Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Learn more Shop now Learn more Fire Kids Edition Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Pre-order now Shop Men's Shop Women's

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 3 January 2005
Finally, the complete "Just Supposin'" album is available on CD. Previously, it was released in the "Back to Back" series, bundled with "Whatever you want" but the excellent Alan Lancaster track "The Wild Ones" was omitted from the album. Now we can listen to this excellent release in it's entire glory :
1. What You're Proposing
2. Run To Mummy
3. Don't Drive My Car
4. Lies
5. Over The Edge
6. The Wild Ones
7. Name Of The Game
8. Coming And Going
9. Rock 'N' Roll
10. A B Blues - Non-LP
Unfortunately, there is only one bonus track on this remastered album, but still, this is one of Quo's best and a definite "must buy" !
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 March 2006
Just Supposing is yet another top class album to put into the ever expanding Status Quo back catalogue of classy records.
With this album, Quo seemed to be in top form as they entered the 80's, and at this time there was no indication of what was going to happen in the latter part of the decade (and subsequently throughout the 90's) as Just Supposing absolutely rocks, with several quality songs.
The opening track, 'What You're Proposing', was the first single from the album and was deservedly a smash hit which summarily sets the tone for the rest of the record. 'Don't Drive My Car' and 'Lies' were then released as a double A side and also charted well but, in my view, Quo could have released these songs seperately and they would have done well - such is their strength. 'Rock n Roll', the last single to be released was, in my view, their best ballad ever at that time.
It's not just the singles that are top drawer here, though - there isn't a bad track on the whole album, with 'Over The Edge', 'Run To Mummy' and 'The Wild Ones' also standing out.
Quite simply, an excellent album to go along with all the others at that time - pity about the later releases!
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 15 December 2005
This album and its successor, "Never Too Late", arose from the same 1980 sessions but proved to be the last releases of the classic Quo line-up, with drummer John Coghlan subsequently leaving. The first half of "Just Supposin'" is stacked full of hit single material. "What You're Proposing" was a big, typically catchy hit but hasn't retained its popularity in the same measure as, say, "Whatever You Want". It was followed up however by an impressive double a-side, "Lies"/"Don't Drive My Car". The former is one of Quo's jauntier songs, the latter a more drawn out, unusual recording.
Also on the first side of the original LP is the unexpectedly slick "Run To Mummy" and Alan Lancaster's murderously heavy "Over The Edge", a classic album track. The second side isn't of quite as high a standard bar "The Wild Ones" but is still worthwhile. The final track however, "Rock 'N' Roll", doesn't "do what it says on the tin". A belated hit single, it puts you more in mind of Abba than Elvis Presley. The dreaded pop direction beckoned.
Overall, not the place to start collecting Quo, but an essential purchase for most fans.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 October 2011
This is one of those albums that I don't play for years but when I do it always hits the spot, reminds me why I love Quo and demands I play it more often. As much as I love the hard rock of the period from Dog of Two Head to Blue for You, I suppose Quo had to evolve beyond the full-on 12-bar assualt of the 71 - 76 period and to me Just Supposin is representative of how good Quo can be when they throw a little of their early 70s heaviness and swagger into the pot and then add a sprinkle of the melodic pop-rock they favoured on later albums in the 80s and 90s. When they get that recipe wrong and add too much of the softer/poppier ingredients (like on Thirsty Work, Ain't Complaining...), for me the results can be less than satisfying but when they get it right (like on this album and in my opinion on Whatever You Want, Rock Till You Drop, Heavy Traffic and Quid Pro Quo) the results excite all my musical 'tastebuds'and actually cause me to listen to post-76 Quo more these days than the classic 'heavy' period. On Just Supposin there's the harder rock tracks like Over the Edge, Name of the Game and Coming and Going; there's the poppier rock of What You're Proposin, Lies, Run to Mummy and then there's the softer more subtle tracks like Don't Drive My Car and Rock n Roll; all of these flavours infuse to give a very enjoyable album. This album and the following year's Never Too Late were recorded at the same time I believe. I'm in a minority among Quo fans but I believe that of the two sets this is the stronger and deserves a solid 5 star rating. To me it's up there as one of the Quo classics.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 10 February 2010
Having purchased all the Quo albums from Rockin' All Over The World onwards on the day of issue,this was the first i was actually disappointed in,really disappointed,this is really poor ,a pale shadow of what went before..
The trade's description act could have been utilised here as this is such a poor copy of the Quo i know and love.

