Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
68
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£5.99


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 22 January 2002
i first heard the single hero and loved it so i bought the album and i wasnt dissapointed! its an excellent album and one where there is not one song i dislike! the song are all upbeat latin songs and definatly worth buying!!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 November 2002
i have had this album for ages but i havent decided to rate it before today...
firstly i think that this album has more depth than his previous ones and i have to say that his vocals have definately improved
Escape is a brilliant comeback after a while out by enrique and it is a good one
none of the songs are fillers- each is unique and different in its own way
brilliant
a must have if you like Ricky Martin
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 January 2002
Like the other reviewer from Birmingham, i bought this album because i watched Enrique at the "Tribute To Heroes" program, when he sang the song "Hero", (which is my top favourite from the track), i could really feel his emotions from his face, the spanish version of this song is good too. All in all, the songs are all brilliant but my favourites are "Don't turn off the lights", dancy & upbeat same as "Love 4 Fun", the other ballad "Maybe", sad but its a song for the broken hearted, very emotional, i can relate to it. I was a bit surprised the track wasn't entitled "Hero" because the cover track, "Escape" was not too good for me, though i still like it.
There is another bonus in this CD, i was very delighted to find a copy of a songsheet at the back of Enrique's beautiful picture, i was able to sing-along to all the tracks, brilliant! I can imagine and dream that I am having a duet with the lovely man himself!
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 November 2003
This album is brilliant. very catchy songs, and also some really brilliant slushy love songs. 'Hero' and 'i will survive' being poweful songs that really make you want to either cry or just feel incrdibly awesome. 'Escape' is a great song with brilliant lyrics, a good tune here. 'If the world crashes down' is one my favourates, it's a real feel good song. There a couple of spanish songs here, and they are brilliant and show the extent of Enriques vocal ability, not in his range but in his sound, he has a truly sensational voice, which the spanish songs bring out really well. The spanish version of 'Hero' is just beautiful, there is no better word to describe it.
Personally, i think the songs that weren't singles are even better than the singles. 'One Night Stand' and 'Maybe' are a million times better than 'love to see you cry', even though that is a bruilliant song. Until you hear this album yourself, you won't understand what i mean when i say all this. You must hear this album.If you only buy one album this year, make it this one (or his latest album, they are both incredible albums).
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 January 2002
First heard the song "hero" on the Tribute to Heroes show and went out and bought this album on the back of it. It's the only ballad on the album and deservedly a massive hit around the world. The album is dominated by highly polished latin/euro pop with infectious beats and singalong lyrics. Check out tracks "I will Surive" (not the gloria gaynor one, thank god) and "One night stand". The solo male artist seems to be a dying breed. Thankfully Enrique proves that you don't need to form a boy band to produce some great pop music. Well worth buying and will make great music for the summer!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 December 2001
While is last album was pure latin fun, this one has some dance and rock flavours, and there are no really heart touching songs like there were in his last album. I wish there would be more songs like "Rythm Divine" and "Could I Have This Kiss Forever". These songs are so beautiful!!!
Well, there are still good songs here, like the first 2 songs, and his single "Hero", and "i will survive". Oh, and i have a version of this album with a mix for hero which sounds great! look for that version too.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Despite me being more of a rocker, a male middle-aged one at that, then it may surprise some that I bought Escape around the time that Ricky Martin smashed through and I think it better and more consistently good that Martin's.

Practically all the songs are well up to scratch and indeed surpass what we, Latin music ignorants that the British public must have been then (2001).

Dishy son of veteran crooner Julio, who must be Spain's most well known contemporary musical export and probably between them add a point percentage to their country's GDP!, so big are they, Enrique helped make this type of infectious music popular, helping to open the door for other Latin artists.

I've always really liked the up-tempo 'Love to See You Cry', 'Escape' and 'Hero', of course, a huge number 1 hit in the U.K. and the album still occasionally gets dragged onto my Ipod, even now.

The first four songs, this time sung in Spanish are included at the tail-end of the album. They don't necessarily sound better, but different and nice to have. The final song, a duet with Lionel Richie, 'To Love A Woman' is a slow, swirling sort of ballad that'll have you swaying to it.

Overall, a ground-breaking album back in its day and one that hasn't dated and still sounds fresh.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 February 2008
This is full of really good catchy songs. If you liked the hits Hero, or Escape buy the album, then you will want to buy "7" and "Insomniac" and "Enrique"! I did and they're all very good. This is melodic, emotive writing singing and production. So many good songs, which Enrique co-writes. His voice seems to carry a lot of emotion and feeling. I must say I'm hooked on it, some years after I first heard "Hero" I'll say. Better late than...! Buy it and enjoy. Cheers.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 November 2012
* Escape
* Don't Turn Off the Lights
* Love To See You Cry
* Hero
* I Will Survive
* Love 4 Fun
* Maybe
* One Night Stand
* She Be The One
* If the World Crashes
* Escape (Spanish)
* Don't Turn Off the Lights (Spanish)
* Hero (Spanish)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 April 2016
Excellent condition, sounds wonderful.
My friends can't believe I was charged 1p for a CD of this quality!!
I never buy new any more!!
I've got all my friends buying from Amazon instead of brand new from a store.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£7.99
£6.29

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)