Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
25
4.7 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 21 April 2007
Better than standard "Greatest Hits" compilations of previous recordings, this captures The Beautiful South live in a small studio, which in my opinion is at their best.

The track listing reflects a mixture of well known hits and favourites from live shows, although later material is missing.

Only gripe is the omission of The Jools Holland Show appearances. Assuming the band get a fair share of the royalties, this is a great buy.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 May 2007
LOVE this album - as they haven't done a "live" album, this may be the nearest we get and it goes some way to capturing the magic of their live performances. my only critisim is that "You Keep it all In" appears 4 times, would have rather had some other tracks. However, the version of "Woman in the Wall" makes up for this. Loving it - more "live" albums please while we await the comeback!!!!!!!!
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 December 2015
Fantastic selection of BBC sessions. There is some overlap between this and the Live At The BBC box.

APPEARS ON THE BBC SESSIONS AND LIVE AT THE BBC (14 TRACKS)
Mark Goodier 10/06/89
- You Keep It All In
- Song For Whoever
- Girlfriend
- I'll Sail This Ship Alone

Simon Mayo 21/02/94
- Good As Gold (Stupid As Mud)
- You Keep It All In
- Everybody's Talkin'

Emma Freud 28/03/94
- Let Love Speak Up Itself
- Especially For You
- Old Red Eyes Is Back
- Everybody's Talkin'

Live Session 02/12/98
- The Lure Of The Sea
- The Table
- Dumb

APPEARS ON THE BBC SESSIONS ONLY (13 TRACKS)
Emma Freud 28/03/94
- You Keep It All In

Lunchtime Show 09/12/94
- From Under The Covers
- Old Red Eyes Is Back
- Everybody's Talkin'
- Good As Gold (Stupid As Mud)
- A Little Time
- Tonight I Fancy Myself
- 36D
- You Keep It All In
- One Last Love Song
- Woman In The Wall
- Use It Up And Wear It Out

Live Session 02/12/98
- Perfect 10
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 April 2016
Worth buying just for the track "Use it up, wear it out" which I had never heard the group perform before. Was hoping for more minimalist accoustic versions on the album but very pleased with the content thats there.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 September 2010
I have been a Beautiful South listener from their early years. As other reviews have said this is the closest to a live album that you can get. Brilliant vocals throughout, although indeed there best known songs are repeated a few times over. Never seen the band live and unfortunately never will. If you enjoy BS you will love this album.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 March 2012
Now i must make clear that to me Paul Heaton is a God,His lyrics alongside Dave Rothery are sublime you will not go wrong with this it's a great pop album that will stand the test of time
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 November 2012
Wow, ive always liked the Beautiful south and this c/d is just another brilliant collection of theres, recorded at various times for the BBC and for various dj's a brilliand cd.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 April 2014
Nice long album, lots of great live performances of all their hits, and some songs I hadn't heard before. The atmosphere is well captured. Good sound quality too...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 September 2013
The BBC Sessions is an excellent double CD featuring tracks The Beautiful South did for the BBC in the late 80s and mainly the mid-90s with one session from 1998.

Its great to hear different versions of various songs, a great addition to my TBS collection. My only complaint is why there are 4 versions of You Keep It All In on this collection. Pity they didnt record different songs in my view. I rate it 9 and half out of 10.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 October 2015
Great album love the beautiful south. Was a very prompt service and delivery. Would definitely recommend them
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£9.99
£5.99

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)