Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now Learn more

HALL OF FAMETOP 500 REVIEWERon 31 August 2006
The Libertines burned bright... and then burned out, when uberjunkie Pete Doherty got kicked out for assorted bad behavior. And from the ashes came two bands, one of which is Carl Barat's new band, Dirty Pretty Things.

Well, it's not exactly a pheonix. Fortunately, the debut "Waterloo to Anywhere" proves that this no Babyshambles -- Barat turns out some wonderfully grimy, raw punk music, reminiscent of the Raveonettes with a blurry Britpop edge. And they even turn up for work on time.

It opens with a solid opener -- the blurry, bizarre "Deadwood," which has cheery vocals and a sort of ominous edge. "You got the world boy/This all you make it?/You had the choice lad/You wouldnt take it," Barat croons cheerfully over a powerful guitar riff. "And what will you do/When they forget your name?"

Well, every artist needs a message song or two, and this seems to be Barat burying his band demons.

With that catchy punk tune as the opener, Dirty Pretty Things rock out with unpretentious gusto in raw tunes like "Gin and Milk," power chords that stretch out into lazy drones, frenetic wild noise, rough rock tunes, stomping punk, and tunes that can be rough and uncertain, or catchy and wild.

If Dirty Pretty Things have a flaw, it's that many of the songs take awhile to separate themselves. On first listening, many of the rockier, catchier sound very alike with all that blurry fuzzy guitar and bass, but as you listen to them a second time, little tune differences start to emerge.

Barat obviously has no musical pretensions, since there isn't really a moment on here that aspires to be more than it is. The production is left deliberately lo-fi and grimy-sounding, which adds a blurred edge to the razor riffs, solid drumming and hard basslines. It really does sound like it was recorded in a garage, which gives it character a lot of rock doens't have.

And Barat also sounds like he's having a lot of fun as he sings. His voice is a pleasant, slightly hoarse one that can jump over the music, and he can be flexible enough to yowl at times. His songs are solidly written, full of insomnia, grimy rooms, and tangled personal relationships. "And I know that she is wise/And she's the apple of my eye/She's my dirty pretty lover/And I want her at my side!"

While he may not get the press that his old bandmate does, Carl Barat shows his musical savvy in "Waterloo to Anywhere," a good debut for a good band.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
This album is a very impressive debut, from half of the UK's best band.

Carl has truly embraced the Libertines' split, and used it as inspiration for Dirty Pretty Things 'Waterloo To Anywhere' . The songs are catchy, the guitar riffs are hypnotic, and as always, Carl's vocals are packed with emotional lyrics, and witty one-liners.

Like I say, and will always say, the Libertines could never be recreated by one half of the charismatic front men, but this is not a bad effort.

Dirty Pretty Things definately sound more like the Libertines than Babyshambles, which may appeal to some fans, and I feel that is why Babyshambles have had a hard time. (even though Down In Albion is a fantastic album!)

Personally, I believe both bands are hugely talented. If I had to choose, I'd be pushed to go with Babyshambles, just because I think that Pete will always carry the spirit of the Albion.
That aside, I feel the best songs on this album are 'Bang Bang You're Dead ' (although I know some fans thought it went too commercial), 'Gin and Milk', 'The Enemy' and 'Deadwood'.

Whatever your opinion, this album is superb and deserves to be bought. Both bands have done well, but I think Dirty Pretty Things may be more popular with the "commercial market" than Babyshambles.

I dont really know what else to say, so just buy it and witness excellence personified.

Long Live The Libertines!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 October 2007
This album is simply perfect. When I first heard it I was underwhelmed, there did not seem to be any real stand out tracks and I had difficulty hearing the melody. However after a few plays the beauty of this album revealed itself. It is rare to hear an album where every track is perfectly formed, no fillers or lazy lyrics just snappy little numbers that you can in no way fault. I can't wait to see what Carl does on the next album, if it is half as good as this I will love it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 May 2006
Carl Barat finally brings back the rock and roll of the Libertines within Dirty Pretty Things and 'Waterloo to Anywhere' is undoubtedly a top debut album.

It kicks off with Deadwood which will certainly be released as a single, an upbeat track whcih sets up the album and the rest is no dissapointment. Doctors and Dealers, Bang Bang Your Dead, Blood Thirsty Bastards, Gin and Milk, You Fucking Love It are all outstanding Barat tracks consisting of typical British Punk Lyrics and Guitar riffs, very Libertines at times but much different in other ways. In my opinion, tops the excellent Arctic Monkeys album and pushes Libertines' 'Up the Bracket' very close, you wont buy a better album this year.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 October 2006
I bought this by the recommendation of a friend a few days ago and i've been listening to it over and over ever since. As the my title suggests this is a fantastic Indie/Rock album and in my opinion there is not one bad track on it, although i do have favourites (deadwood, bang bang you're dead, last of the small town playboys.)

