Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 5 March 2017
Great product.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 March 2017
Excellent album
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 May 2017
a quality album. Haven't stopped playing it in the van yet........
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 July 2014
Excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 January 2012
When I first heard blackbird for the first time I was quite blown away with the tracks that were recorded onto the album including songs like "come to life" which had a heavy melodic style to it whilst also giving a grungy feel at the same time. Other heavy songs with a very good structure in them included "White Knuckles" and "Ties that bind" which were heavy but unique in there own way, "White Knuckles" was quite a fast track which had good drum and guitar patterns through the song. "Ties that bind" opened with a good guitar riff with a good build up to the chorus of the song.

Whilst blackbird had many fast and heavy tracks there were also quite slow melodic tracks like "Wayward One" which starts off slow and builds itself up to quite a loud powerful chorus then takes its way back to a nice slow verse with a nice smooth drum pattern, and good guitar riff, the vocals go well with song, it makes the song have more feeling and emotion. Another similar song to "Wayward One" is "Brand New Start". It has the similar drum pattern and vocals but it is very different in its own way. It also has the similar build up to the chorus with powerful vocals and very dynamic instruments. The band in my opinion have succeeded really well with recording this album because it shows how they can create such a different sound from there last album, also it also lets you feel how they can play such amazing solos and perform rock like ballads like "Blackbird".

I think alter bridge has brought out a very well written album, with some songs that leave you amazed and some songs you just want to listen to over and over, with the unique vocals of Myles Kennedy and the fantastic dynamics and sound of the instruments, this bands album is no question of a doubt one of the finest and unique sounding albums to hit shop shelves and if they continue to create wonderful sounding music like this they will continue to sell millions of copies around the world, if you have not listened to the album i highly recommend that you do so because it is a beautifully made album that needs to gain more and more reputation from around the globe.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 April 2008
Alter Bridge caught my attention after I heard about Creed's split, a band who I had never really valued, but recognised that there was a lot of potential in the sound they were making.

Alter Bridge's first album was a perfectly crafted, pure rock n roll gem, and this follow-up delivers more of the same soaring vocals, chugging riffs and widdly guitar work that I so love.

Blackbird see's Kennedy pick up the guitar for the first time, and crikey can he play! A few video's on youtube proved to me that he is just as accomplished as Tremonti, if not in a slightly different style. Also lyrically this album is darker, almost bleak in places - "One by One" is an example of this. The riffs are much more "metal" than "One day remains" which, in my opinion, suits Alter Bridge far better.

However there are still the uplifting, singalong anthems such as "Before tomorrow comes" and "Rise Today", Alter Bridge's trademark. However, the real highlight of this album for me is "Watch over you", a down-tempo, goose-bumps rock ballad that is moving and exciting in equal parts - a different Alter Bridge, but one that I very much approve of.

Unfortunately, Alter Bridge set such high standards with their best songs that certain tracks on this album become highly skippable - "Wayward One" and "We don't care at all" are still good songs in themselves but seem unnecessary.

Still, this is overwhelmingly another brilliant musical work from the american rockers, delivering more of the same incredibly powerful and melodic yet brutal rock tunes.

Best Moment: Guitar solo on "Blackbird"
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 November 2007
The world of proper music is not necessarily a strong one at the moment, the market is flooded with mediocre sub-par acts that stick around for a week or so before disappearing into obscurity (but not before releasing two or three autobiographies and making numerous television appearances). This is a dark time for music out of which rises the wonderful new effort by these guys, i was a fan of creed but with one day remains alter bridge truely blew me away, with blackbird they have done the same combining tremonti's stunning guitar-work with kennedy's stunning vocal range and ability creating a second suburb album. Marshall and Phillips give solid performances as usual and overall the album is very good form beginning to end. I think this aalbum is much more solid than one day remains in that it has quality throughout, for me one day remains had a few blow-away tracks but also had a few dodgy ones, blackbird however is hard to criticise in any way. I was hooked from the first listen and having only listened through a few times through clear favourites beginning to emerge are 'brand new start', 'before tomorrow comes' and 'rise today'. Fantastic album, it's just a shame that in this country it wont get the recognition it truely deserves.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 April 2008
In an age where mainstream 'hard rock' is dominated by uninspired bands like Nickelback and.... well Nickelback, and with Audioslave never living up to their potential, and seemingly a new bunch of emo kids crying through their eyeliner every month on MTV - this is a breath of fresh air!
I was maybe a little harsh before but bands like Nickelback are just so unexciting that to hear an album like this makes me glad I've still got long hair and like hearing someone playing his damn guitar like he means it!
Its basically unashamed heavy guitar rock with anthemic choruses, incendiary solos, crunching riffs, thunderous drums and a great set of Chris Cornell-esque vocals. Its energetic, sing-along music - great for driving or working-out.
Only four (I would say 4 and a half!)stars because it is a little one-dimensional and at 14 tracks is maybe a little too long without some more different sounding tracks. The first 8 or 9 or so are solid gold though! Highly recommended for fans of Audioslave, Soundgarden, early Queens of the Stone Age, Led Zep, Black Sabbath, Metallica, Corrosion of Conformity, the Sword etc
22 Comments| 33 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 May 2017
I don't like Alter Bridge but it was bought for someone else
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 October 2007
I loved creed, was sad when they broke up... I love alter bridge even more.... There 1st album was awesome. This album is amazing....and the song blackbird is a work of art... it's like the mona lisa of music... This album is one of the best albums i've heard in years.... The last time i heard an album of this quality was origin of symmetry by muse...

The guitar solos are wow.....this album gives me shivers when i listen to it.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£8.99
£8.99

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)