Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Now

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
13
4.4 out of 5 stars
Fantastic Playroom
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£5.99


on 19 September 2007
Remember that feeling after entering a nightclub, full of promise, full of adrenaline, full of the unknown, and just being sure this night will be one of the best of all time? We welcome The New Young Pony Club, a band who have managed to capture that unrestrained joy onto one pleasure-seeking thrill of an album.
Fantastic Playground is the soundtrack to every partygoers hedonistic lifestyle. Overflowing with infectious pulsing baselines, addictive synth hooks and vocals that define the epitome of flirtatious exchange, it's doused with lashings of mischief, naughtiness and enough grinding sex appeal to make resistance utterly futile.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 June 2007
First thing's first, there is nothing particularly 'new-rave' about New Young Pony Club. Yes their music is very dance-able and yes they toured with Klaxons but if you had to list their influences you would start with 80s new wave as opposed to 90s rave. There's a definite hint of Blondie to them and this album certainly owes much to the B-52s, Human League and even The Waitresses but what brings this album to the future is most certainly Tahita Bulmer; the all-dancing Hoxton hair-cutted front-woman of the coolest pop (yes POP) band in the world.

All the sex of Karen O, the sophistication of PJ Harvey, the fun of Madonna, the ballsy strut of Missy and Debby Harry's ability to make herself the centerpiece of every song she sings, Bulmer is destined to be an icon. She's the kind of girl PJ Harvey sings about, the one Debbie Harry wanted to 'Rip to Shreds'. And this is never more evident than on 'Ice Cream', aka the scenester's anthem and a song so perfectly destined for chart success you can virtually hear the sound of Tahita shoving Rihanna off of the throne of 'number 1 of 2007'. And at its center of course is the lady herself half-rapping filthily suggestive lyrics about 'fantastic flavoured fancy/ sick like Sid and Nancy' in her sex-chat drone. But this is far from the album's peak, 'Hiding On the Staircase' is what it would sound like if ska-era No Doubt were fronted by Kelis as `jungle drums fade in the background' over the catchy hook of "it's the sound!" and lyrics about 'revolution in the bedroom', while 'The Bomb''s adrenaline fuelled 80s disco is the sound of Duran-Duran colliding with Kylie's 'Can't Get You Outta My Head' at full speed.

But it's the chilled out Ponies which suits them best, be it ludely suggesting all sorts on 'Jerk Me', moodily shrugging off a talkative lover on 'Talking, Talking', sound-tracking a night out circa 1AM on the brilliant 'The Get Go' or stressing over the great Kate Moss/Posh size debate on the ridiculously good closer 'Tight Fit'. The lyrics may sometimes appear to lack the focus of 'Ice Cream' and '...Staircase'; "I'm your F-A-N, M-A-N" from dance-floor stomp 'FAN', "It's alright, as long as it's black or white, except when they're grey, that's not my favorite colour" from Grey. But delve deeper into the former and you'll hear a celebration of narcissism and an attack on sexism while the latter has enough groove- along with a hint of 80s minimalist pop- for you not to care that Tahita appears to be deciding what to wear on record.

Fans of pop from CSS to Gwen Stefani will love it, those that believe the charts are a reserve for Kasabian and The View will hate it, Girls Aloud and Sugababes will be jealous of it; either way the elasticated basslines, the bleepy synths, the stuttering drums, funk guitars and to cool-to-sing vocals will soundtrack a long hot summer. 'The sound of revolution in the bedroom' indeed!

Highlights: Hiding On The Staircase, Ice Cream, The Bomb, The Get Go, FAN, Tight Fit
0Comment| 36 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 August 2007
I like everything about this album. The production is amazing for a pop album. The drums sound perfect. Tight, distorted with dance influenced breakbeats. The bass guitar is funky and slightly growling and uncomplicated. Add some nice synth stabs and what you have is a very catchy, well made album that will not leave the cd player.

The album will appeal to indie people and the house/electro crowd. In fact "Ice cream" sounds alot like Miss Kitten but with a pop edge.

The lead singer has a cockyness about her and she makes mundane vocals sound interesting. Very sexy singing style.

"Ice cream", "talking talking" and "the bomb" are the standout tracks.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 July 2007
i only discovered nypc a month or so ago on a tv show of the o2 festival and loved them instantly - you know that feeling when you find something musically that you just know is right up your alley?! (who says there's no such thing as love at first sight?). it was the song 'the bomb' that did it for me, of the few they showed, there was just something about them..... well, this album just cements my feelings. it is simple, sexy pop music with a great attitude, playful lyrics and a great style. i think the track order is tops too, the songs flow really well into each other and tight fit is the perfect finale. i hope i can catch them live soon. highlights for me are: get lucky, ice cream, the bomb, the get go, grey, f.a.n. and tight fit, though i love all the songs. am one happy boy i brought this album.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 50 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 30 March 2008
It's a horrid grey, wet, windy day. The Wolf has every intention of spending it curled up in the cave
with headphones and a decent claret.
Mrs Wolf, having removed the red packaging, is preparing the Sunday roast. Scatty and Grits (the cubs) are thankfully still asleep.

New Pony Club's new album 'Fantastic Playroom' is the perfect soundtrack to this scene of domestic
contentment.

10 tracks displaying bags of confident cool. Sly funky beats. Sunny melodies. Crisp production.
Ms Bulmer's drolly chic vocals and wry lyrics infuse the project with slick urban verve.

These fine energetic performances will have your paws tapping before you know it.

The album is suffused with good humour. The perfect antidote to this abysmal British weather.

Lunch is beginning to smell good and I'm working up a big appetite !
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 September 2007
Wow....what a record....first listen and I'm putting "The Bomb" on repeat play....superb basslines,haunting keyboards....a classic...

NYPC are clearly influenced by a variety of eighties dance records as well as some more modern punk-funk but with a real stripped down punch that explodes from the speakers.

Tahita Bulmers vocals are perfect for some of the cut glass beats and glacial synths. There are very few fillers, its nearly all killer and "The Get Go" is the finest four minutes of pop in 2007.....no kidding!
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 25 January 2008
Interestingly I have had some quite extreme reactions from some of the people who I have spoken to about this record. I think it never helps when a band gets well known via an over-played advert (Intel used `Ice Cream' for one of their adverts) but I really rate this record. For a change I actually think the more interesting tracks are at the end of the record then the start where they break away from the Blondie, nu-wave type sound.

NYPC produce some nice neat songs and clearly have listened to a lot of different sources to produce modern smart pop. They remind me a little of a cleaner sounding CSS. I believe their live performances can leave a little to be desired. We shall see.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 January 2008
This is for all the Indie Disco fans out there!! When i first heard this album i admit i didn't like it and then about the third time i listened to it it grew!! You find yourself singing along to Tahita's harsh vocals and slowly start to dance to the funky beats!! i really recommend this album!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 January 2008
>>> I'm Into Emo/ Rock music; My Chemical Romance, Linkin Park, ect, but When I Heard NYPC, I Thought Wow, I Like.
Very Catchy.
Very Snazzy.
Recommend To All!

=] Hannah >>>
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Funky and spunky razor sharp pop music - I bought this when it was released seven years ago (not sure why I've only just got round to reviewing it...) and listening now (after a break of a year or so) it still sounds as fresh and invigorating as it did back in 2007 when I played it endlessly.
All pretensions and sneering aside it is of course ephemeral - but isn't that what pop music was designed to be? 'The Bomb' and 'Jerk Me' are the two key tracks here for me; ballsy, barmy, beautiful slices of contemporary pop music. Bliss.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

The Optimist
£4.99

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)