Yet it all starts so well with the absolute classic 'What your Proposin' but its short lived with the excreable 'Run To Mummy'- pass the sick bag ,while 2nd rate copycat tunes like 'Lies & over the edge' highlight how far standards had dropped ,the only brightspot being the superb 'Dont Drive My Car' showing that they could change tact and get it right when they put their heart and soul into it.Wild Ones/Name Of The Game are just bland with 'Rock N Roll purile,only 'Coming And Going' holding its head above the parapet as real Quo.

Bonus Track : A B Blues a fantastic instrumental which is superior to almost everything on the album,clearly it was at odds with the rest of the disc and didnt fit,a hark back to the days when they cared.

Ultimately this was a flawed,misguided disc rushed out,it would only be approx 5 months before the next release,the superior 'Never Too Late',its a pity they didnt hang fire and hold back the best of this album and ,those coupled, with the better tracks on Never Too Late would have resulted in a sure fire classic,still thats the benefit of hindsight,for completists only
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 August 2011
In 1980 Quo were commercially at the top of their game in terms of popular appeal. Artistically they were just at the apex but it would soon begin to fall apart with personnell changes, coke habits and some very poor recorded output. Most vintage Quo fans regard their golden period as 1972-1977 (Piledriver thru to Blue for you) but this album and its predecessor saw the band diversifying in sound while reclaiming their rock edge which had been somewhat lost for a couple of albums.

Opener 'What you're proposing' is impossibly catchy and not surprisingly was the lead single, hitting top 3. I love the intro chords of 'Run to Mummy' and the high energy level is maintained. Rick's don't drive my car is something different with a sort of Funk/disco groove which had been previously explored non too successfully a couple of years previously with 'accident prone. The band get it right this time with an edgy guitar riff beefing up the danceable groove. One in the eye then for those who write them off as 3-chord/12 bar blues trick. Lies is probably my least favourite, it's a fairly standard quo tune without being anything special. The original side one ends with a powerful rock tune with over the edge, courtesy of bassist Alan Lancaster. AL also provides 'The Wild Ones' 9the highlight of the set for me and definitely worthy of mention in the same breath as classics like Roll over Lay down, Big Fat Mama.... yes it's that good, an absolutely joyous anthem of biker freedom, with rockin guitar, boogie woogie piano and the whole band as tight as a duck's backside. Name of the game and the insistent groove with harmonica of coming and going. The album dips a little bit with 'Rock and Roll' (RockandRoll IT most certainly is Not) but once you see past the dreadful whistled intro, it's actually not a bad song and I can now peacefully co-exist with it.
A superb Quo album, not so far behind the golden era 1972-76 albums and shows that there was still life in the beast. It would be over 20 years before they recorded anything this good again.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 January 2015
An album I listen to 35 years ago, lol how time flies, still love it as much now as way back then,Quo are truly an awesome bunch of guys.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 April 2013
Part of their productive late 70s sessions in Ireland, this made a return to a rockier sound, albeit with a lot of orchestration. And what's with all the reverb on Alan's voice in 'Over The Edge'? His gritty voice suited rock/boogie songs better.

There isn't really a bad track on this album, although I'm not a fan of 'Rock 'N' Roll'. It just doesn't seem to work for Quo - they seem more distant somehow.

I wonder how it would have all sounded without the effects box on overdrive...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 July 2016
Replacing my vinyl copy at last. Not one bad track on this album. Quo at their peak.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 March 2015
Excellent record, probably my favourite Quo album from the 80s.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)