Even if you're not a great fan of this music genre you should buy it anyway, i'm sure you will enjoy it, as the lyrics are genius and all the songs have great support from the guitar.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 September 2006
Well frankly this album to me is a pure joy and every song on it is genius. Unlike other albums that have at least 1 bad song The boys in dirty pretty things have got this one spot on and I have never been so happy to part with my money to buy this amazing first album of theirs, and I can only see them carry on as they started and gain the recognition as 1 of the best Indi-Rock bands in the world. The album is easily worth the money and u will not regret buying it and listen to it time and time again and u will never get boarded of it. With songs such as Gentry Cove, Deadwood and bang bang your dead, It is truly 5*.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 August 2006
Like the album in question, this review shall be short, sharp and straight to the point...

This record is brilliant! The guitars are brash, the bass is rumbling, the drums are tight, Carl's baritone Lahn-dan drawl is suitably edgy and passionate and the whole thing hurtles through the Underground from Waterloo to anywhere with exhuberant punk rock energy and great conviction. The songwriting is confident and ridiculously catchy as at 36 minutes, there is no room for filler. This is an album that makes you smile, that makes you glad to be alive and when it comes to indie rock and modern guitar music in general, this is some of the best around.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 July 2006
dirty pretty things will never be the libertines. it is unfair to compare carl barats band with his and pete dohertys musical masterpeice. dirty pretty things songs suit barats voice very well, though i feel without doherty's voice he sounds... older, i suppose is the word i'm looking for. the backing singing is very effective, however, especially in the song "deadwood".

the thing people dont seem to see is that this music is compulsive listening. everything that my fellow music lover further down had said about tracks like "you fucking love it" being awful is a view i dont share. songs like "you fucking love it" and "gin and milk" are catchy and songs such as these are the life of the album. he was right in praising "deadwood" as a catchy start to an album, and "doctors and the dealers" is also easy to tap along to. i think "wondering" is an amazing song, as well.

one reviewer paid heed to the view shared by some fans, that "bang bang you're dead" is too mainstream and over played, and i agree with this view. i can hardly bear this song anymore, apart from the intro played on the brass instrument.

i think the songs "the gentry cove" and "bloodthirsty bastards" slow down the album somewhat, and i can hardly listen to them anymore. also, the song "if you love a woman" is not as appealling as some other songs. i cant really explain this. maybe it's just the title that jades it for me. you shouldn't judge a book by it's cover, but there's something about that i feel makes the song less accessible.

the album finishes with my personal favourite "BURMA". i think this song sounds more like the libertines than any of the albums other songs, which perhaps explains why i like it so much.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 May 2006
Being a huge libertines fan, I was excited on hearing of Dohertys new band Babyshambles. However, I found their debut to be a dissappointment. It was ok...but nothing special.

Thankfuly, Carl's returned with something much better. Forming a band with old Libertines drummer Gary, this debut album is a great comeback. Every song is catchy and rocks the socks off yer, and there is definately a touch of the Libertines still stuck on the formula - which is a definate plus.

My only concern is that the album could have been longer with more tracks. However, don't let this put you off, as there is not one bad song on here.

All in all, a great debut and comeback from Carl. A must have for any Libertines fan.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 May 2006
So Carl Barat, so often regarded the "water carrier" of the Libertines, before Pete Doherty disintegrated in a vapour of negative publicity and an ubiquitous ever present rock chick girlfriend, returns. And what a comeback this is. Whilst Barat laid low for 18 months, Doherty sadly became a parody of himself and his credibility is now surely extinguished for good.

In that time, indie has become hyperbolic rather than meaningful music. And the NME has thrust upon us week after week the "next big thing", and for the most part these new bands are more wooden than a solid oak chair. The world NEEDS Barat back right now to save us from the mediocre, heard it all before retro rubbish that has somehow found an attentive audience. Waterloo To Anywhere is the most cathartic set of songs someone could write. From the roar of Deadwood, to the lament of moronic hangers on in Blood Thirsty Bastards, the riposte to a lazy and callow society in Gin and Milk, and what must be a serious contender to anthem of the decade, You Fxxking Love It, this album is what all of these conveyor belt indie bands should aspire to. Nice to see some REAL passion and fire from a band for once.

The speed and fury of the album goes over your head the first or second time you hear it, so it takes a little time to appreciate the quality of the music. But there is not one filler track on this album. Funny how you wait so long for a really good album that will last long beyond the initial "sell out every UK venue and a top 5" hype that greets nearly every trumped release, and two come out on the same day (the other being the soon to be classic Stadium Arcadium).

Hardly even worth reviewing this record as the world and its dog will listen to this, but this is just a brilliant record. Libertines Mark II - who cares? Welcome back, Carl and Gary.
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Customers also viewed these items

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)