Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
61
4.5 out of 5 stars
Gone To Earth
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£3.99


on 6 January 2003
"Gone to Earth" is an album to which I find myself returning again and again, for in this disc by Sylvian, one seems to find a welcome relief from the dreck that permeates our musical landscape. It is utterly unlike anything produced in the "pop-music" world, and the slow-paced, hypnotic rhythms and echo-guitars (redoloent of some of Achim Reichel's work in the early 70's) weave a magical spell best appreciated listening in the dark.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 September 2015
Only for the country lover/liver, as full of lore.
11 Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 May 2011
I am amazed that nobody has reviewed this gargantuan of a music piece by the great David Sylvian. I am not a music critic so just go out and buy this masterpiece and you will discover great music. David Sylvian started out with the group Japan and they created fantastic music so it was only natural that he would go solo. People compare David to David Bowie which is a shame. Sylvian is better! His lyrics and music are consistant of a genius.He is a poet in the great english style, a romantic. When I bought Gone to Earth it blew my mind out and made me cream in my pants. I painted my brother's flat on a sunny day in Aarhus Denmark and the windows were wide open and this record was on the turntable coming out strong through the loud speakers, it was great. Listen to the guitar playing of Robert Fripp and Bill Nelson as they paint in lavish strokes,leaving their trade mark on every song. Kenny Wheeler amazes me with his funky trumpet sound making statements at every turn. Steve Jansen on drums comes out like a guerilla from the bush. Listen to the opening track on side one and onto track two god the drumming pounds away like Mohamed Ali in the ring, the "rumble in the jungle". This record grows on you and becomes better with age like good wine. Once hooked on Sylvian you will never be the same again. The point about Sylvian is that he himself becomes like good wine and he does not pull his punches.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 February 2004
Being the follow-up to a critically acclaimed début solo album was never going too be easy, not only did Mr Sylvain rise to the challenge he took the big risk and released a double album.

One disc of 7 vocal tracks, and the other disc a selection of 10 ambient instrumentals this was the form that the album took when originally released on cassette and vinyl.

But when this album was issued originally on C.D. only all the vocal tracks and some of the instrumental tracks were issued on the C.D.
Up until now the only available way to get all the tracks on C.D. was on the "Weather box" box set.

For me this is one of my favourite albums by Sylvain this is because of the superb guitar work of Robert Fripp, Bill Nelson and B.J. Cole on pedal steel guitar.
These musicians really come to the fore on the second disc of this set adding texture, space and atmosphere to the pieces.

Now with this re-issue not only have all the tracks been restored the sound quality has been improved greatly by the excellent renovation work of Tony Cousins at "Metropolis" and added bonus tracks have been added to the first disc of the set.
A feature to notice on this disc is that there is a small gap of time before the bonus tracks start. I think this is to give the listener an impression of how the original album sounded before the addition of the extra tracks.

For my own personal taste I would have preferred the extra tracks not to be included but to be on a separate disc all together, but that's a minor point.
The improvement in sound quality and presentation more than make up for any personal quibble I may have with this re-issue.

Another feature of note is the packaging, now the album is in an 8-panel digi-pak sleeve and the credits for the album now come on the back of a fold-out poster booklet.

David himself has supervised all the redesigning of the artwork, with the assistance of long-time Sylvain photographer Yuka Fujii.

This for me was a must "have" in my music collection.
0Comment| 56 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 February 2002
A stunning piece of music from start to finish. Contains, in my view, one of the best songs of all time in "Before the Bullfight". I must have listened to this particular song a few hundred times and it just gets better and better! Other great songs include "Taking the Veil", "Laughter & Forgetting", "Wave", "Silver Moon", and "Upon this Earth". A superbly atmospheric and moody album.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 December 1999
A modern masterpiece is the only way to describe this album.Full of emotion and mental imagery it conjures up such intense feelings that very few artists can compete with David Sylvian.If you are a fan then you already have this in your collection-if not you should be ashamed.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 May 2014
Precious Bane has been a lifelong favourite of mine and I had hoped for something as good form the same author, but it wasn't.
11 Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 June 2000
Even after 14 years of solid listening, I have never bored of this album. Definitely his best.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 April 2017
Deeply emotional ravishing harmony and deep deep lyrics all wrapped up in David's exquisite reedy vocals I think Brilliant Tress is a very intimate album whereas Gone to Earth is an epic journey for the soul
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 August 2003
This is a sensuous and absorbing album. From the Russell Mills cover art to the lush, layered sounds and lyrics. 'Before the Bullfight' is almost certainly the centre piece here, closely followed by 'Wave' and 'Silver Moon', the latter being the album's closer. A memory of sitting on a harbour side in Oban, Western Scotland, listening to 'Silver Moon' is a key memory for me. The album is a classic, unforgettable and a must for CD collections for anyone interested in Sylvian or fans of the many guest musicians involved. The instrumental second disc is beautiful, ethereal and timeless. Personally, I rate GTE as the ultimate and most complete Sylvian solo work to date. The new edition is welcome as it brings the complete album together for the first time in many years. Together with the new enhanced packaging its a must buy. Support Sylvian to go on making great art - buy this CD again!
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)