Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 20 February 2018
This is the first album I ever bought in the late 70's on vinyl. It still stands up today as a classic packed with great songs and the first Rush album with Neil Peart on drums and lyrics. Love the cover art too...
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 31 January 2013
Rush's self titled debut album was, to many people, not much more than a straightforward, Led zeppelin influenced rock album. While a good album, it wasn't until they released their followup album, the excellent fly by night, that rush really started to show a lot of promise in the progressive rock genre.
This album contains many of the bands most well known tracks, that are still loved by many today. These tracks include the iconic title track, the eight minute epic, by tor and the snow dog, and also the superb, beneath, between and behind.
This album is also the first to feature Neil Peart on drums, and this definitely shows. This is because the album is much more intricate and interesting, both lyrically and musically.
So overall, fly by night is a brilliant progressive rock album, and is well worth your time and money. This is also one of Rush's best albums, and is up there with masterpieces such as 2112 and permanent waves.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 February 2014
Rush, with Neil Peart recruited on the drumstool, really start to hit their stride on this 1975 release. The Led Zeppelin influences are very much on display, but, you can already hear the future direction towards progressive rock. The opening salvo of 'Anthem', 'Best I Can' and 'Beneath, Between and Behind' sets the pace before 'By-Tor And The Snow Dog' gives Alex Lifeson the opportunity to show his virtuoso guitar skills. Geddy Lee's supreme bass playing and high-octane vocals are excellent throughout. The lovely 'Rivendell' demonstrates that Rush can do subtlety just as well as power whilst the stately 'In the End' rounds things off very nicely. This is an album well worth buying.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 March 2015
Great album...but worst vinyl reissue I've ever had the misfortune of paying for. Jumps, bumps and loud crackles straight out of the bag. I've owned previous Back To Vinyl reissues and while not particular lovingly restored or anything, they at least played without problem. Thankfully was able to return to Amazon & refunded without question. Is this the bit where vinyl lovers start getting screwed again like they did in the late 80's/ early 90's?
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 April 2012
Fly by night has a bit more complexity than Rush and is a bit more energetic than Caress of Steel it also has more songs that are shorter and I think this suites rush better than long songs and I think they know it because most of their albums and songs are not that long. their strength lies in their song writing ability. By tor and the snow dog is an awesome song and so is anthem. also check out the awesome artwork wooop
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 February 2018
Bought the digital download and when i downloaded it i wound up getting a bad quality live version instead of the actual album.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 June 2013
Bought to make up my Rush collection, of which I used to have on 3 LP "box collection" called Archives. This being the 2nd album in that collection.

Archives is RUSH' three first releases:
1- Rush 1974
2- Fly by Night 1975
3- Caress of Steel 1975

See, Rush, One of three review.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 April 2015
Beautiful sleeve, great quality vinyl and a wonderful addition to my Rush album collection
Arrived in pristine condition and plays perfectly
Highly recommended supplier and product
11 Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 September 2017
Ecxcellent early Rush album.
By Tor is a classic.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 November 2013
Great album . Bargain ,amazing price. As described ,arrived in perfect condition and is an excellent pressing. 80s rock fans would be mad to miss it at this price. Come on and get one!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)