Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
38
4.7 out of 5 stars


on 29 April 2017
The Cure are really an underestimated band. Robert Smith at his best. A great cd for anyone who wants something a little different. I love Goth and this is a kind of Goth type cd in my view. Excellent.
22 Comments|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 March 2017
As Listed. Great Product.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 August 2017
Excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 May 2017
Excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 January 2016
Fantastic album!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 January 2007
OK, I confess: despite my admiration for Robert Smith's undoubted talent, I've not been any more than a fair weather fan of the Cure and have only bought a handful of albums over the years. However, `Seventeen Seconds' is one of my all time favourites so perhaps I'll be forgiven. Nevertheless, I did buy `Head on the Door' on glorious vinyl in 1985 and quite liked it but like so many other vinyl albums, it fell into non-use when CD came along and I have not played it for at least 10 years. So when this newly remastered version hit my CD player, I was astounded to be reminded what a good album it is.

Kicking off with the bubbling `In Between Days', the album bursts into life and unlike some other Cure albums, this energy hardly drops through most of the first half until you reach the truly great stuff starting with the semi-instrumental `Push'. What follows is perhaps one of the best consecutive runs in Bob's cannon and comprises `A Baby Screams', `Close to You' and the monumental `A Night Like This', the latter now being my favourite Cure track ever. Never has Smith created such a melt-in-the-mouth melody and backed it up with a massively passionate vocal. The swaying, insistent beat just adds the icing to the cake and despite the cheesy drum fills and dreaded sax solo, nothing can diminish the sheer bittersweet joy this song elicits - how on earth did I forget about it?

All this and the beautiful closer, `Sinking' - what more do you need from a Cure album? Go buy!
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 January 2005
I have to agree with the other reviewers that this is the best Cure album to start with. It's very accessible but also shows the darker side of the band on "Kyoto Song" and "Sinking". But stick on "Inbetween Days", "Push" and "Close To Me" and you'll have your uninitiated friends dancing around like idiots. If you are a fan of the band already then buy now! I regard this as one of their top three albums along with "Disintegration" and "Pornography". "Boys Don't Cry" and 2004's "The Cure" are also well worth buying if you like "The Head On The Door."
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 April 2012
Every song in this album is distinct and creative. Often with eighties albums the production techniques and old synths date quickly, but I think this album still stands up 27 years later. The album is short but I think there's a good balance between their more quirky upbeat songs like Close to me and In between Days and their more dark tortured songs like A Night Like This and Sinking.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 May 2001
The Cure refocused and ultimately hit their stride with Head On the Door, producing an album which not only more effectively depicted gloom, but also showed enough pop smarts to make it memorable (and even danceable). The band scored a hit with the infectious, New Order-ish "In Between Days" (which managed to beat New Order at their own game) and the highly memorable "Close to Me," but the album's outstanding trait is its diversity -- they managed to combine a wide variety of influences, not only that of contemporary dance-floor peers, but also incorporating rhythms from the Far East and South America to fine effect. The Cure made more accomplished albums later on and had bigger hits, but none combined artistic ambition with really catchy songs as well as Head On the Door.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 November 2003
I went to France with my family in 1984 a Duranie and met a girl who lent me a few cure tapes she had with her and I returned desperate to know more. The Head on the Door is for me their best album, the first they started to use a lusher production, bringing a more layered sound to their songs. Listening to this album today sums up all that the cure do well daft pop 'close to me' songs that get under your skin and stay there ' the blood' 'kyoto song' and the immense 'Sinking'to close. Anyone interested in what the cure do can do no better than using this as a starter and working forwards or backwards as you Wish. A perfect album from a perfect band.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)