Learn more Download now Shop now Pre-order now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 16 October 2017
The confrontation between the rekligious belief and the natural wish to survive was i mpresssive with a fine sense of the rather exotic setting
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 January 2018
good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 April 2017
great book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 February 2016
OK!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 9 January 2017
Silence..Is the tale of persecuted Christians.

Ferreira has disappeared, As mentor of Father Rodrigues, who has been sent to search for him - dead or alive - he is believed to have been tortured and also to have renounced his religion, his beliefs and his God.

Japanese Christians were tortured horribly, boiled but not killed in order to give up what they believed in the most. Some were strong and the immense suffering they endured, some for days on end did not achieve what these hideous acts of cruelty were designed.

Rodrigues sets sail, and secretly enters Japan. His faith is severely tested, and letters, which tells of his tale, speak of fear, strength and death.

This is a most harrowing and what I think an important story. Although set in 1643, the persecutors and the persecuted could be of any era and for any cause. The reader does not have to be of any religious opinion in order to be moved, such is Rodrigues 'voice'. It is a powerful and emotive read.

Hailed as one of 'the best novelists of our time' Endo, I believe, has used personal experience to write this extremely influential and compelling novel. ( Endo was himself a practicing Catholic )

Now to be made into a movie by the brilliant Martin Scorsese, I just hope he can master the message Endo has given us.

I for one will think about my opinion of people's differences next time I speak and act.

This book is a marvel.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 June 2017
It is hardly surprising that the blurb on this book has a quote from Graham Greene calling it “one of the finest novels of our time” since so many of Greene's characters spent their time discussing spiritual matters, usually from a Catholic perspective. I doubt if the general reader will share his enthusiasm.

It is set in 17th century Japan and tells the tale of two Portuguese Jesuit priests who enter the country clandestinely to find another priest who disappeared years earlier and who is said to have given up his faith. If you have read James Clavell's “Shogun” you will be familiar with the background. However, this novel was not written by a westerner but by a Japanese Catholic. He may be part of one of the world's smallest minorities nowadays but St. Francis Xavier said Japan was the Asian country that was most suited to Christianity and the faith initially made great strides until it was suppressed.

Endo in effect put himself into the minds of Europeans and does a pretty good job. He makes a comparison between the persecuted priest and Jesus and there is plenty of soul searching on the silence of God. It is a spiritually challenging work but might be a bit intense for some readers.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 January 2013
I knew of this band but never checked them out before last week (end of 2012!).I liked Rhapsody of Fire since the first album in the late 90's and some other things in the general power metal area but somehow with SA I just never got round to checking out.I'm glad I finally did as this album is absolutely what I have been looking for.An incredibly uplifting,epic and melodius album.They just have such a great vibe to them here.I usually select tracks from albums and struggle with getting through one from start to finish but with this I just listened all the way through,straight away and again later.Obviously some people will not like the extreme euro(vison) aspects here,the extreme melody,and the vocals are just lovely!
Now to aquire the other albums!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 31 December 2010
This early album by Sonata Arctica again proves what class the band truly has. The songs are very memorable and I just can't stop listening to the album! Very well written, with originality whilst retaining the typical power metal sound that we all know and love (or should do!). This, however, is not a typical power metal album (or band for that matter), because I think it easily surpasses most other power metal material out there on the market at the moment. The songs are also quite diverse. There are the faster, uplifting, songs such as "Weballergy", "Black Sheep", "San Sebastian", "Wolf and Raven" and "Peacemaker", and then there are other much more melodramatic and downbeat songs such as "The End of This Chapter", "Last Drop Falls", and possibly one of the best "break-up songs" of our time; "Tallulah". In a nutshell, this album is brilliant and is well worth purchasing. I don't know that it surpasses Ecliptica, but it definately retains the same standard of songwriting, production, and overall class, and is an excellent follow up.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 April 2004
Silence is probably the best book I have ever read. I simply cannot think of anything else I have encountered that tops it. The story tells of Portuguese priest attempting to preach Christianity in Japan during a terrifying persecution.
Silence asks the question how can God remain silent while his servants are being tortured and killed? This theme runs through the book and by the penultimate chapter you think know how the story will end, an ending which is better than most books can manage. The tale then twists again and what happens at the very end is one of the most profound and disturbing conclusions of any book written on the Christian theme.
In a way the book is similar to Graham Greene's "The Power and the Glory" but Endo puts his characters through much more and as a result the central theme has more resonance. As much as I like "The Power and the Glory" it is inferior to Silence. Silence will make you sweat like a great horror novel and will leave its mark like the greatest literature.
This is possible one of the greatest books ever written with a Christian theme.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 April 2017
The fight for his faith of a priest while God keeps “silent” whatever happens. In the background, Japan of the XVIIth century. Interesting and very instructive novel from the stand points of history, characters relations, life conditions, catholicism against native faith (Boudhism).
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here