or amazed by its few action scenes, it will keep you completely engaged throughout.

This film has very good acting and directing throughout, and comes across as a high budget film (doesn't look cheap or tacky at all), I also feel that because it is not in English it is important to point out that it has perfect subtitles and I didn't notice any translations that didn't make sense.

Overall this is a great film, but not a great buy if all you are after is horror/gore.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 April 2016
The Guard Post is a story about a border post situated right on the North Korea/South Korea border that inexplicably goes silent. A back-up team is despatched to investigate and once they arrive find one person alive. The rest of the film follows their investigation in finding out exactly what happened. This is a well made film which moves at a good pace but at over 2 hours it is probably a bit too long. I had an issue with the story being told with lots of flashbacks - I found this terribly confusing as there are a lot of characters and I wasn't sure who was from the present and who was from the past. It does come together in the end but because the audience knows what happens after about the first hour it could have been concluded earlier. The Blu-ray disk has a 5.1 channel soundtrack but this is not a lossless track, just Dolby Digital. Not that it's a big issue as it works quite well. And there is quite a lot of surround activity as much of the film is shot outside in heavy rain.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 February 2013
I really tried hard to like this film. It is well produced and acted, very atmospheric, and there's some nasty gore and effects on view.But what was it all about? Yes, I know (at least I THINK I know)some sort of killer virus has got loose in a subterraneum guard bunker in Korea.It makes people crazy and homicidal. A detachment of MPs arrive to investigate, and find only one survivor. Did he kill all the others? We keep going back to see the events that lead up to all the killing. Trouble is, to my Western eyes all the protagonists look pretty much the same, particularly in helmets, and I found it very hard to differentiate between the past and present.It was SO confusing.About 3/4 of the way in my viewing was interrupted and I had to swith off.Suffice it to say, that was 3 days ago and I haven't switched it back on yet!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 7 November 2008
Yeah i have to agree with the other review, it's slightly weird. For some people it may be rather long and drawn out but nothing much is given away to the viewer. Sure, we know that something bad took place at the guard post and that many questions need answered but nothing is quite what it seems. It follows a similar trend of horror/war films such as "the keep" and "deathwatch" but this is slightly smarter. There aren't too many bloody moments but the film has elements of the undead, posession, madness and self mutilation as the soldiers struggle to understand what is taking place which all begins to make sense towards the end of the show. My only gripe would be the jumping back and forward with the flashback sequences which can be slightly confusing from time to time but it's certainly worth checking out.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 February 2014
this is not a too bad a horror, i always like to but korean films as they are getting better and better,
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 May 2016
Very atmospheric,excellent film
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 January 2009
I did expect more from this film was'nt scary hardly any action to much talking, the only scene that got me excited was when 8 soldiers were arguing over whose infected gunsat ready! You'll get a gore fest but thats it.-dissapointing
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 April 2009
Awe no, another Japanese sub-titled horror film. Oh well cover is promising, first 30 seconds of the movie look promising. Naked Jap. covered in blood holding axe. Then boom, out go the lights and for the next hour or two, we are subjected to a repetitive routine of similar looking actors all running around calling each other the killer. It turns out that some virus is running rampant along with my patience. If you can stand listening to men screaming at each other in a blacked out room for two tedious hours then this movie is for you, otherwise buy or rent something decent like Midnight Meat Train for your depraved needs.
33 Comments| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)