Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
26
4.8 out of 5 stars


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 21 September 2017
Having recently purchased Blues Breakers John Mayall with Eric Clapton, and John Mayall A Hard Road, mainly based on reviews on Amazon, I had to get this one to, I actually think I prefer this one out of the three, not that the two mentioned above are not good, they are very good, so to put it in context, this Crusade Album is very very good, with excellent sleeve notes, I have now ordered a Paul Butterfield Album, again based upon the reviews by other people, looking forward to making some comparrisons.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
If you like the Beano Album and Hard Road album you will like this one too. First Mayall LP with Mick Taylor, more concise than the next 2 Taylor was on. Taylor isn't as firey as clapton is on the Beano, but he is nevertheless superb. I love this album, I wish I had bought it 20 years ago when I bought the Beano and Hard Road. Don't make the same mistake buy this album today.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 July 2017
Great album, but probably only for officianados. Highlights what a great guitarist Mick Taylor was (and still is) before he was a 'Stone'.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 April 2017
One of his best LP's . . . . .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 August 2015
a good cd.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 March 2017
real blues
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 June 2017
A cracker.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 August 2017
mayall always good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 January 2009
Third of the unintentional sixties Bluesbreakers trilogy comprising: "The Beano" (Bluesbreakers with Eric Clapton) and "A Hard Road" (with Peter Green), "Crusade" continues with the same formula of covers of blues standards from the likes of Freddy King, Willie Dixon, Otis Rush, Sonny Boy Williamson combined with Mayall (and Mick Taylor) originals.
"Crusade" was part of Mayall's campaign to bring the blues to a wider audience back in 1967, coupled with the release of various singles in that year (featuring various line ups from this and the previous album) all to no avail although "Suspicions" did enter the top 40. Alas with the likes of Cream's classic psychedelic blues rock album "Disraeli Gears" and the Jimi Hendrix Experience's debut "Are You Experienced", Crusade's tired formula was over shadowed and did n't make me part with my money back then, as much as I tried to like it. Nevertheless "Crusade" reached a respectable number 8 in the UK album charts.
Yes I realise as a callow youth myself I was expecting too much from the 18 year old Mick Taylor, but as much as his technical ability and musical maturity belied his tender years, for me there was no comparison to Eric Clapton at age 21 and his blistering savage guitar work on the "Beano" or equally the beautiful melodic economy of the 23 year old Peter Green's playing on "A Hard Road" - what a difference a few years make! Mayall moved on from this formula with his next album - the jazz/blues fusion tinged "Bare Wires" - where Mick was able to stretch and grow (such as on the bonus track "Knockers Step Forward" instrumental).
But good music is not all about guitarists or individual band member contributions is it? The Bluesbreakers line up on "Crusade" was expanded with the addition of a horn section comprising Chris Mercer and Rip Kant, who added more colour and depth to the arrangements as well nice interplay with Mick's guitar work. All in all good songs, good ensemble playing and vocals but no magic or fire.
God knows what the "Hard Road" line up singles and rarities, featuring Peter Green, are doing here (probably would have been more suitable on the expanded version of "Hard Road" or a "Decca London Years" compilation), maybe it's because the more relevant singles and bonus tracks featuring Mick Taylor are now on "Bare Wires".
88 Comments| 25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 December 2013
In his early years with the Bluesbreakers blues veteran John Mayall would present a new guitarist for each new studio album. "Crusade" from 1968 was the third album from John Mayalls Bluesbreakers, and the new young guitar player who had to lift the legacy of Eric Clapton and Peter Green was the later Rolling Stones member Mick Taylor.

"Crusade" is a natural extension of the previous two great blues-rock albums, and apart from the different sound of the three guitarist, the three albums have much in common. Much of the credit for this obviously goes to producer Mike Vernon who produced all Mayall's early albums. Where "Crusade" may lag slightly behind the two previous albums might be on the songwriting and perhaps also on the vocals. I believe few would claim that Mayall is a great singer, and it was therefore to be welcomed that both Clapton and Green were given some vokal parts. Moreover, Green's contribution to the songwriting in his time not unimportant .

The title "Crusade", refers, according to Mayall, to his wish of raising awareness of the musical genre for which he burned so strongly. For "Crusade" the band has been expanded to include two saxophone players, which of course help to shape a bigger sound. The use of horns, though, was not new for Mayall who had previously with succes worked with this group of instruments .

Without being quite as profiled as his predecessors Taylor comes out solid with his tight guitar sound, not least on the instrumental "Snowy Wood" and Mayall 's fine original "Tears in My Eyes". Among the other highlights of the album are the opening track "Oh , Pretty Woman" and the delicate version of Willie Dixon's "I Can't Quit You Babe" .

Some of the other songs are a bit ordinary and some suffers somewhat from flimsy and sometimes strained vocals by Mayall.

Therefore it is a welcome addition to the album that it has been expanded with ten bonus tracks , mostly from the period of Peter Green . "Greeny" and "Missing You", both written by Green, are scoops; "Missing You" is sung by Green and the song sounds a lot like early Fleetwood Mac. Also "Curly" was written by Green, and it is an example of Green 's musical vision which went beyond just the traditional blues. The single "Double Trouble" b.w. "It Hurts Me Too" also is a very nice addition to the at album.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£5.99
£6.99
£8.99

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)